Table of contents

November 2017

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le directeur général de l’Agence Parcs Canada, 2017.

Cette publication est aussi disponible en français.

Library and Archives Canada Cataloguing in Publication

  • Parks Canada

Issued also in French under the title:
Lieu historique national du Canada Commerce-de-la-Fourrure-à-Lachine Énoncé de Gestion 2017

  • Paper : R64-105/51-2017E 978-0-660-09538-7
  • 978-0-660-09538-7
  • PDF : R64-105/51-2017E-PDF
  • 978-0-660-09540-0

For more information about the management statement or about

Mailing address:
The Fur Trade at Lachine National Historic Site
1255 Saint-Joseph Boulevard
Lachine Borough Montréal QC
Canada
H8S 2M2

Telephone:
514-637-7433

Fax:
514-637-5325


Front Cover Image Credits

Gabriel Lafond, Parks Canada

Foreword

The Honourable Catherine McKenna, Minister of the Environment and Minister responsible for Parks Canada

Canada’s national parks, national historic sites and national marine conservation areas belong to all Canadians and offer truly Canadian experiences.

These special places make up one of the finest and most extensive systems of protected natural and cultural heritage areas in the world.

The Government is committed to preserving our natural and cultural heritage, expanding the system of protected places and contributing to the recovery of species-at-risk. At the same time, we must continue to offer new and innovative visitor and outreach programs and activities so that more Canadians can experience Parks Canada places and learn about our environment, history and culture.

This new management statement for The Fur Trade at Lachine National Historic Site of Canada supports this vision.

Management statements are developed through extensive consultation and input from various people and organizations, including Indigenous Peoples, local and regional residents, visitors and the dedicated team at Parks Canada.

National parks, national historic sites and national marine conservation areas are a priority for the Government of Canada. I would like to thank everyone who contributed to this management statement for their commitment and spirit of co-operation.

As the Minister responsible for Parks Canada, I applaud this collaborative effort and I am pleased to approve The Fur Trade at Lachine National Historic Site of Canada Management Statement.

Catherine McKenna
Minister of Environment and Climate Change and Minister responsible for Parks Canada

Recommendations

Recommended and original signed by:

Daniel Watson
Chief Executive Officer
Parks Canada

Nadine Blackburn
Field Unit Superintendent
La Mauricie and Western Quebec Field Unit
Parks Canada

Context

Parks Canada manages a network of the world's most breathtaking and extensive historic sites. Its mandate is to protect and showcase these sites for the benefit of present and future generations. This management statement details Parks Canada's management approach, and outlines specific goals for The Fur Trade at Lachine National Historic Site.

The Fur Trade at Lachine National Historic Site is located in the Lachine borough in the western part of the island of Montreal (Quebec), at the edge of Lac Saint-Louis and within the limits of the Lachine Canal National Historic Site.

The site was recognized as having national historic importance in 1970, as illustrated in the following commemorative statement:

“The Fur Trade at Lachine National Historic Site commemorates the fur trade in the Montreal area.”

The site is a testament to the significant role the Montreal area played in Canada's fur industry. It was the departure and arrival point for Great Lakes trading expeditions, and the hangar that was built there in 1803 served as a repository for trading furs and goods. The former Lachine fur repository, which was renovated at the beginning of the 1980s by Parks Canada, became an interpretation centre for the history of the fur trade in Canada.

The site is open to the public for self-guided visits during the summer months. However, the spring and fall seasons see the most traffic due to the special guided tour designed for groups (students and tourists). In 2016–2017, the site drew 7,219 visitors, more than half of whom came as part of a group. Visitors tour the interpretation center's permanent exhibition on the height of the fur trade and view a short film on the voyagers who worked for fur merchants and companies. They can touch various animal pelts as well as the clothing and hats made from them.

To support its reach and operation, the national historic site works with several educational, municipal and museum community partners, including: Montréal Museums, Tourisme Montréal, the Musée de Lachine, the Lachine borough and the Commission scolaire de Montréal.

Management approach

Parks Canada's aim is to continue on the management path established for The Fur Trade at Lachine National Historic Site, which will remain a protected heritage site dedicated to discovery and education. Its intention is to present the historic role of the fur trade in the Montreal area. Parks Canada will also continue to foster partnerships in an effort to take advantage of opportunities that further the discovery of the national historic site through increased visitor attendance.

Management goals

Resource Conservation:

Parks Canada protects the cultural resources at its heritage places sites in accordance with its Cultural Resource Management Policy and the Standards and Guidelines for the Conservation of Historic Places in Canada. To maintain the site's integrity, The Fur Trade at Lachine National Historic Site's purpose is to preserve cultural resources for current and future generations. These efforts include the continued oversight of cultural resources, the implementation of special preservation initiatives, as well as the documenting of on-site initiatives.

