Driving along the Richelieu highway in the Montérégie region’s Vallée des Forts southwest of Montreal, the Saint-Ours Canal and its watershed dam come into sight.

Parks Canada and the Friends of the Saint-Ours Canal offer a memorable summer visit. The Saint-Ours Canal is located on the eastern shore of Darvard Island where you can picnic and explore the lock superintendent's house. An exhibition reveals how the canal has proven indispensable to regional and international trade.

Follow the paths that traverse the island to enjoy the wooded areas of red pine, white pine and American white ash trees.

With your children, have fun identifying the fish crossing the dam by watching them through a specially- fitted window that allows you to see under the water. The unique Vianney-Legendre fishway enables the copper redhorse, yellow sturgeon and American eel to survive by continuing their travels along the river.

Why not make the most of it by staying overnight! A cross between a tent and a rustic cabin, Parks Canada oTENTik accommodations offer a unique blend of homey comfort and a taste of outdoor adventure. It’s an ideal way for families, friends and couples to enjoy the outdoors without all the muss and fuss.

Vous circulez sur la route du Richelieu, en Montérégie, dans la vallée des Forts, vous apercevez le canal de Saint-Ours et son barrage hydrographique. Stop! Tout le monde descend!

Parcs Canada et les Amis du canal de Saint-Ours vous proposent une visite estivale mémorable. Le canal de Saint-Ours se situe sur la rive est de l'île Darvard où vous pourrez pique-niquer et explorer la maison du surintendant de l’écluse. Une exposition vous apprendra comment le canal s'est avéré indispensable au commerce régional et international.

Empruntez les sentiers qui parcourent l’île pour apprécier le milieu boisé composé de pins rouges, de pins blancs et de frênes d’Amérique.

Avec vos enfants, amusez-vous à identifier les poissons qui franchissent le barrage en les observant par une fenêtre spécialement aménagée. La passe migratoire Vianney-Legendre, un ouvrage unique au monde, permet aux chevaliers cuivrés, esturgeons jaunes et anguilles d'Amérique de se reproduire et de se nourrir.

Planifier d'y loger en hébergement oTENTik ! À mi-chemin entre la tente et le chalet rustique, les unités d’hébergement oTENTik de Parcs Canada sont un mélange unique du confort de la maison avec l’aventure des grands espaces. Voilà le moyen idéal pour les familles, les amis et les couples de découvrir les joies du plein air en toute simplicité et sans tracas.