Canada’s participation in the First World War (1914-1918) and the Second World War (1939-1945) touched every community in this country. Parks Canada invites Canadians to join us in commemorating individuals from all walks of life who made unique contributions to the war effort. During these global conflicts, civilians and those in the armed forces played a crucial role in protecting and building their communities and thus Canada as a whole.

From coast to coast, thousands of Canadians supported the war effort. We invite you to learn more about these local hometown heroes.

Get to know their remarkable stories, honour their memory and express your gratitude for their service by visiting Parks Canada’s National Historic Sites, National Parks, and National Marine Conservation Areas.

We will remember them…

MARGUERITE COURCHESNE

1897 – 1986

Marguerite Courchesne pictured wearing her Canadian Red Cross Society Honorary Member medal, an award since replaced by the Order of the Red Cross
Marguerite Courchesne pictured wearing her Canadian Red Cross Society Honorary Member medal, an award since replaced by the Order of the Red Cross
© Photo courtesy of Société d’histoire de Drummond

The daughter of farmers, Marguerite Courchesne was born in Saint-François-du-Lac, Quebec. A progressive woman and classically trained pianist, in 1929 she moved to Drummondville to assist her brother in taking over their cousin’s insurance business. In so doing, she made history by becoming the city’s first female insurance broker. Choosing not to marry, she instead devoted her life to helping those in need.

In 1939, Courchesne supported Canadian troops by establishing a Drummondville’s local branch of the Red Cross and was given the title of Founder Secretary. She was also president of numerous wartime committees, including for disaster relief and veterans’ care and wellbeing, in addition to overseeing numerous blood donation drives. Her dedication and exemplary work continued through her efforts to coordinate sending parcels of food overseas for prisoners of war, and by corresponding with French soldiers to provide moral support and help with their psychological and emotional well-being.

Courchesne’s valuable contributions were recognized repeatedly, including in 1942 when she was awarded a Royal Canadian Legion Honorary Life Membership and in 1974, following 35 years of tireless commitment, when she was made an Honorary Member of the Canadian Red Cross, the Society’s highest distinction.


PAUL-ÉMILE BEAUBIEN

1919–2011

Paul-Émile Beaubien at the Halifax train station
Paul-Émile Beaubien at the Halifax train station
© Beaubien family

The son of farmers, Paul-Émile Beaubien was born in Saint-Camille in the Eastern Townships region of Québec, studied agriculture and worked on a sheep farm in Danville where he learned to speak English. As a teenager, he manifested an open mind and a keen sense of adventure and enjoyed playing ice hockey.

Shortly after the outbreak of the Second World War, Beaubien joined the Fusiliers de Sherbrooke, an army reserve unit, in 1940. He worked in Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, in construction and joined the Canadian Merchant Navy in February 1944 as an assistant steward aboard the hospital ship Lady Nelson. Beaubien completed 14 transatlantic round trips between Halifax and the United Kingdom under extreme conditions with the constant threat of enemy submarines, bombers and stray mines.

Lady Nelson returned hundreds of wounded soldiers at a time, many of whom were in agony and “shell-shocked” (post-traumatic stress syndrome), with several succumbing to their wounds or ending their own lives by jumping overboard. After hostilities ended, Beaubien completed another 17 round trips delivering servicemen, war brides and liberated prisoners of war to Canadian soil.

Beaubien moved to Drummondville with his wife Marie-Reine Poulin in 1947, raised five children and worked at Canadian Celanese for 34 years.


PAUL ARSENEAU

1916-2012

Paul Arseneau in 1940
Paul Arseneau in 1940
© Paul Arseneau collection

Born in Campbellton, New Brunswick, during the First World War, Paul Arseneau became an athlete specialized in running the 500 metres. He moved to Drummondville in 1935 and married two years later. Father of two young children, he voluntarily enlisted in the army in June 1940 to serve during the Second World War.

Serving as an acting sergeant with the Fusiliers Mont-Royal in August 1942, Arseneau took part in the disastrous raid on the French port of Dieppe. A catastrophe from the start, Canadians troops suffered more than 1,400 killed and wounded, while another 1,946, including Arseneau, became prisoners of war (POW).

Over the coming years, Arseneau is marched to three different POW camps in Poland and another in Germany. In addition to the boredom and mistreatment, the lack of food left him continually starving. Thankfully, prisoners occasionally received Red Cross food parcels. On May 5th, 1945, Germany’s Celle camp, where Arseneau was being held, was liberated by British troops. A year later, he was awarded the Distinguished Conduct Medal for his courage during the Dieppe Raid.

