The three detached forts at Point Lévy were built to counter the destructive effect of the new rifled canon. If the enemy were to succeed in getting past one of the forts, its troubles were not yet over. Each fort had its own unique system of defence.

Fort No. 1 was designed as an asymmetrical pentagon. While its shape was different from the other two, it nonetheless comprised the same elements of defence.

 


Ditch

The ditch was the primary defensive obstacle and skirted around the perimeter of the fort, five metres deep.

 


Caponiers

Gorge Caponier Illustration of a Gorge Caponier

Four caponiers were built to defend the ditch and were designed with gun embrasures and loopholes to better aim the artillery. The head caponier covered the fort from side to side. The left and right caponiers covered the area extending from the flanks to the back of the fort. The gorge caponier protected the rear of the forts.


Terreplein

Terreplein Drawing of a Terreplein
The terreplein camouflaged the fort. It was a monumental construction built using tons of backfill taken mainly from the ditch. It provided protection and physical support for the twenty or so canons that would defend the fort.

Parade Ground

Behind the terreplein was the parade ground. This is where the troops would assemble, where the military exercises were carried out and where sports such as cricket were played.

 


Casemates

Casemate Drawing of a casemate

Buried under the terreplein were 12 casemates housing the barracks for the garrison. Each one could house 12 soldiers. Each man had 15 cubic metres of personal space. This was the new standard for the British army designed to control promiscuity and prevent epidemics.


Powder Magazine

Main powder magazine Illustration of the Main powder magazine

For obvious security reasons, the powder magazine was located at a fair distance from the casemates. It had to be readily accessible but well hidden under the terreplein to prevent any accidental explosions. An excellent example of a bombproof magazine!

Les trois forts détachés de la pointe de Lévy devaient contrer l'effet destructeur du nouveau canon rayé. L'ennemi qui réussissait à se glisser dans l'un des forts n'était pas au bout de ses peines. Chaque fort assurait sa propre défense.

Le fort Numéro-Un épouse la forme d'un pentagone asymétrique. De forme différente, il comprend les mêmes éléments défensifs que les autres forts du réseau.

 


Fossé

Principal obstacle défensif, un fossé de cinq mètres de profondeur épouse la pente du terrain et ceinture le fort.


Caponnières

Caponnière de gorge Illustration d'une Caponnière de gorge

Percées d'embrasures et de meurtrières, quatre caponnières assurent la défense du fossé. La caponnière de tête balaie le fossé sur sa face. Les caponnières de gauche et de droite surveillent les flancs jusqu'à l'arrière du fort. La caponnière de gorge soutient l'effort à l'arrière.


Terre-plein

Terre-plein Illustration d'un Terre-plein
Le terre-plein camoufle le fort dans le paysage. Cette construction monumentale est composée de tonnes de débris et de terre extraits en bonne partie du fossé. Elle devient structure de blindage et de support pour la vingtaine de canons qui doivent défendre le fort.

Champ de parade

À l'arrière du terre-plein se trouve le champ de parade. Celui-ci sert au rassemblement des troupes, aux exercices militaires et aux divertissements sportifs comme le cricket.

 


Casemates

Casemate Illustration d'une casemate

Sous le terre-plein sont enfouies 12 casemates faisant office de caserne pour la garnison. Chacune peut loger 12 soldats. Chaque homme dispose de 15 mètres cubes d'espace. Ceci respecte les nouvelles normes de l'armée britannique visant à contrôler la promiscuité et à contrer les épidémies.


Poudrière

Poudrière principale Illustration de la Poudrière principale

Pour des raisons évidentes de sécurité, la poudrière est située à l'écart des casemates. Facile d'accès mais dissimulée sous le terre-plein, elle est construite de façon à parer les explosions. Voilà un magasin à toute épreuve !