Table of contents

management plan cover photo

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Chief Executive Officer of Parks Canada, 2020.

Cette publication est aussi disponible en français.
Lieu historique national du Canada du 57–63, rue Saint-Louis Énoncé de gestion 2020.

  • Paper: R64-532/2020E
  • 978-0-660-34213-9
  • PDF: R64-532/2020E-PDF
  • 978-0-660-34212-2

For more information on this management statement or related matters:

Mailing address:
   Location: 57–63 St. Louis Street National Historic Site
     2 D'Auteuil Street
     Québec City, QC
     Canada
     G1R 5C2

Telephone:
   Phone number: 418-648-7016

Fax:
   Fax number: 418-648-2506


Front cover image credits

Jean Gagnon, https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:57-63_rue_Saint-Louis_Quebec_-_16.jpg, licenced under CC BY-SA 3.0

Recommendations

Recommended by:

Maryse Lavigne
Field Unit Superintendent
Québec Field Unit
Parks Canada


Background

Parks Canada manages one of the world’s most beautiful and vast networks of protected historic sites. Its mandate is to protect and enhance these places for the enjoyment of present and future generations. This management statement describes the approach Parks Canada intends to take and the objectives it has set for the 57–63 St. Louis Street National Historic Site.

The 57–63 St. Louis Street National Historic Site is located in the Historic District of Old Québec, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, and is an integral part of the Fortifications of Québec National Historic Site. It was designated by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada in 1969 because these buildings are part of an important urban panorama.

The 57–63 St. Louis Street National Historic Site comprises undeveloped land (lot 2 400 198 of the Quebec cadastre) between St. Louis and St. Geneviève streets and land (lot 2 400 199) on which three buildings are erected. Two other lots are also part of the site (lots 35 248 32 and 35 248 33Footnote 1). The latter correspond to Corps-de-Garde Street and its extension.

Lot 2 400 199 is owned by National Defence. Lots 2 400 198 and 3 524 832 were transferred to Parks Canada in 2006 through an agreement with National Defence to allow the Ville de Québec to offer a green space accessible to residents and visitors within the Historic District. In 2019, Parks Canada and the Ville de Québec entered into a 25-year lease beginning May 1, 2020, under which the City leases from Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada the spaces located at 57 B St. Louis Street, known and designated as lots 2 400 198 and 3 524 832, in order to carry out an urban park project.

The 57–63 St. Louis Street National Historic Site is a major example of the 18th-century French Regime architectural and landscape values within the historic townscape of Old Québec. The buildings, located at 57 and 63 St. Louis Street, have long formed a single property with the building at 59–61, which was built in the early 18th century and enlarged in 1796. In 1811, the entire property was sold to the British government for use as an officers’ residence. Initially owned by the social and political elite, these buildings were used for almost two centuries to house officers.

The heritage value of the site resides in the consistent streetscape created by this grouping of buildings dating from the French Regime, and their contribution to the larger cultural landscape of Old Québec. The house and its extensions have continued to reflect the architectural forms, materials, and spatial relationships of the early 19th century. The 57–63 St. Louis Street National Historic Site is one of the oldest groupings of buildings in the city, bearing witness to the military presence on the site and to Québec City’s role as a garrison town.

Map 1: Regional map

Regional map – Text version

The 57–63 St. Louis Street National Historic Site comprises undeveloped land (lot 2 400 198 of the Quebec cadastre) between St. Louis and St. Geneviève streets and land (lot 2 400 199) on which three buildings are erected. Two other lots are also part of the site (lots 35 248 32 and 35 248 33). The latter correspond to Corps-de-Garde Street and its extension. Lot 2 400 199 is owned by National Defence.


    Background: Quebec City Interactive Map


Management approach

Parks Canada will continue to communicate the heritage values of the site. This will include both development of the new urban park, led by the Ville de Québec, and maintenance of the residential function of the buildings owned by National Defence.

Given its many stakeholders, the management of the 57–63 St. Louis Street National Historic Site requires an overall management approach centred on collaboration.


