Table of contents

management plan cover photo

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Chief Executive Officer of Parks Canada, 2018

Cette publication est aussi disponible en français.

Library and Archives Canada Cataloguing in Publication

  • Parks Canada

Issued also in French under the title:
Lieu historique national du Canada de la Maison Maillou Énoncé de gestion 2018

  • Paper: R64 533/2018F
  • 978-0-660-27428-7
  • PDF: R64 533/2018F-PDF
  • 978-0-660-27427-0

For more information about the management statement or about the Maillou House National Historic Site of Canada:

Mailing address:
The Maillou House National Historic Site of Canada
2 D'Auteuil Street
Québec City, QC
Canada
G1R 5C2

Telephone:
418-648-7016

Fax:
418-648-2506


Front Cover Image Credits

Parks Canada

Recommendations

Recommended by:

Maryse Lavigne
Field Unit Superintendent
Québec Field Unit
Parks Canada

Background

Parks Canada manages one of the world’s most beautiful and vast networks of protected historic sites. Its mandate is to protect and enhance these places for the enjoyment of present and future generations. This management statement describes the approach Parks Canada intends to take and the objectives it has set for the Maillou House National Historic Site.

Maillou House is located at 17 Saint-L0uis Street in the Historic District of Old Québec, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada deemed Maillou House a site of national historical and architectural significance in November of 1958 and a commemorative plaque was affixed to the building. The house is a good example of French architecture in Canada, in addition to having been home to key figures in the country’s history. It is also associated with the British Army’s presence starting in 1815, more particularly during the colonial period, and the Commissariat, an important branch of that army. It is an integral part of the Fortifications of Québec National Historic Site of Canada.

The site includes the house itself and the property on which it stands, its extension, its two outbuildings and the archeological remains of buildings dating back to the 18th and 19th centuries. All of the cultural resources associated with the Maillou House National Historic Site, which includes the archeological and ethnological collections and the remains of the archeological sites, are on Parks Canada property.

In December of 1990, the Federal Heritage Buildings Review Office recognized Maillou House for its architectural, aesthetic and functional qualities, for the state of preservation of the elements characteristic of each era represented, both inside and outside the building, and for its contribution to Old Québec’s built environment.

From 1959 to 2017, Québec City’s chamber of commerce had its administrative offices in Maillou House. Its outbuildings have been rented to a restaurant since 1960.

Parks Canada has invested more than $3 M in Maillou House over the last 10 years. The roof was redone in 2010 and the exterior cladding, doors and windows were completely restored in 2016–2017.

While no tours of Maillou House are currently offered, the outbuildings used by the restaurant and the outdoor spaces are open to the public.

Management approach

Parks Canada will continue managing the Maillou House National Historic Site as a model of French architecture in Canada and restore its characteristic elements without a specific enhancement or interpretation program.

Parks Canada will convey Maillou House’s heritage values and spread key message unique to the site by forging ties with national historic sites with similar themes, such as the Fortifications of Québec National Historic Site and the Saint-Louis Forts and Châteaux National Historic Site. For this purpose, Parks Canada will develop communication products intended for digital media, which will allow it to develop collaborative ties with other stakeholders.

Management objectives

Preservation and maintenance of cultural resources:

The historic site’s cultural resources, including the archeological resources onsite and the cultural landscapes, are protected and unthreatened.

  • Parks Canada personnel periodically inspects the site to ensure that the property remains in good condition.
  • The building’s characteristic elements are taken into consideration in determining its vocation.

Understanding and conveyance of heritage values:

The key messages convey the historic site’s heritage significance and its contribution to Québec City’s cultural landscape.

  • The key messages are spread via digital media and the ties forged with other historic sites with similar themes.
  • Parks Canada raises user awareness of the importance of preserving the value of the historic site’s landscapes, building, remains of archeological sites and artifacts.

Table des matières

 

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le directeur général de l’Agence Parcs Canada, 2018.

