Thematic tours are available between June 22 and September 2, 2019.

Stay tuned for the 2020 schedule. 

If you visit Grosse Île between May 1 and June 21 2019 or September 3 to October 13 2019, the activity proposed is the guided tour of the 3 sectors of the island.
Refer to the guided tour page for more information.

In each of the thematic tours (1, 2, 3 and 4) you will visit the three sectors of the island to fully understand the operation of the quarantine station. You will discover the must-sees of Grosse-Île:

  • In the west sector: you will visit and learn more about the Celtic Cross, the Irish Cemetery, the Memorial and the disinfection building with the medical inspection.
  • In the center of the island: you will visit the village to learn about the Catholic chapel and see the new exhibition on the ambulance and the carter.
  • In the east sector (said the hospitals sector): you will visit and learn more about the Lazaretto, the oldest building on the island witnessed the tragedy of 1847 and you will also visit the new exhibition in the red room.

Choose one of the four thematic tours offered based on your preferences and interests.
On top of visiting the must-sees of Grosse Île, during the high season, you will choose one of the four following thematic tours:

  1. Irish Heritage
  2. Land of hope, Land of dreams
  3. From beliefs to Science
  4. Life in Saint Luc de la Grosse Île
In order to make the best choice, click on the tour title below for a complete description of each tour.

If you visit Grosse Île between May 1 and June 21 2019 or September 3 to October 13 2019, the activity proposed is the guided tour of the 3 sectors of the island. Refer to the guided tour page for more information.


femme devant le mémorial des irldandais
Irish Heritage

This tour explores the theme of Irish immigration and will allow you to learn about the history of Grosse Île and the quarantine station, as well as why this station was created and developed. During this tour, you will understand the extent of the terrible tragedy of 1847 that marked the island’s history and you will learn more about the physical, cultural and genetic legacy of Irish immigrants on the island.

Perfect for : genealogy enthusiasts and visitors of Irish descent.

Land of hope, Land of dreams

On this tour, you’ll learn more about immigration to Canada. The quarantine station on Grosse Île was a mandatory stopping point for immigrants coming into the country via the Port of Québec. Immigrants of nearly 40 different nationalities set foot in the station during its 105 years in operation. At the first-class hotel, you’ll meet immigrants Miss Brown or Mr. Igor, two first- and third-class travellers, who will share their stories and describe the conditions of their detention on the island and the reasons that led them to leave their homeland and dreams they had coming to Canada.

Perfect for: young adults and families, for visitors keen to see costumed interpreters and have an emotional experience, and for school groups.

carte de désinfection
From beliefs to Science

Learn more about scientific and medical developments at Grosse Île’s quarantine station. During this tour, you will find out how improvised medicine gave way to efficiency and modernity as new discoveries were made. You will meet with Dr. Frédérick Montizambert, the station’s superintendent, who will recount his achievements and the highlights of his career. You will also meet with Yvonne Beaudry, chief nurse in the Lazaretto, who will talk to you about the details of the treatments reserved for the isolated patients with smallpox.

Perfect for : history and science enthusiasts.

famille devant la chapelle catholique
Life in Saint Luc de la Grosse Île

Immerse yourself in the daily lives of the villagers who shaped the station’s history. As well as learning about the quarantine station, you’ll meet various important people, who will take turns sharing their stories. Miss Rousseau will teach school, Rev. Paré will preach at the Catholic chapel and carter and ambulance driver Pit Masson will tell fascinating stories about his life on the island.

Perfect for : families with children and visitors keen to see costumed interpreters and explore cultural history.

Les circuits thématiques sont offerts du 22 juin au 2 septembre 2019

Restez à l'affût pour l'horaire 2020. 

Si vous visitez Grosse-île entre le 1 mai et le 21 juin 2019 ou entre le 3 septembre et le 13 octobre 2019, vous ferez la visite des trois secteurs de l'île et vous visiterez les incontournables. Consultez la section visite guidée pour plus d’information.

