A drawing of Bernard Duchesne showing a woman and a man inside a canadian house sitting nearby a simple Iron woodstove. This drawing of Bernard Duchesne showing a woman and a man inside a canadian house sitting nearby a simple Iron woodstove.
© Parks Canada

Following the Conquest in 1760, production concentrated on meeting the growing, urgent needs of the colony, where settlement was expanding rapidly. From that time on, the Forges produced a great deal of castings-i.e., articles and implements for use in heating, cooking, and farming.

As Crown property, the Forges were leased to entrepreneurs who enjoyed favourable terms and conditions. These operators had no real competition, were blessed with an expanding market, and held exclusive rights to supplies of raw materials located over a huge territory.

It was the Forges' golden era!


The industrial era
A drawing of Bernard Duchesne showing workers they are moulders of a great Montreal foundry, 19th. century, in front of moulds placed in wooden boxes and in background, we see two workers pouring liquid cast iron in one of those mould. This drawing of Bernard Duchesne showing workers in front of moulds placed in wooden boxes and in background, we see two workers pouring liquid cast iron in one of those mould.
© Parks Canada

When the Crown sold the Forges in 1846, the conditions of operation changed radically. The new owners no longer enjoyed exclusive rights to resources, and were confronted by an increasingly competitive market. In order to improve the profitability of the company, they upgraded equipment and facilities, and concentrated on particular lines of products.

After producing wagon wheels for a few years, the Forges gradually specialized in the production of pig iron for major industry.

During this time, new industries had sprung up in the Mauricie region, and began drawing on the same pool of skilled workers. The old forges hobbled forward into the industrial era.


The McDougalls make over the Forges
A picture of Mr. John McDougall sitting on a sofa near a table and holding a book in his right hand He was the owner of the Forges from 1863 until 1876. A picture of Mr. John McDougall sitting on a sofa near a table and holding a book in his right hand. He was the owner of the Forges from 1863 until 1876.
© Musée Mc Cord / Archives photographiques Notman / 6359-1

In 1863, Trois-Rivières merchant John McDougall took over the company, which had been closed for five years. The forges were in a state of ruin, and a number of workers had left for positions elsewhere. In association with his sons, the new owner completely redirected production to meet the needs of major industry. Thanks to their competent management, the McDougalls temporarily blew life back into the Forges.

However, despite 20 years of effort and investment, the oldest operating blast furnace in North America at the time was blown out for good in March 1883.


An abandoned industrial village
A drawing of Bernard Duchesne showing a worker afoot near the harnessed horse pulling a cart loaded with goods because he is leaving the Forges. A drawing of Bernard Duchesne showing a worker afoot near the harnessed horse pulling a cart loaded with goods because he is leaving the Forges.
© Parks Canada

After the company shut down and workers migrated elsewhere, the buildings and equipment quickly deteriorated. People from all over the area came to the site to recover usable materials. Several as-yet sturdy buildings were moved to other locations in the vicinity.

The land formerly occupied by the village was sold to farmers, who used it for crops or pasture land. Cattle were then seen grazing amid foundation stones and abandoned chimney work.

Un dessin de Bernard Duchesne montre une femme et un homme à l'intérieur d'une maison canadienne, assis près d'un poêle simple en fonte. Ce dessin de Bernard Duchesne montre une femme et un homme à l'intérieur d'une maison canadienne, assis près d'un poêle simple en fonte.
© Parcs Canada

Après la Conquête de 1760, on intensifie une production tournée vers les besoins de plus en plus nombreux et pressants de la colonie en pleine expansion. Dès lors, on fabrique aux Forges une très grande variété de produits en fonte moulée, principalement destinés au chauffage, à l'alimentation et à l'agriculture.

Propriété de l'État, les Forges sont louées à des exploitants qui bénéficient de conditions privilégiées. Sans véritable concurrent et profitant d'un marché croissant, ces exploitants possèdent les droits exclusifs d'approvisionnement en matières premières sur un vaste territoire.

C'est l'âge d'or des Forges !


L'ère industrielle
Un dessin de Bernard Duchesne montre des ouvriers mouleurs dans une grande fonderie de Montréal au 19e siècle, ils sont devant des moules placés dans des boîtes de bois et au fond nous voyons deux ouvriers qui coulent de la fonte liquide dans un de ces moules. Ce dessin de Bernard Duchesne montre des ouvriers mouleurs dans une grande fonderie de Montréal au 19e siècle, ils sont devant des moules placés dans des boîtes de bois et au fond nous voyons deux ouvriers qui coulent de la fonte liquide dans un de ces moules.
© Parcs Canada

Quand l'État vend les Forges en 1846, les conditions d'exploitation changent radicalement. Les nouveaux propriétaires ne jouissent plus de droits exclusifs sur les ressources et doivent faire face à un marché de plus en plus concurrentiel. Pour rentabiliser l'entreprise, ils modernisent les équipements vétustes et spécialisent la production.

Ainsi, après avoir fabriqué pendant quelques années des roues de wagon, les Forges deviennent graduellement un simple fournisseur de fonte brute pour la grande industrie.

Alors que naissent en Mauricie de nouvelles industries qui puisent à même sa main-d'oeuvre, les vieilles Forges franchissent péniblement le seuil de l'ère industrielle.


Les McDougall transforment les Forges
Un portrait de M. John McDougall assis dans un fauteuil près d'une table tenant un volume dans sa main droite. Il fut le propriétaire des Forges de 1863 à 1876. Un portrait de M. John McDougall assis dans un fauteuil près d'une table tenant un volume dans sa main droite. Il fut le propriétaire des Forges de 1863 à 1876.
© Musée Mc Cord / Archives photographiques Notman / 6359-1

En 1863, le marchand trifluvien John McDougall récupère l'entreprise fermée depuis cinq ans. Les installations sont à l'abandon et plusieurs ouvriers ont quitté les lieux. Associé à ses fils, le nouveau propriétaire oriente entièrement la production en fonction des besoins de la grande industrie. La gestion avisée des McDougall ranime temporairement l'activité aux Forges.

Pourtant, malgré 20 ans d'efforts et d'investissements, le plus ancien haut fourneau encore en activité en Amérique du Nord s'éteint définitivement en mars 1883.


Un village abandonné
Un dessin de Bernard Duchesne montre un ouvrier à pied près de la tête d'un cheval attelé à une charrette chargée de ses biens car il quitte les Forges. Un dessin de Bernard Duchesne montre un ouvrier à pied près de la tête d'un cheval attelé à une charrette chargée de ses biens car il quitte les Forges.
© Parcs Canada

Après la fermeture de l'entreprise et le départ des ouvriers, les bâtiments et les équipements se dégradent rapidement. D'un peu partout dans la région, on vient récupérer les matériaux utilisables. Quelques bâtiments toujours solides sont déménagés dans les environs.

Le territoire du village est ensuite vendu aux cultivateurs qui en font des champs et des pacages où le bétail se nourrit au milieu des vieilles pierres.