Table of contents

 

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Chief Executive Officer of Parks Canada, 2018

Cette publication est aussi disponible en français.

Issued also in French under the title:
Lieu historique national du Cercle-de-la-Garnison-de-Québec Énoncé de gestion 2018

  • Paper: R64-531/2018E
  • 978-0-660-27418-8
  • PDF: R64-531/2018E-PDF
  • 978-0-660-27417-1

For more information about the management statement or about the Québec Garrison Club National Historic Site of Canada:

Mailing address:
The Maillou House National Historic Site of Canada
2 D'Auteuil Street
Québec City, QC
Canada
G1R 5C2

Telephone:
418-648-7016

Fax:
418-648-2506


Front Cover Image Credits

Parks Canada

Recommendations

Recommended by:

Maryse Lavigne
Field Unit Superintendent
Québec Field Unit
Parks Canada

Background

Parks Canada manages one of the world’s most beautiful and vast networks of protected historic sites. Its mandate is to protect and enhance these places for the enjoyment of present and future generations. This management statement describes the approach Parks Canada intends to take and the objectives it has set for the Québec Garrison Club National Historic Site.

The Québec Garrison Club National Historic Site of Canada is located at 97 Saint-Louis Street, in the Historic District of Old Québec, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada deemed the Québec Garrison Club a site of national historical significance in June of 1999. This site commemorates the only military club in Canada to uphold the British colonial tradition of social gatherings between military officers and influential members of the civilian society. It is also an integral part of the Fortifications of Québec National Historic Site of Canada due to its association with Québec City’s defence system during the colonial period. The building housed the royal engineers who worked on the temporary citadel and the fortifications at the turn of the 19th century. The structures they built helped shape Old Québec’s current landscape.

The Québec Garrison Club has leased the premises since its foundation by officers of the Canadian militia in 1879.

The site includes the building itself, at the corner of the Côte de la Citadelle, as well as the messenger house in the courtyard, the well house, a shed, a garden, wooded grounds and parking spaces. It also includes numerous archaeological remains of the engineers’ courtyard dating back to the late 18th century and the first half of the 19th.

Still today, the Québec Garrison Club National Historic Site has a country feel due to the courtyard to the south, with its garden and wooded area developed in the late 19th century. The courtyard’s landscape features are in harmony with the site’s use and showcase the work put into this private club over a century ago.

As the owner of the site, Parks Canada contributes to preserving the building and its elements to convey the national historic site’s heritage values. Due to it being a private club, the site is only open to members and their guests.

Management approach

Parks Canada intends to continue applying a management approach that involves maintaining the heritage values unique to the Québec Garrison Club National Historic Site. The site will continue to be a protected heritage place that contributes to Old Québec’s hist0ric character, both as a social phenomenon and due to its buildings and landscaping, which complete the makeup of Québec City’s fortification system.

Parks Canada will take an approach that conveys the heritage values to the site’s occupants and to the general public, thus helping ensure that the cultural resources are respectfully preserved.

Parks Canada will encourage exchanges with the site’s occupants and their board of directors to inform them of the importance of preserving and passing down the value of the landscapes, landscape elements, buildings, archeological remains and artifacts.

Management objectives

Preservation and protection of the site’s built heritage

Parks Canada protects the cultural resources in heritage places in accordance with the Cultural Resource Management Policy and the Standards & Guidelines for the Conservation of Historic Places in Canada.

Furthermore, Parks Canada contributes to the preservation of the site’s heritage values:

  • Parks Canada and the occupants ensure that the building keeps its strong evocative power by always considering its cultural resources and their related values.
  • The buildings and structures of national historic significance are in stable condition or have been improved.

Conveyance of heritage values

Parks Canada ensures that the heritage values are effectively conveyed, to ensure that visitors can best grasp the significance of the cultural resources:

  • Parks Canada seeks to maintain the Québec Garrison Club’s current vocation, subordinate to the site’s historic values, by fostering dialogue and collaboration.
  • Collaboration procedures are developed with the occupants to convey the site’s heritage values to the public.

Maintenance and improvement of the cultural landscapes

The Québec Garrison Club National Historic Site has a country feel, thanks to work the club has carried out for more than 135 years. This involved developing the wooded area and creating spaces conducive to the social gatherings held at the time. Parks Canada helps ensure that the courtyard’s landscape features continue to be in harmony with the site’s purpose:

  • The identified cultural landscapes are maintained to preserve the site’s commemorative integrity, while taking into account the urban canopy and green space.
  • An inventory of the vegetation and its state of health is taken to maintain the landscape values associated with the national historic site.

Table des matières

 

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le directeur général de l’Agence Parcs Canada, 2018.

This publication is also available in English.
Québec Garrison Club National Historic Site of Canada Management Statement 2018

  • Papier : R64-531/2018F
  • 978-0-660-27420-1
  • PDF : R64-531/2018F-PDF
  • 978-0-660-27419-5

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur cet énoncé de gestion ou des questions connexes lieu historique national du Cercle-de-la-Garnison-de-Québec

Adresse postale :
Lieu historique national du Cercle-de-la-Garnison-de-Québec
2 D'Auteuil Street
Québec City, QC
Canada
G1R 5C2

Téléphone :
418-648-7016

Télécopie :
418-648-2506


Source des images de la page couverture

Parcs Canada

Recommendations

Recommandé par :

Maryse Lavigne
Directrice
Unité de gestion de Québec
Parcs Canada

Contexte

Parcs Canada gère l’un des réseaux de lieux historiques protégés parmi les plus beaux et les plus vastes du monde. Son mandat consiste à protéger et à mettre en valeur ces lieux pour que puissent en profiter les générations d’aujourd’hui et de demain. Le présent énoncé de gestion décrit l’approche de gestion de Parcs Canada ainsi que les objectifs à atteindre pour le lieu historique national du Cercle-de-la-Garnison-de-Québec.

