What to know before you visit

As announced in 2015, Parks Canada will be investing three billion dollars over five years towards restoring the infrastructure of national historic sites, national parks and national marine conservation areas of Canada.

Over the next few months, the Manoir Papineau National Historic Site will be closed to the public for major conservation work. The investments in the historic buildings—chiefly in the manor house, the granary, and the tea house—are designed to allow Canadians to continue enjoying our rich history and heritage and to preserve this unique site for future generations. These investments will ensure that our past continues to have a future.

A construction schedule is coming soon.

Infrastructure projects in Manoir-Papineau National Historic Site

Manoir Papineau

  • Replacement of the roof covering
  • Repairs to the woodwork, including the doors and windows
  • Repairs to the rough plaster
  • Restoration or revamping of the finishes inside the manor
  • Stabilization of the ballroom’s dome ceiling

Tea house

  • Securing of the building foundation
  • Structural repairs

Granary

  • Stabilization of the masonry

Fuel tank

  • Replacement of the oil tank with a propane tank
  • Works near the Family Museum

For safety reasons, it is necessary to close the site completely due to the machinery, noise, dust, debris, storage areas, and security perimeters. This will allow us to carry out the work within a specific time frame, thus reducing construction time and preventing multiple disruptions for visitors.

*Please note that this is not an exhaustive list of infrastructure projects underway in Manoir-Papineau National Historic Site. Only projects that may impact visitors are listed.

Ce qu’il faut savoir avant votre visite

Conformément à ce qui avait été annoncé en 2015, Parcs Canada investit 3 milliards de dollars sur cinq ans afin de remettre en état des éléments d’infrastructure se trouvant dans les lieux historiques nationaux, les parcs nationaux et les aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada.

Au cours des prochains mois, le lieu historique national du Manoir-Papineau sera fermé au public en raison d’un vaste projet de conservation. Les investissements sur les bâtiments historiques – principalement le manoir, mais aussi hangar à grains et le pavillon de thé -, ont pour objectif de permettre aux Canadiens de continuer à profiter de la richesse de notre histoire et de notre patrimoine et aussi de transmettre ce lieu irremplaçable aux générations futures. Cet investissement donne un avenir à notre passé.

Un échéancier des travaux suivra sous peu.

Projets d'infrastructure au lieu historique national du Manoir-Papineau

Manoir Papineau

  • Remplacement du revêtement de toiture
  • Réparation des boiseries, incluant les portes et fenêtres
  • Réfection du crépi
  • Restauration ou rafraîchissement des finis à l’intérieur du manoir
  • Consolidation du plafond en coupole de la salle de bal

Pavillon de thé

  • Sécurisation de l’assise du bâtiment
  • Réfection de la structure du bâtiment

Hangar à grain

  • Consolidation de la maçonnerie

Réservoir de chauffage

  • Remplacement du réservoir pétrolier pour un réservoir au propane
  • À proximité du Musée familial

Pour des raisons de sécurité, il est nécessaire de fermer complètement le site, car il y aura beaucoup de machinerie sur place, du bruit, de la poussière, des débris, des zones d’entreposage et des périmètres de sécurité. Cette façon de procéder nous permettra de concentrer les travaux en une seule période de temps et ainsi réduire la durée des travaux et éviter de multiplier les dérangements auprès des visiteurs.

*Prière de noter que la liste de projets d’infrastructure en cours au lieu historique national du Manoir Papineau n’est pas exhaustive. Seuls les projets qui pourraient avoir une incidence sur les visiteurs y figurent.