Public understanding and appreciation:

Parks Canada aims to effectively convey the topic of the Lachine and Montreal fur trades by welcoming visitors both on site and online. To best respond to the expectations of recurring clienteles (student and tourist groups) and to increase attendance, the site will focus its efforts on adapting its scheduled activities and hours of operation.

Building relationships with local and regional partners:

The national historic site would like to strengthen existing partnerships and periodically participate in upcoming Montreal museum and tourism initiatives to take advantage of opportunities that encourage an increase in group visits. These partnerships provide for a greater number of Canadians to enjoy the site while ensuring its integration in currently established networks.

Site maintenance:

Parks Canada maintains the property it manages to support the site's heritage value, to present a positive image to the public and to affirm Parks Canada's brand.

Strategic environmental assessment summary

In compliance with the Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals (2010), a strategic environmental assessment (SEA) was carried out on the Fur Trade at Lachine National Historic Site's management statement proposal.

The SEA assessed the potential effects on natural and cultural resources, as well as on established visitor experience objectives. The assessment confirmed that the Fur Trade at Lachine National Historic Site's management statement proposal would have a positive effect on cultural resources and visitor experience, and that significant negative environmental impacts would be unlikely.

Table des matières

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le directeur général de l’Agence Parcs Canada, 2017.

This publication is also available in English.

Catalogage avant publication de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada

  • Parcs Canada

Également publié en anglais sous le titre :
The Fur Trade at Lachine National Historic Site of Canada Management Statement

  • Papier : R64-105/51-2017F
  • 978-0-660-09539-4
  • PDF : R64-105/51-2017F-PDF
  • 978-0-660-09541-7

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l’énoncé de gestion ou des questions connexes

Adresse mail :
Commerce-de-la-Fourrure-à-Lachine
1255, boulevard Saint-Joseph,
arrondissement de Lachine,
Montréal (Québec), Canada
H8S 2M2

Téléphone :
514-637-7433

Télécopie :
514-637-5325


Sources des images de la page couverture

Gabriel Lafond, Parcs Canada

Avant propos

Honorable Catherine McKenna, C.P., députée Ministre de l’Environnement et du Changement climatique et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada

Les parcs nationaux, les lieux historiques nationaux et les aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada appartiennent à tous les Canadiens et Canadiennes et offrent des expériences authentiquement canadiennes.

Ces endroits spéciaux forment l'un des plus beaux et plus vastes réseaux d'aires patrimoniales naturelles et culturelles protégées au monde.

Le gouvernement s'est engagé à protéger notre patrimoine naturel et culturel, à élargir le réseau des aires protégées et à contribuer au rétablissement des espèces en péril. Nous devons en même temps continuer d’offrir de nouveaux programmes et activités innovateurs axés sur les visiteurs et la sensibilisation pour permettre à davantage de Canadiens et de Canadiennes de découvrir les sites de Parcs Canada et d’apprendre au sujet de notre histoire, environnement et culture.

Cet énoncé de gestion du lieu historique national du Canada du Commerce-de-la-Fourrure-à-Lachine vient appuyer cette vision.

Les énoncés de gestion sont élaborés dans le cadre de consultations et de contributions exhaustives de personnes et d'organismes divers, dont les peuples autochtones, des résidents locaux et régionaux, des visiteurs et l'équipe dévouée œuvrant à Parcs Canada.

Les parcs nationaux, les lieux historiques nationaux et les aires marines nationales de conservation sont une priorité pour le gouvernement du Canada. J'aimerais remercier tous ceux qui ont contribué à cet énoncé de gestion pour leur engagement et leur esprit de collaboration.

À titre de ministre responsable de Parcs Canada, j'applaudis cet effort concerté, et je suis heureuse d'approuver l’énoncé de gestion du lieu historique national du Canada du Commerce-de-la-Fourrure-à-Lachine.

Catherine McKenna
Ministre de l'Environnement et du Changement climatique et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada

Recommandations

Recommandé et l’original a été signé par

Daniel Watson
Directeur général de l’Agence
Parcs Canada

Nadine Blackburn
Directrice unité de gestion de La Mauricie et de
l’Ouest du Québec
Parcs Canada

Contexte

Parcs Canada gère l’un des réseaux de lieux historiques nationaux protégés parmi les plus beaux et les plus vastes du monde. Son mandat consiste à protéger et à mettre en valeur ces lieux pour que les générations d’aujourd’hui et de demain puissent en profiter. Le présent énoncé de gestion décrit l’approche de gestion de Parcs Canada ainsi que les objectifs à atteindre pour le lieu historique national du Canada du Commerce-de-la Fourrure-à-Lachine.

Le lieu historique national du Commerce-de-la-Fourrure-à-Lachine est situé dans la portion ouest de l’île de Montréal (Québec), dans l’arrondissement de Lachine, en bordure du lac Saint-Louis et à l’intérieur des limites du lieu historique national du Canal-de-Lachine.

