Get to know the epic tale of the final battle at sea between France and Great Britain for possession of France's North American territories.

Share in life-or-death decisions
Be admitted to the council room, where you’ll meet the officers and learn about the logistics and tactics of the relief mission that took you here from far-off France. The Battle of the Restigouche was the last naval battle of the Seven Years’ War to be fought in North American waters.

Join the crew!
The hold of the Machault was filled with goods and munitions, with a crew of 150 and 100 soldiers squeezed in between decks. You'll find out just how much transatlantic travel has changed between then and now!

Witness a priceless treasure
The wreck of the Machaut is one of only three 18th-century French frigates recovered to date. It's remarkably well preserved. Consider as you examine the remains of the Machault that the ship was part of a relief mission from France to resupply the colony.

Marvel at the precious cargo!
You’ll find numerous artifacts brought to the surface by Parks Canada's underwater archaeologists, giving you a vivid picture of daily life in 18th-century New France. They’re now a standard reference for the Seven Years’ War period in New France because they can be precisely dated and are exceptionally well preserved.

Continue your journey through time with a cannon recovered from the Machault, mute witness to the battle that sealed the fate of New France.

Visitez une exposition qui vous raconte l'ultime bataille navale entre la France et la Grande-Bretagne pour la possession du territoire nord-américain.

Prenez part aux grandes décisions
Entrez d'abord dans la salle du Conseil et vivez la vie d'un officier. Vous en apprendrez sur l'organisation et les différentes tactiques de la mission de secours dépêchée par la France... une mission de la plus haute importance. La bataille de la Ristigouche est le dernier combat naval de la guerre de Sept Ans dans les eaux de l’Amérique du Nord.

Joignez-vous aux membres de l’équipage
Outre les marchandises et les munitions entreposées dans les cales, le Machault transporte 150 hommes d'équipage et 100 soldats entassés dans l'entrepont du navire. Vous verrez que les voyages transatlantiques de l'époque sont bien différents de ceux qu'on connait aujourd'hui. 

Admirez un trésor d'une valeur inestimable
L'épave du Machault est l’une des trois seules frégates françaises du 18e siècle découvertes à ce jour. Son état de conservation est remarquable. Quand vous regarderez cette imposante structure de bois et de fer, rappelez-vous qu'elle provient d'un navire de guerre parti de France dans le but de ravitailler et de défendre sa colonie aux Amériques. Épique... 

Laissez-vous éblouir par une précieuse cargaison
Découvrez de nombreux objets récoltés par les archéologues subaquatiques de Parcs Canada. Vous en apprendrez davantage sur le quotidien des gens de la Nouvelle-France au 18e siècle. À cause de leur datation précise et de leur état de conservation exceptionnel, ces artéfacts sont une collection de référence pour la période couvrant la guerre de Sept Ans en Nouvelle-France.   

Poursuivez votre voyage dans le temps en examinant un canon récupéré du Machault témoignant du combat qui scella le sort de la Nouvelle-France.