Make the most of your visit to Obadjiwan–Fort Témiscamingue by visiting our permanent and temporary exhibitions and watching the film “The Voyageurs”, which tells the story of a unique contribution to the discovery of Canada.

Permanent exhibition : Obadjiwan

Audio-visual projections Obadjiwan exibition: following in the tracks of fur-bearing animals

The Obadjiwan exhibition, recounting the history of Fort Témiscamingue and testifying to the thousand-year-old presence of the Anishnabe (Algonquin) in the region, transports visitors to the era of the flourishing fur trade

It bears witness to the fierce rivalry between the French and British to exploit the supply of pelts in Hudson’s Bay in the 17th and 18th centuries. The fort also serves as a reminder of the activities of the independent 18th century traders and the successive fur trade monopolies held inTémiscamingue, in the 19th century, by the North West and Hudson’s Bay companies


group of voyageurs paddling in a rabaska

The film “The Voyageurs

Filmed in 1964 by the National Film Board of Canada, this 20-minute intended for all documentary is being shown in the multi-purpose room. It tells the story of simple, spirited men who set off to reach the West. In service of companies with a hunger for fur, they push their incursions farther and farther into the Pacific Ocean.


Temporary exhibition

Painting of a large sailboat splitting the waves

"Le Nouveau-Monde" exhibition

From Michel Villeneuve

To come in 2022.

Profitez de votre visite au Lieu historique national d’Obadjiwan-Fort-Témiscamingue pour découvrir nos expositions permanentes et temporaires et visionner le film « Les voyageurs » relatant une contribution unique à la découverte du Canada.

Exposition permanente Obadjiwan

projection audiovisuelle Exposition Obadjiwan : Sur la trace des animaux de tous poils

L’exposition Obadjiwan, relatant toute l’histoire du fort Témiscamingue et témoignant de la présence millénaire des Anicinabeg (Algonquins) dans la région, transporte les visiteurs à l’époque du florissant commerce de la fourrure.

Elle témoigne notamment de l’importante rivalité qui existe au 17e et 18e siècle, entre français et anglais pour l’exploitation du réservoir pelletier de la Baie d’Hudson. Le poste rappelle également les activités de marchands indépendants au 18e siècle et les monopoles successifs au 19e siècle détenus dans ce commerce au Témiscamingue par les compagnies du Nord-Ouest et de la Baie d’Hudson.


groupe de voyageurs pagayant dans un rabaska

Le film « Les voyageurs »

D’une durée de 20 minutes, produit en 1964 par l’Office national du film (O.N.F.), ce documentaire pour tous vous est présenté dans la salle polyvalente. Il relate l’histoire d’hommes simples, d’un naturel gai, qui s’apprêtent à rejoindre l’Ouest . Au service de compagnies avides de pelleteries, ils poussent leurs incursions de plus en plus loin vers l’océan Pacifique.


Exposition temporaire

Toile d'un grand voilier fendant les vagues

Exposition « Le Nouveau-Monde »

De Michel Villeneuve

À venir en 2022.