In the company of a Parks Canada interpreter, immerse yourself in the history of Grosse Île and learn about the attempts to counter epidemics transmitted from Europe. Then discover the sites that remind us of this not-so-distant past…

Follow the Irish cemetery guide to the Celtic Cross, first passing through the first class hotel. Travel on a trolley to the old village of Saint-Luc-de-la-Grosse-Île and the hospitals sector. Then, explore the sectors formerly reserved for employees and their families. Admire the Catholic Chapel, the Anglican Chapel and the house of the public works official. It is in this area you will find the lazaret—quarantine station—built in 1847. This building, one of the oldest on the island, represents the ultimate witness to the Irish tragedy.

 

Dates

Available all season long for groups. Reservation required in advance.

Please refer to the complete schedule for more information about opening hours

Price

Transport fees to get to Grosse Île apply in addition to Parks Canada admission fees. We invite you to contact the carriers to learn more on their rates.

Parks Canada Admission fees: $ 4.90 per student
Transport fees by boat: $ 26.44 per student

 

Details

Duration: 6 hours

Reserve

You must make your reservation with our carrier, Croisières Lachance. Don't hesitate to contact us if you have any questions!
Telephone: 418 234-8841
Email: pc.evquebec-quebecve.pc@canada.ca

Special notes:

  • Reservation is required for groups.
  • This experience is outdoors, be prepared, weather can change at any time.
  • Part of this guided tour has limited accessibility.
Travel trade
  • Reservation required
  • Available all season long for group upon reservation
  • Available in french and english

Grant

Experiences offered by Parks Canada are part of the culture and education resource directory. Financial support from the Government of Québec can be provided. For fur ther information, please contact the Ministère de l’Éducation et de l’Enseignement supérieur.

En compagnie d’un animateur-guide de Parcs Canada, plongez dans l’histoire de la Grosse-Île. Comment a-t-on tenté d’y contrer les épidémies provenant d’Europe? Quels sont les lieux qui témoignent le plus fidèlement de ce passé pas si lointain?

Suivez le guide du cimetière irlandais à la croix celtique, en passant par l’hôtel de première classe. Un train-balade vous emmène aussi à l’ancien village de Saint-Luc-de-la-Grosse-Île et au secteur des hôpitaux. Découvrez les quartiers autrefois réservés aux employés et à leur famille. Admirez la chapelle catholique, la chapelle anglicane et la maison de l’officier des travaux publics. C’est dans ce secteur que vous trouverez le lazaret, construit en 1847. Ce bâtiment, l’un des plus anciens de l’île, représente l’ultime témoin de la tragédie irlandaise.

Dates

Disponible durant toute la saison pour les groupes. Réservation à l'avance requise. 

Consulter l'horaire complet pour connaître les heures d'ouverture

Prix

Veuillez noter que des frais de transport pour se rendre à Grosse-Île s'ajoutent aux droits d'entrée de Parcs Canada. Nous vous invitions à contacter les Croisières Lachance pour plus de détails.

Droits d'entrée de Parcs Canada : 4,90 $ par élève
Frais de transport : 26,44 $ par élève

Détails

Durée: 6 heures

Réservations

Vous devez réserver avec les Croisières Lachance. Toutefois, n'hésitez pas à nous contacter si vous avez des questions!

Téléphone : 418 234-8841
Adresse électronique :pc.evquebec-quebecve.pc@canada.ca

 

Professionnels de voyage
  • Réservation requise
  • Disponible toute la saison pour groupe sur réservation
  • Disponible en français et anglais



Subvention

Les expériences offertes par Parcs Canada font partie du Répertoire de ressources culture-éducation. Une aide financière du gouvernement du Québec peut être admissible. Pour toute information, veuillez consulter le site du ministère de l’Éducation et de l’Enseignement supérieur.