Following the war, Paul Arseneau returned to work at Canadian Celanese before undertaking a 28-year career with Canada Customs. He remained an active member of the Royal Canadian Legion in Drummondville.


FREDERICK EARL « GEORGE » CARTWRIGHT

1924- 2017

George Cartwright in Brussels, Belgium, in 1945
George Cartwright in Brussels, Belgium, in 1945
© Cartwright collection

Nicknamed “George,” Frederick Cartwright was born in New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, and moves to Drummondville with his family at the age of seven. Active with the Boy Scouts, he is also a musician with a keen interest in wind instruments. As a teenager, Cartwright is employed as an electrician’s apprentice at Canadian Celanese during which time Canada enters the Second World War. For Cartwright, the choice is clear to defend his country and so days after his 18th birthday, he enlists with the 9th Field Squadron, Royal Canadian Engineers.

A radio operator, Cartwright is sent overseas in 1944 and assumes the role of sapper aboard an armoured vehicle. As part of a reconnaissance unit, his task involves dangerous missions crossing into enemy-held territory and report on the condition of infrastructure for advancing Canadian troops. Cartwright’s regiment takes part in the liberation of France, Belgium and the Netherlands during which he survives the destruction of his vehicle by enemy fire on three separate occasions.

Following the war, Cartwright returns to Canadian Celanese where he works for the next 43 years. He is an army reservist, member of the Royal Canadian Legion, and takes an active role in the local cadet corps. He is posthumously awarded Quebec’s Medal of the National Assembly.



Image gallery

La participation du Canada à la Première Guerre mondiale (1914-1918) et à la Seconde Guerre mondiale (1939-1945) a touché toutes les communautés du pays, sans exception. L'Agence Parcs Canada invite les Canadiens et les Canadiennes à se joindre à elle afin de rendre hommage aux personnes de tous âges qui ont contribué à l'effort de guerre.

Lors de ces conflits mondiaux, les civils et les soldats ont joué un rôle crucial dans la défense et l'édification non seulement de leurs communautés, mais aussi du pays tout entier.

Découvrez les histoires remarquables de ces héros de chez nous. Rendez hommage et exprimez votre reconnaissance à ces personnages pour le service qu'ils ont rendu en visitant les lieux historiques nationaux, les parcs nationaux et les aires marines nationales de conservation de Parcs Canada.

Nous nous souviendrons d'eux...

MARGUERITE COURCHESNE

1897 – 1986

Marguerite Courchesne portant la médaille du mérite de la Croix-Rouge, une récompense depuis remplacée par l’Ordre de la Croix-Rouge
Marguerite Courchesne portant la médaille du mérite de la Croix-Rouge, une récompense depuis remplacée par l’Ordre de la Croix-Rouge
© Photo courtoisie de la Société d’histoire de Drummond

Fille de parents cultivateurs, Marguerite Courchesne naît à Saint-François-du-Lac (Québec). Elle est avant-gardiste, pianiste classique, et en 1929, elle se rend à Drummondville afin d’aider son frère à reprendre le bureau d’assurance de leur cousin. Elle devient ainsi la première femme à obtenir le titre de courtier d’assurance à Drummondville. Elle ne se mariera pas, choisissant plutôt d’aider des familles dans le besoin.

En 1939, dans le but d’offrir un support aux militaires, elle crée la section locale de la Croix-Rouge de Drummondville et elle reçoit le titre de secrétaire fondatrice de celle-ci. Présidente de divers comités en lien avec les efforts de guerre, dont celui de secours aux sinistrés et de bien-être aux anciens combattants, elle s’occupe de plusieurs collectes de sang et fait un travail exemplaire. Son dévouement à l’endroit des militaires inclut d’envoyer des denrées aux prisonniers de guerre et de correspondre avec plusieurs soldats français afin d’offrir un support à plusieurs combattants, les aidant ainsi à conserver un équilibre psychologique et émotionnel.

Sa précieuse implication a été reconnue à maintes reprises, notamment en 1942 où le titre de membre honoraire de la Légion canadienne lui est décerné et en 1974 où elle obtient, après 35 ans de dévouement infatigable, le plus grand honneur de la Croix-Rouge, soit la médaille du mérite.


PAUL-ÉMILE BEAUBIEN

1919–2011

Paul-Émile Beaubien devant la gare de Halifax
Paul-Émile Beaubien devant la gare de Halifax
© Famille Beaubien

Fils d’agriculteur, Paul-Émile Beaubien naît à Saint-Camille dans les Cantons de l’Est au Québec. Il étudie l’agriculture et travaille dans un élevage de moutons à Danville où il apprend l’anglais. Adolescent, il manifeste une grande ouverture d’esprit et une vive passion pour l’aventure tout en aimant jouer au hockey sur glace.