Dans chacun des circuits (1, 2, 3 et 4) vous ferez la visite des trois secteurs de l’île afin de bien comprendre le fonctionnement de la station de quarantaine. Vous découvrirez ainsi les incontournables de la Grosse-Île :

  • Dans le secteur ouest : la croix celtique, le cimetière des Irlandais, le mémorial et le bâtiment de désinfection avec l’inspection médicale.
  • Dans le secteur centre de l’île : un arrêt au village afin de visiter la chapelle catholique et voir la nouvelle exposition sur l’ambulance et le charretier.
  • Dans le secteur est dit des hôpitaux : un arrêt au Lazaret, le plus vieux bâtiment de l’île témoin de la tragédie de 1847 et visite de la nouvelle exposition dans la salle rouge.

Choisissez un circuit thématique qui correspond à vos préférences et à vos intérêts.
En plus de visiter les incontournables, en haute saison, vous choisirez un des quatre circuits thématiques parmi les suivants :

  1. L'Irlande en héritage
  2. Terre d'accueil, terre d'espoir
  3. Des croyances à la science
  4. La vie à Saint-Luc-de-la-Grosse-Île
Afin de bien faire votre choix, veuillez cliquer sur les titres des circuits ci-dessous pour lire la description complète. 

Si vous visitez Grosse-île entre le 1 mai et le 21 juin 2019 ou entre le 3 septembre et le 13 octobre 2019, vous ferez la visite des trois secteurs de l'île et vous visiterez les incontournables. Consultez la section visite guidée pour plus d’information.

femme devant le mémorial des irldandais
L'Irlande en héritage

Ce circuit explore la thématique de l’immigration irlandaise et vous permettra d’acquérir des connaissances générales sur l’histoire de la Grosse-Île ainsi que de comprendre le contexte et les raisons de la naissance et de l’évolution de la station de quarantaine. Au cours de ce circuit, vous comprendrez l’ampleur de la terrible tragédie de 1847 qui marqua l’histoire de l’île et vous en apprendrez davantage sur les legs matériels, culturels et génétiques laissés par le passage des immigrants irlandais.

Idéal pour : passionnés de généalogie et visiteurs de descendance irlandaise.

Terre d'accueil, terre d'espoir

Ce parcours vous amènera à approfondir vos connaissances sur l’immigration au Canada. Avant de pouvoir débarquer sur le continent, la station de quarantaine de la Grosse-Île était un passage obligé pour accéder au port de Québec. Près de 40 nationalités d’immigrants ont foulé le sol de la station au cours de ses 105 ans d’opérations. À l’hôtel de première classe, vous ferez la rencontre de Mlle Brown ou de M Igor, deux immigrants de première et troisième classe qui vous raconteront leurs histoires et vous parleront des conditions de leur «détention» sur l’île de la quarantaine, des raisons qui les ont poussés à quitter leur patrie et des rêves qu’ils avaient en venant au Canada.

Idéal pour : jeunes adultes et familles, visiteurs en quête d’émotions et d’animations costumées, groupes scolaires.

carte de désinfection
Des croyances à la science

Approfondissez vos connaissances sur l’histoire de l’évolution scientifique et médicale à la Grosse-Île, station de quarantaine. Vous comprendrez comment, au fil des découvertes, la station est passée d’une médecine d’improvisation à un modèle d’efficacité et de modernité. Vous ferez la rencontre du Dr. Frederick Montizambert, surintendant de la station qui vous fera part de ses accomplissements et des grands moments de sa carrière ainsi que de l’infirmière en chef Yvonne Beaudry qui vous expliquera, dans la salle rouge du lazaret, les détails des traitements réservés aux malades isolés atteints de variole.

Idéal pour : passionnés d’histoire et du domaine scientifique.

famille devant la chapelle catholique
La vie à Saint-Luc-de-la-Grosse-Île

Imprégnez-vous du quotidien des villageois qui ont façonné l’histoire de la station. En plus d’acquérir des connaissances générales sur l’histoire de la station de quarantaine, vous ferez, tour à tour, la rencontre de plusieurs personnages marquants qui vous livreront témoignages et anecdotes. Mlle Rousseau, l’institutrice, vous fera la classe, l’Abbé Paré vous sermonnera à la chapelle catholique et Pit Masson, charretier et ambulancier, vous livrera de pétillantes tranches de sa vie sur l’île.

Idéal pour : familles avec enfants, visiteurs en quête d’animations costumées, passionnés d’histoire culturelle.