Fish ladder at the foot of the Saint-Ours dam - picture taken by COVABAR
A world-unique fish ladder! A world-unique fish ladder!

After the reconstruction of the Chambly and Saint-Ours dams, the decline in eel and copper redhorse populations, among other species, accelerated. There was an urgency to act so the Vianney-Legendre fishway project was born.

The device is constructed like a ladder that the various fish inhabiting the Richelieu must climb step by step to reach the other side.

Since 2001, this fishway has enabled endangered species to bypass the Saint-Ours Dam to spawn in their habitual breeding grounds. A special little pass was added to meet the needs of the American eel.

Through a window installed in the fishway, observe fish going up the Richelieu. In addition, interpretive panels explain the different species and their characteristics. You'll become an expert at recognizing sturgeon, redside and copper redhorse – as well as the tasty shad!

The observation period extends over 3 to 4 weeks during the months of May and June.

Échelle à poisson aux abords du barrage de Saint-Ours - photo fournie par COVABAR
Une échelle à poisson unique au monde! Une échelle à poisson unique au monde!

Après la reconstruction des barrages de Chambly et de Saint-Ours, le déclin des populations d’anguilles et de chevaliers cuivrés, entre autres espèces, s’est accéléré. L’urgence d’agir s’est fait sentir. Ainsi est né le projet de la passe migratoire Vianney-Legendre.

L’ouvrage est construit comme une échelle que doivent remonter, marche par marche, les divers poissons qui peuplent le Richelieu.

Depuis 2001, cette échelle migratoire permet à des espèces menacées de franchir le barrage de Saint-Ours pour aller frayer dans leurs aires de reproduction habituelles. Une petite passe spéciale a été ajoutée pour répondre aux besoins de l’anguille d’Amérique.

Grâce à une fenêtre aménagée dans la passe migratoire, vous pourrez observer les poissons qui remontent le Richelieu. De plus, des panneaux d’interprétation présentent les différentes espèces et leurs caractéristiques. Vous deviendrez experts à reconnaître l'esturgeon jaune, le chevalier de rivière et le chevalier cuivré, sans oublier l’alose savoureuse!

La période d’observation s’étend sur 3 à 4 semaines durant les mois de mai et de juin.