En 1940, peu après le déclenchement de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, M. Beaubien s’enrôle au sein des Fusiliers de Sherbrooke, une unité de réserve de l’armée. Il travaille à Dartmouth, en Nouvelle-Écosse, dans la construction et s’enrôle dans la marine marchande canadienne en février 1944 à titre de steward adjoint à bord du navire-hôpital Lady Nelson. Beaubien aura effectué quatorze allers-retours transatlantiques entre Halifax et le Royaume-Uni dans des conditions extrêmes, sous la menace constante de sous-marins et de bombardiers ennemis en bravant les mines flottantes.

Le Lady Nelson ramènera à la fois des centaines de soldats blessés. Un grand nombre sont à l’agonie et certains succomberont à leurs blessures. D’autres ayant subi un important traumatisme mettront fin à leurs jours en se jetant à la mer. Dans l’après-guerre, Beaubien effectue 17 autres traversées aller-retour pour accompagner des soldats, des épouses de guerre et des prisonniers libérés, retournant en sol canadien.

Beaubien s’installe à Drummondville en 1947 où il élèvera cinq enfants avec son épouse Marie-Reine Poulin et travaillera chez Canadian Celanese pendant 34 ans.


PAUL ARSENEAU

1916-2012

Paul Arseneau en 1940
Paul Arseneau en 1940
© Collection Paul Arseneau

Paul Arseneau naît à Campbellton (Nouveau-Brunswick) durant la Première Guerre mondiale et devient un athlète coureur du 500 mètres. Il arrive à Drummondville (Québec) en 1935 où il travaille à la Canadian Celanese et se mariera deux ans plus tard. Il est père de deux enfants lorsqu’il s’enrôle volontairement dans l’armée en juin 1940 lors de la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

C’est comme membre du régiment des Fusiliers Mont-Royal, en août 1942, que le sergent intérimaire Arseneau participe au raid de Dieppe, un port en France. L’opération militaire s’avère un désastre pour les Canadiens et fait plus de 1 400 morts et blessés, et 1 946 prisonniers de guerre, dont Arseneau.

Il survit à trois camps de concentration en Pologne et un en Allemagne. Outre l’ennui et les mauvais traitements, il ressent continuellement la faim. Heureusement, les prisonniers reçoivent occasionnellement des colis de la Croix-Rouge comprenant quelques denrées. Le camp de Celle en Allemagne, où il se trouve le 5 mai 1945, est libéré par l’armée britannique et un an plus tard, Arseneau reçoit la Médaille de conduite distinguée pour sa bravoure sous les tirs ennemis lors du raid de Dieppe.

Après la guerre, Paul Arseneau retourne travailler à Canadian Celanese avant de faire carrière avec les services douaniers du Canada pendant 28 ans. Il demeura un membre actif de la Légion royale canadienne à Drummondville.


FREDERICK EARL « GEORGE » CARTWRIGHT

1924- 2017

George Cartwright à Bruxelles, en Belgique, en 1945
George Cartwright à Bruxelles, en Belgique, en 1945
© Collection Cartwright

Surnommé « George », Frederick Cartwright naît à New Glasgow (N.-É.) et arrive à Drummondville avec sa famille à l’âge de sept ans. Il est impliqué avec les Scouts et est un musicien passionné des instruments à vent. Adolescent, il décroche un emploi comme apprenti électricien à la Canadian Celanese. Quelques jours après son 18e anniversaire, il s’enrôle dans le « 9th Field Squadron, Royal Canadian Engineers », car il trouve naturel d’aller défendre son pays lors de la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

Devenu opérateur radio, Cartwright est envoyé outre-mer en 1944 et il est sapeur à bord d’un véhicule blindé. Il fait partie d’une unité de reconnaissance qui effectue des missions à haut risque en s’infiltrant derrière les lignes ennemies pour repérer les routes et les ponts afin de préparer le terrain pour les troupes canadiennes. Son régiment participe à la campagne de libération de la France, de la Belgique et des Pays-Bas et il survivra à la destruction de son véhicule sous les tirs ennemis à trois reprises.

Après la guerre, Cartwright retourne travailler à la Canadian Celanese pour les 43 prochaines années. Il est réserviste, membre de la Légion royale canadienne et s’implique grandement avec le corps de cadet. Il a reçu à titre posthume la Médaille de l’Assemblée nationale du Québec.



Galerie d'images