The archaeological crypt located under Dufferin Terrace provides the answers to many questions about life at the time of the French and English regimes. Between 1620 and 1834, it was here that the official residences and seats of power of the governors were located. The remains of Château Saint-Louis, its outbuildings and culinary complex help us go back in time and better understand the governor's functions as well as the lifestyle of the site's inhabitants.

History

For more than 200 years of French and then English rule in Quebec, the Saint-Louis Forts and Châteaux served as the official residence and seat of power for most governors.

Architecture

The Saint-Louis Forts and Châteaux site is complex. It consists of three elements: the forts, châteaux and gardens. There were a total of four forts and two châteaux. After the last château burned, the ruins gave way to three successive terraces.

Archeology

The archeological research project currently underway at the Saint-Louis Forts and Châteaux National Historic Site began in June 2005. The final exploratory campaign was conducted in the summer of 2007. The three digs confirmed the site's historical significance. Many architectural remains were excavated.

La crypte archéologique qui se trouve sous la terrasse Dufferin permet de répondre à moult questions sur la vie à l’époque des Régimes français et anglais. Entre 1620 et 1834, c’est ici que se trouvent la résidence officielle et le siège du pouvoir des gouverneurs. Les vestiges du château Saint-Louis, sa basse cour, ses dépendances et son complexe culinaire nous aident à remonter le temps et à mieux cerner les fonctions de gouverneurs ainsi que le mode de vie mondain des habitants du lieu.

Architecture

Le site des forts et châteaux Saint-Louis est complexe. Il se compose de trois volets : les forts, les châteaux et les jardins. Il y a eu en tout quatre forts et deux châteaux. Une fois le dernier château incendié, les ruines ont fait place à trois terrasses successives.

Archéologie

Le projet de recherche archéologique au lieu historique national des Forts-et-Châteaux-Saint-Louis a débuté au mois de juin 2005. La campagne finale de fouilles a été faite pendant l'été 2007. Les trois campagnes de fouilles ont confirmé la grande valeur du site. De nombreux vestiges architecturaux ont été mis au jour.