History

More than three centuries ago, in 1720, the authorities of New France allowed the establishment of the first trading post on the current site.

Fort Témiscamingue was a major fur trading post for over 200 years. In the 18th century, it played a strategic role in the fight between the French and English for the monopoly of the fur trade in the upper Ottawa River and the Hudson Bay watersheds.

Today, this historic site contains historical, archaeological and natural resources. Photos and scenographies show us clearly where the buildings were located, most of them dating back to the 1840–1880 period. Archaeological digs have uncovered the remains of numerous buildings and a large number of artifacts. Older Indigenous traces were also revealed. Archaeological data confirm that the site was used for about 6,000 years during occasional spring and summer occupations by the Anicinabeg (Algonquin).

Cultural landscape

The National Historic Site, although heavily vegetated in its current state, has been shaped by longstanding human occupation, whether Algonquin, French, Scottish, English or Canadian. Many remains bear witness to this. It should be added that the current appearance of the vegetation landscape is largely inherited from the forest harvests of the 19th century.

Histoire

Il y a plus de trois siècles, soit en 1720, les autorités de la Nouvelle-France permettent l’établissement d’un premier poste de traite sur le site actuel.

Le fort Témiscamingue reste un important poste de traite des pelleteries pendant plus de deux cents ans. Au 18e siècle, il joue un rôle stratégique dans la lutte opposant Français et Anglais pour le monopole de la traite des fourrures dans les bassins hydrographiques de l’Outaouais supérieur et de la baie d’Hudson.

De nos jours, ce lieu historique recèle des ressources historiques, archéologiques et naturelles. Des photos et des scénographies nous montrent clairement où étaient situés les bâtiments appartenant en majorité à la période 1840 - 1880. Des campagnes de fouilles archéologiques ont mis au jour les vestiges de nombreux bâtiments et une importante quantité d’artéfacts. Des traces plus anciennes, autochtones, ont également été révélées. Les données archéologiques confirment leur utilisation du site depuis environ 6000 ans, à travers des occupations ponctuelles, printanières ou estivales, par les Anicinabeg (Algonquins).

Paysage culturel

Le lieu historique national, quoique fortement végétalisé dans son état actuel, est pétri par l’occupation humaine depuis longtemps, qu’elle ait été algonquienne, française, écossaise, anglaise ou canadienne. Maints vestiges en portent témoignage. Ajoutons que l’apparence présente du paysage végétal est en grande part héritée des récoltes forestières du 19e siècle.