Fort Lennox

Île-aux-Noix is located in the middle of the Richelieu River at only 12 kilometers from the U.S. border. Since 1759, it served as a bulwark against potential invaders from the south. In 1819, the military authorities order for the third time the reconstruction of the fort on the Island. The new defensive structure will be called Fort Lennox.

This British fortification has retained its original structure so there is no need for imagination - everything remains as it was. Take the ferry that connects the village of Saint-Paul-de-l'Île-aux-Noix with île-aux-Noix, and in five minutes, you're in the 19th century. Walk through Fort Lennox’s gates and follow in the footsteps of soldiers who ate at this canteen, who mounted guard on this bridge, slept in these officers' quarters, inspected the powder magazine and stood watch over Lower Canada from the top of its ramparts. Let your imagination take you back into history.

Major works

Please note that from now until 2020, the Government of Canada is making the largest investment in infrastructures since Parks Canada was established to protect sites that we care for and ensure their sustainability. At Fort-Lennox National Historic Site, investments in visitor infrastructures will ensure the quality and reliability of activities and will allow visitors to enjoy our diverse history.

More information

Le fort Lennox

L’Île-aux-Noix est située au milieu de la rivière Richelieu, à 12 kilomètres de la frontière américaine. Depuis 1759, elle sert de rempart contre les envahisseurs potentiels venus du sud. En 1819, les autorités militaires britanniques ordonnent la reconstruction du fort sur l'île pour la troisième fois. Le nouvel ouvrage défensif s’appellera fort Lennox.

Cette fortification britannique a conservé sa structure d’origine. Pas besoin d’imagination, tout est resté tel quel. Empruntez le traversier qui relie le village de Saint-Paul-de-l'Île-aux-Noix à l’Île-aux-Noix, et en cinq minutes, basculez dans le 19e siècle. Franchissez le portail du fort Lennox et marchez dans les pas de militaires qui ont mangé à cette cantine, monté la garde à ce pont, dormi dans ce logis d’officiers, inspecté la poudrière et veillé sur le Bas-Canada du haut de ces remparts. Laissez-vous votre imagination vous transporter dans l’histoire.

Des travaux majeurs

Notez que le gouvernement du Canada effectue d’ici 2020 le plus grand investissement dans les infrastructures de Parcs Canada depuis sa création afin de protéger les endroits qui nous sont chers et d’en assurer la pérennité. Au lieu historique national du Fort-Lennox, les fonds investis dans les bâtiments et les infrastructures destinées aux visiteurs assureront la qualité des activités offertes et permettront à tous d’en apprendre davantage au sujet de notre histoire diversifiée.

Plus d'information