Désigné d’importance historique nationale en 1970, l’objectif de commémoration du lieu s’énonce ainsi :

« Le lieu historique national du Commerce-de-la-Fourrure-à-Lachine commémore le commerce de la fourrure dans la région de Montréal. »

Ce lieu historique national témoigne du rôle important joué par la région montréalaise dans l’industrie pelletière du Canada. Le site constituait le point de départ et d’arrivée des expéditions de traite dans la région des Grands Lacs. Le hangar qu’on y a construit en 1803 servait d’entrepôt pour les fourrures et les marchandises de traite. Rénové au début des années 1980 par Parcs Canada, l’ancien entrepôt de fourrures de Lachine est devenu un centre d’interprétation de l’histoire de la traite des fourrures au Canada.

Le site est ouvert au grand public, en visite autonome, durant la période estivale. Toutefois, c’est au printemps et à l’automne qu’il génère sa plus grande fréquentation grâce à une offre d’animation destinée aux groupes (scolaires et voyagistes). En 2016-2017, le lieu a attiré 7 219 visiteurs, dont plus de la moitié sont venus en groupes. Dans le centre d’interprétation, les visiteurs parcourent l’exposition permanente sur l’apogée du commerce de la fourrure et visionnent un court film sur les voyageurs qui travaillaient pour le compte des marchands et compagnies de fourrure. Ils ont l’occasion de manipuler différentes peaux d’animaux ainsi que des vêtements ou chapeaux fabriqués avec celles-ci.

Afin de favoriser son rayonnement et son opération, le lieu historique national travaille avec plusieurs partenaires issus des milieux scolaire, municipal et muséal, notamment : Musées Montréal, Tourisme Montréal, Musée de Lachine, l’arrondissement de Lachine et la Commission scolaire de Montréal.

Approche de gestion

L’intention de Parcs Canada est de poursuivre l’approche de gestion en vigueur pour le lieu historique national du Commerce-de-la-Fourrure-à-Lachine. Le site demeurera un espace patrimonial protégé axé sur la découverte et l’apprentissage. Il visera à présenter le rôle historique du commerce de la fourrure dans la région de Montréal. Parcs Canada continuera également à travailler en partenariat en vue de saisir les occasions favorisant la découverte du lieu historique national par un plus grand nombre de visiteurs.

Objectifs de gestion

Conservation des ressources :

Parcs Canada protège les ressources culturelles situées dans les lieux patrimoniaux, conformément à la Politique sur la gestion des ressources culturelles et aux Normes et lignes directrices pour la conservation des lieux patrimoniaux au Canada. L’objectif du lieu historique national du Commerce-de-la-Fourrure-à-Lachine consiste à poursuivre les efforts de conservation des ressources culturelles de façon à maintenir le site en bon état d’intégrité pour les générations actuelles et futures. Ces efforts comprennent la surveillance continue des ressources culturelles, la réalisation d’interventions ponctuelles de conservation ainsi que la documentation des interventions menées dans le lieu.

Compréhension et appréciation perception du public :

Parcs Canada a pour objectif de continuer à communiquer efficacement la thématique du commerce de la fourrure à Lachine et dans la région Montréalaise grâce à l’accueil des visiteurs et au site Web du lieu historique national. Afin de mieux répondre aux attentes des clientèles cibles récurrentes (groupes scolaires et groupes voyagistes) et d’en accroître la fréquentation, le lieu concentrera ses efforts pour adapter son offre d’activités et ses horaires d’ouverture.

Relations avec les partenaires locaux et régionaux :

Le lieu historique national souhaite consolider les partenariats existants et s’intégrer ponctuellement aux initiatives muséales et touristiques montréalaises à venir en vue de saisir les occasions permettant d’accroître la clientèle de groupes. Ces partenariats feront en sorte qu’un plus grand nombre de Canadiens pourront profiter du site, en plus de favoriser son intégration aux réseaux déjà établis.

Entretien du lieu :

Parcs Canada poursuivra l’entretien du lieu de manière à respecter ses valeurs patrimoniales, à présenter une image positive au public et à témoigner de la marque de Parcs Canada.

Résumé de l’évaluation environnementale stratégique :

Conformément à la Directive du Cabinet sur l’évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes (2010), une évaluation environnementale stratégique (ÉES) a été menée sur la proposition d’énoncé de gestion du lieu historique national du Canada du Commerce-de-la-Fourrure-à-Lachine.

L'ÉES a évalué les effets potentiels sur les ressources naturelles et culturelles de même que sur les objectifs liés à l’expérience des visiteurs. Elle conclut que la proposition d’énoncé de gestion du lieu historique national du Canada du Commerce-de-la-Fourrure-à-Lachine aurait des effets positifs sur les ressources culturelles et l’expérience des visiteurs et ne devrait pas entraîner d’effets environnementaux négatifs importants.