Le lieu historique national du Canada du Cercle-de-la-Garnison-de-Québec est situé au 97, rue Saint-Louis, dans l’arrondissement historique du Vieux-Québec, patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO. La Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada a reconnu l’importance historique nationale de ce lieu en juin 1999. Ce site commémore le seul cercle militaire au Canada à perpétuer la tradition issue de la période coloniale britannique, qui consiste à rassembler les officiers militaires dans un endroit propice à la vie mondaine. Il fait partie intégrante du lieu historique national du Canada des Fortifications-de-Québec, car il est associé au système défensif de Québec à la période coloniale. En effet, le bâtiment témoigne de l’occupation du site par les ingénieurs royaux chargés des travaux effectués à la Citadelle temporaire et aux fortifications de Québec au début du 19e siècle. L’oeuvre de ces militaires a contribué à modeler le paysage actuel du Vieux-Québec.

Le Cercle de la Garnison de Québec est locataire des lieux depuis sa fondation, en 1879, par des officiers de la milice canadienne.

Le lieu comprend l’édifice proprement dit, se trouvant au coin de la côte de la Citadelle, de même que la maison du messager bâtie dans la cour, le pavillon du puits, une remise, un jardin, un boisé et des espaces de stationnement. Il comporte, en outre, plusieurs vestiges archéologiques de la cour des ingénieurs datant de la fin du 18e siècle et de la première moitié du 19e siècle.

Aujourd’hui, comme à l’époque, le lieu historique national du Cercle-de-la-Garnison-de-Québec revêt un caractère champêtre du côté de la cour, au sud, grâce à son jardin et à son boisé aménagés à la fin du 19e siècle. Les caractéristiques du paysage de la cour s’harmonisent avec la fonction du site et traduisent les efforts d’aménagement de ce club privé depuis plus d’un siècle.

À titre de propriétaire du lieu, Parcs Canada contribue à la conservation du bâtiment et de ses composantes afin que les valeurs commémoratives de ce lieu historique national soient transmises. En raison de son caractère de club privé, le site est accessible uniquement aux membres et à leurs invités.

Approche de gestion

L’intention de Parcs Canada est de poursuivre l’approche de gestion consistant à maintenir des valeurs patrimoniales propres au lieu historique national du Cercle-de-la-Garnison-de-Québec. Le site continuera à être un espace patrimonial protégé qui contribue au caractère historique du Vieux-Québec, tant comme phénomène social que par ses édifices et ses aménagements paysagers, et qui complète la composition du système défensif des fortifications de Québec.

Parcs Canada favorisera une approche visant à communiquer les valeurs patrimoniales aux occupants du lieu ainsi qu’au grand public, contribuant ainsi au maintien du respect des ressources culturelles.

Parcs Canada favorisera les échanges avec les occupants et les membres du conseil d’administration du lieu afin de les sensibiliser à l’importance de conserver et de transmettre les valeurs reliées aux paysages, aux éléments paysagers, aux bâtiments, aux ouvrages, aux vestiges archéologiques et aux objets.

Objectifs de gestion

Conservation et protection des biens bâtis du lieu patrimonial

Parcs Canada protège les ressources culturelles situées dans les lieux patrimoniaux, conformément à la Politique sur la gestion des ressources culturelles et aux Normes et lignes directrices pour la conservation des lieux patrimoniaux au Canada.

De plus, Parcs Canada contribue à la préservation des valeurs patrimoniales du lieu.

  • Parcs Canada et les occupants s'assurent que le bâtiment continue de posséder un puissant pouvoir d’évocation en prenant constamment en considération les ressources culturelles et les valeurs qui s’y rattachent.
  • L’état global de conservation des bâtiments et des structures d’importance historique nationale demeure stable ou est amélioré.

Communication des valeurs patrimoniales

Parcs Canada s’assure que les valeurs patrimoniales soient efficacement communiquées afin de faciliter la rencontre entre le visiteur et les ressources culturelles.

  • Parcs Canada cherche à maintenir la vocation actuelle du Cercle de la Garnison de Québec, subordonnée aux valeurs historiques du lieu, en favorisant le dialogue et la collaboration.
  • Des mécanismes de collaboration sont établis en vue de favoriser la communication des valeurs patrimoniales au public.

Entretien et amélioration des paysages culturels

Le lieu historique national du Cercle-de-la-Garnison-de-Québec tient son caractère champêtre des efforts effectués par le club depuis plus de 135 ans pour l’aménagement du boisé et d’espaces propices au déroulement d’activités de loisir représentant la vie mondaine de l’époque. Parcs Canada contribue à ce que les caractéristiques paysagères de la cour continue de s’harmoniser avec la fonction du site.

  • Les paysages culturels identifiés sont entretenus afin de conserver la valeur commémorative du lieu, tout en tenant compte de la canopée urbaine et de l’espace vert.
  • Un inventaire et un bulletin de santé de la végétation sont effectués de manière à maintenir les valeurs paysagères associées au lieu historique national.