champlain portait

Samuel de Champlain (1567-1635)

In 1608, Samuel de Champlain chose the site of Quebec to establish the first French permanent settlement in America. The explorer recognized the headland as a strategic location and in 1620 had the first Saint-Louis fort built. It comprised a dwelling and several wooden buildings surrounded by a palisade. In 1626, Champlain enlarged the facility, surrounding this second fort with earthen ramparts covered in wood. In 1633, following a short stay in France, his health declined rapidly. He died in his Fort Saint-Louis dwelling on Christmas Day 1635.

He was designated for his national importance in 1929 because he was noted as explorer, the founder of Québec, and considered father of New France.

frontenac portait

Louis de Buade (1622-1698)

Louis de Buade, Count of Frontenac and Palluau, governed New France between 1672 and 1682, and again from 1689 until he died in Québec in 1698. During his second term, Frontenac had the fourth and final Saint-Louis fort built. Construction began in 1691 and lasted two years. The fortification remained unchanged until the fall of Québec in 1759. In 1694, Frontenac ordered reconstruction work on the second Château Saint-Louis. The new building was two storeys high with a slate roof. It was at the Château Saint-Louis that Frontenac uttered his famous rejoinder – “I have no reply to make to your general other than from the mouths of my cannons and muskets” – to the emissary of Sir William Phips, who laid siege to Québec in 1690.

He was designated for his national importance in 1974 because he was Governor General of New France (1672-82, 1689-98), and extended it to the Great Lakes.

murray portait

James Murray (1721-1794)

James Murray was the first British governor in Québec.

He was designated for his national importance in 1955 because he was Military Governor of Quebec District (1760-63), and Governor of the Province of Quebec (1763-68).

Haldimand portait

Guy Carleton, baron de Dorchester (1724-1808)

He was designated for his national importance in 1974 because he was Governor of Quebec (1768-78), and Governor-in-Chief of British North America (1786-96).

Haldimand portait

Frederick Haldimand (1718-1791)

Frederick Haldimand, a Swiss-born career soldier, entered the British army in 1755 and rose to the rank of general. In 1758 he served at Carillon and participated in the capture of Montréal two years later. As governor of Québec from 1778 to 1786 Haldimand managed the colony through the critical years of the American Revolution. He ordered the construction of the canal at Coteau-du-Lac in 1779, and at the close of the American war personally arranged and supervised the settlement of Loyalists and Indian allies of the Crown in the region that became Upper Canada. He died in Switzerland.

He was designated for his national importance in 1974 because he was Governor of Quebec (1778-86), built the Coteau-du-lac Canal (1779), and settled Loyalists.

Prevost portait

George Prevost (1767-1816)

Prevost was governor-in-chief of British North America and commander of the British and Canadian forces during the War of 1812. Drawing upon 30 years of military experience, he implemented a strategy that minimized losses and ensured protection of key communication and supply routes. His diplomatic skills and bilingualism secured vital support to raise funds and colonial troops. Prevost’s reputation was tarnished by his handling of naval operations at Plattsburgh (New York) in September 1814. He consequently received little credit for having successfully defended Upper and Lower Canada during the war.

He was designated for his national importance in 2014 because he was lieutenant-general, captain general and governor-in-chief of British North America, from September 1811 to March 1815.

Lennox portait

Charles Lennox, duc de Richmond (1764-1819)

Charles Lennox was appointed Commander-in-Chief of all the British North American colonies and Governor-in-Chief of Lower Canada in May 1818. He received a mandate to improve the colonies defences and inland navigation system. Lennox recommended the strengthening of the fortifications at Québec City and the building of a fort, later named in his honour, on Ile aux Noix and also promoted canal construction on the Ottawa River. His sudden death only a year after his appointment was lamented in both Canada and Britain.

He was designated for his national importance in 1923 because he was Governor General of Canada in 1818.

Durham portait

John George Lambton, compte de Durham (1792-1840)

After a prominent public career in Britain, Lord Durham was appointed Governor General and High Commissioner of British North America in 1838. Charged with the investigation of the troubles in Upper and Lower Canada, he remained here five months and then wrote his famous Report on the Affairs of British North America. This political document stirred considerable controversy, but it led to the union of Upper and Lower Canada in 1841, the introduction of responsible government and municipal government, and the growth of national feelings in Canada.

He was designated for his national importance in 1974 because he was Governor General and High Commissioner of British North America in 1838.

Dufferin portait

Frederick Blackwood, marquis de Dufferin (1826-1902)

As Canada’s third Governor General, from 1872 to 1878, Lord Dufferin played a prominent role in Canadian politics. Not only did he prevent the complete demolition of the fortifications of Québec, he also launched numerous projects to beautify Old Québec. The terrace Dufferin recalls his memory.

He was designated for his national importance in 1975 because he was Governor General of Canada (1872-78), writer, traveller, linguist and diplomat.

champlain portait

Samuel de Champlain (1567-1635)

En 1608, Samuel de Champlain choisit le site de Québec pour y établir le premier établissement permanent français en Amérique. L’explorateur reconnaît la situation stratégique du promontoire et fait construire, dès 1620, le premier fort Saint-Louis composé d’un logis et de quelques bâtiments en bois entourés d’une palissade. En 1626, Champlain agrandit ses installations. Ce deuxième fort est ceinturé de remparts en terre revêtue de bois. En 1633, après un court séjour en France, sa santé décline rapidement. Il meurt dans son logis du fort Saint-Louis, le jour de Noël 1635.