This publication is also available in English.
Maillou House National Historic Site of Canada Management Statement 2018

  • Papier : R64 533/2018F
  • 978-0-660-27428-7
  • PDF : R64 533/2018F-PDF
  • 978-0-660-27427-0

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur cet énoncé de gestion ou des questions connexes lieu historique national du Canada de la Maison-Maillou

Adresse postale :
Lieu historique national du Canada de la Maison-Maillou
2 D'Auteuil Street
Québec City, QC
Canada
G1R 5C2

Téléphone :
418-648-7016

Télécopie :
418-648-2506


Source des images de la page couverture

Parcs Canada

Recommendations

Recommandé par :

Maryse Lavigne
Directrice
Unité de gestion de Québec
Parcs Canada

Contexte

Parcs Canada gère l’un des réseaux de lieux historiques protégés parmi les plus beaux et les plus vastes du monde. Son mandat consiste à protéger et à mettre en valeur ces lieux pour que puissent en profiter les générations d’aujourd’hui et de demain. Le présent énoncé de gestion décrit l’approche de gestion de Parcs Canada ainsi que les objectifs à atteindre pour le lieu historique national de la Maison-Maillou.

La maison Maillou est située au 17, rue Saint-Louis, dans l’arrondissement historique du Vieux-Québec, site du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO. La Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada a reconnu l’importance historique et architecturale nationale de la maison Maillou en novembre 1958, et une plaque commémorative est apposée sur l’édifice. Cette maison constitue un bon exemple de l’architecture française au Canada en plus d’avoir servi de résidence à des personnages importants dans l’histoire du pays. Cette habitation est aussi associée à la présence militaire depuis 1815 et, plus particulièrement, à la période coloniale et à l’Intendance militaire (Commissariat), une branche importante de l’organisation de l’armée britannique. Elle fait partie intégrante du lieu historique national des Fortifications-de-Québec.

Le lieu désigné comprend la maison elle-même et le terrain où elle se trouve, son allonge, ses deux dépendances et des vestiges archéologiques de bâtiments datant des 18e et 19e siècles. Toutes les ressources culturelles associées au lieu historique national de la Maison-Maillou, qui comprennent les collections archéologiques et ethnologiques ainsi que les vestiges des sites archéologiques, se trouvent sur la propriété de Parcs Canada.

En décembre 1990, le Bureau d’examen des édifices fédéraux du patrimoine a reconnu la maison Maillou pour ses qualités architecturales, esthétiques et fonctionnelles, pour l’état de conservation des éléments caractéristiques de chaque époque, tant à l’extérieur qu’à l’intérieur, et pour sa contribution à l’environnement bâti du Vieux-Québec.

De 1959 à 2017, la Chambre de commerce de Québec y a abrité ses bureaux administratifs. Depuis 1960, les dépendances sont louées pour abriter un commerce de restauration.

Parcs Canada a investi plus de trois millions de dollars dans la Maison Maillou au cours des dix dernières années. En 2010, la toiture a été refaite, tandis qu’en 2016-2017, le parement extérieur, les portes et les fenêtres ont été entièrement restaurés.

Actuellement, aucune visite du lieu historique national de la Maison-Maillou n’est offerte au grand public. Les dépendances, où sont localisés le restaurant et les espaces extérieurs, sont cependant accessibles au grand public.

Approche de gestion

Parcs Canada continuera de gérer le lieu historique national de la Maison-Maillou en tant qu’exemple représentatif de l’architecture française au Canada et en restaurant ses éléments caractéristiques, sans toutefois qu’il y ait un programme de mise en valeur ou d’interprétation spécifique.

Parcs Canada transmettra les valeurs patrimoniales et diffusera des messages clés propres au lieu en établissant des liens avec des lieux historiques nationaux qui véhiculent des thèmes semblables, tels que le lieu historique national des Fortifications-de-Québec et le lieu historique national des Forts-et-Châteaux-Saint-Louis. Pour ce faire, Parcs Canada mettra au point des produits de communications destinés aux médias numériques. À cet effet, Parcs Canada pourra nouer des liens de collaboration avec d’autres intervenants.

Objectifs de gestion

Conservation et entretien des ressources culturelles

Les ressources culturelles du lieu historique, y compris les ressources archéologiques sur place et les paysages culturels, sont protégées et à l’abri de toute menace.

  • Le personnel de Parcs Canada procède périodiquement à une inspection des lieux pour s’assurer que la propriété demeure en bon état.
  • Les éléments caractéristiques du bâtiment sont considérés dans la recherche d’une vocation.

Compréhension et communication des valeurs patrimoniales

Les messages clés communiquent l’importance patrimoniale du lieu historique et son apport dans le paysage culturel de la Ville de Québec.

  • Les messages clés sont diffusés par les médias numériques et par des liens établis avec d’autres lieux historiques véhiculant des thèmes semblables.
  • Parcs Canada sensibilise les usagers à l’importance de conserver les valeurs relatives aux paysages, au bâtiment, aux vestiges archéologiques et aux objets associés au lieu historique.