Il a été désigné pour son importance nationale en 1929 parce qu’il a été un explorateur renommé, fondateur de Québec, considéré comme le père de la Nouvelle-France.

frontenac portait

Louis de Buade (1622-1698)

Louis de Buade, comte de Frontenac et de Palluau, est gouverneur de la Nouvelle-France de 1672 à 1682 et de 1689 jusqu’à sa mort à Québec en 1698. Lors de son second séjour à Québec, Frontenac fait construire le quatrième et dernier fort Saint-Louis. La construction de la nouvelle enceinte débute en 1691 et s’échelonne sur deux ans. Cette enceinte demeure la même jusqu’à la chute de Québec en 1759. En 1694, Frontenac entreprend les travaux de reconstruction du deuxième château Saint-Louis. Le bâtiment compte deux étages et son toit est recouvert d’ardoises. La célèbre boutade « Je n’ay point de Reponse a faire a vostre general que par la bouche de mes cannons et a coups de fuzil » qu’il dicta Frontenac à l’émissaire de sir William Phips qui, en 1690, assiégeait Québec fut prononcée au château Saint-Louis.

Il a été désigné pour son importance nationale en 1974 parce qu’il a été gouverneur général de la Nouvelle-France (1672-1682, 1689-1698) et qu'il l’a étendue jusqu'aux Grands Lacs.

murray portait

James Murray (1721-1794)

James Murray fut le premier gouverneur britannique à Québec.

Il a été désigné pour son importance nationale en 1955 parce qu’il a été gouverneur militaire du district de Québec (1760-1763) puis gouverneur de la province de Québec (1763-1768).

Haldimand portait

Guy Carleton, baron de Dorchester (1724-1808)

Il a été désigné pour son importance nationale en 1974 parce qu’il a été gouverneur de Québec (1768-1778) et gouverneur en chef de l'Amérique du Nord britannique (1786-1796).

Haldimand portait

Frederick Haldimand (1718-1791)

Frederick Haldimand, soldat de carrière d'origine suisse, s'enrôla dans l'armée britannique en 1755 et fut promu avec le temps au grade de général. En 1758, il combattit à Carillon. Deux ans plus tard, il participa à la prise de Montréal. Gouverneur de Québec de 1778 à 1786, il dirigea la colonie au cours des années difficiles de la Révolution américaine. En 1779, il fit construire le canal de Coteau-du-Lac. À la fin de la guerre d'Indépendance, il s'occupa personnellement de l'établissement des Loyalistes et des Indiens alliés à la Couronne dans la région qui devint le Haut-Canada. Il mourut en Suisse.

Il a été désigné pour son importance nationale en 1974 parce qu’il a été gouverneur de Québec (1778-1786), constructeur du canal de Coteau-du-Lac (1779) et qu’il assigna des terres aux Loyalistes.

Prevost portait

George Prevost (1767-1816)

Prevost a été gouverneur en chef de l’Amérique du Nord britannique et commandant des forces britanniques et canadiennes pendant la guerre de 1812. Fort de 30 ans d’expérience militaire, il met en œuvre une stratégie minimisant les pertes tout en protégeant les axes de communication et de ravitaillement. Sa diplomatie et son bilinguisme facilitent grandement la levée de fonds et de troupes. Toutefois, sa performance à la bataille de Plattsburgh (New York), en septembre 1814, lui vaut de nombreuses critiques. Il se verra donc privé d’une juste reconnaissance pour avoir défendu avec succès le Haut et le Bas-Canada pendant le conflit.

Il a été désigné pour son importance nationale en 2014 parce qu’il a été officier supérieur de l’armée britannique, gouverneur en chef et commandant des forces britanniques en Amérique du Nord entre septembre 1811 et mars 1815.

Lennox portait

Charles Lennox, duc de Richmond (1764-1819)

Charles Lennox fut nommé commandant en chef des colonies de l'Amérique du Nord britannique et gouverneur en chef du Bas- Canada en mai 1818. On lui confia le mandat d’améliorer les défenses des colonies et la navigation intérieure. Lennox recommanda le renforcement des fortifications de Québec et la construction d’un fort, nommé plus tard en son honneur, à l’île aux Noix. Il encouragea en outre la création d’écluses sur la rivière des Outaouais. L’annonce de sa mort subite, un an seulement après sa nomination, jeta l’émoi tant chez les Canadiens que chez les Britanniques.

Il a été désigné pour son importance nationale en 1923 parce qu’il a été gouverneur général du Canada en 1818.

Durham portait

John George Lambton, compte de Durham (1792-1840)

Après une brillante carrière publique en Angleterre, lord Durham est nommé gouverneur général et haut-commissaire de l'Amérique du Nord britannique en 1838. Chargé d'enquêter sur les troubles qui agitent le Haut et le Bas-Canada, il séjourne ici cinq mois puis rédige son célèbre Rapport sur les affaires de l'Amérique septentrionale britannique. Ses recommandations furent controversées mais elles menèrent à l'union des deux Canadas en 1841, à l'avènement de la responsabilité ministérielle, à l'institution des municipalités et à la croissance de sentiments nationaux au Canada.

Il a été désigné pour son importance nationale en 1974 parce qu’il a été gouverneur-général et haut-commissaire de l'Amérique du Nord britannique en 1838.

Dufferin portait

Frederick Blackwood, marquis de Dufferin (1826-1902)

Troisième gouverneur général du Canada de 1872 à 1878, lord Dufferin joue un rôle important dans la politique canadienne. Il empêche la démolition complète des fortifications de Québec tout en favorisant l’embellissement du Vieux-Québec grâce à divers travaux. La terrasse Dufferin rappelle sa mémoire.

Il a été désigné pour son importance nationale en 1975 parce qu’il a été gouverneur général du Canada (1872-1878), écrivain, voyageur, linguiste et diplomate.