Management objectives

Parks Canada protects cultural resources located in heritage sites in accordance with the Cultural Resource Management Policy and the Standards and Guidelines for the Conservation of Historic Places in Canada.

Communication of the reasons for designation:

The reasons for designation are effectively communicated to the public.

With the agreement with the Ville de Québec, the site is accessible to the public and therefore serves as a reminder of the heritage values connected to the 57–63 St. Louis Street National Historic Site.

  • Parks Canada works with the Ville de Québec to ensure that the values are communicated to the designers and users of the future Corps-de-Garde Park.
  • Parks Canada shares its knowledge with owners and tenants regarding the values related to the cultural resources that make up the Fortifications of Québec National Historic Site, of which the 57–63 St. Louis Street National Historic Site is a part.
  • Management decisions are based on relevant and reliable information and are made in accordance with the principles and practice of the Cultural Resource Management Policy.

Decisions recognizing and adhering to heritage values:

The 57–63 St. Louis Street National Historic Site is an integral part of the Fortifications of Québec National Historic Site. The buildings continue to have great evocative power when the cultural resources and related values are recognized and respected in decision-making processes.

  • Parks Canada encourages discussions with the owners and tenants of the site to make them aware of the importance of conserving and transmitting the values related to cultural resources.
  • Parks Canada supports National Defence in its efforts to ensure that the site’s values and character-defining elements are considered in the buildings’ administration and occupancy.

Conservation and protection of the historic site’s built assets:

The overall state of conservation of buildings and structures of national historic significance remains stable or is being improved. Architectural decisions and changes are subject to the historic values of the site, with special attention to dialogue and collaboration.

  • Parks Canada notifies owners that the preservation of heritage value depends on appropriate and regular maintenance.
  • Parks Canada informs the building occupants and owners about the character-defining elementsFootnote 2 of the site and is alert to the impact that changes may have on the heritage value of the site.

Table des matières

management plan cover photo

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le directeur général de l’Agence Parcs Canada, 2020.

Issued also in English under the title:
57-63 St. Louis National Historic Site of Canada Management Statement 2020

  • Papier: R64-532/2020F
  • 978-0-660-34215-3
  • PDF: R64-532/2020F-PDF
  • 978-0-660-34214-6

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur cet énoncé de gestion ou pour des questions connexes

Addresse :
   Location: Lieu historique national du 57-63, rue Saint-Louis
     2, rue D'Auteuil
     Québec (Québec) G1R 5C2
     Canada

Tél. :
   Phone number: 418-648-7016

Téléc. :
   Fax number: 418-648-2506


Source de l’image de la page couverture

Jean Gagnon, https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:57-63_rue_Saint-Louis_Quebec_-_16.jpg, autorisé sous licence CC BY-SA 3.0

Recommandations

Recommandé par :

Maryse Lavigne
Directrice
Unité de gestion de Québec
Parcs Canada


Contexte

Parcs Canada gère l’un des réseaux de lieux historiques protégés parmi les plus beaux et les plus vastes du monde. Son mandat consiste à protéger et à mettre en valeur ces lieux pour que puissent en profiter les générations d’aujourd’hui et de demain. Le présent énoncé de gestion décrit l’approche de gestion de Parcs Canada ainsi que les objectifs à atteindre pour le lieu historique national du 57-63, rue Saint-Louis.

Le lieu historique national du 57-63 de la rue Saint-Louis est situé dans l’arrondissement historique du Vieux-Québec, site du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO, et fait partie intégrante du lieu historique national des Fortifications-de-Québec. Il a été désigné en 1969 par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada parce que les bâtiments qui le composent s’inscrivent dans un panorama urbain important.

Le lieu historique national du 57-63 de la rue Saint-Louis comprend un terrain non bâti (lot 2 400 198 du cadastre de Québec) entre les rues Saint-Louis et Sainte-Geneviève, et un terrain (lot 2 400 199) sur lequel sont érigés trois bâtiments. Deux autres lots en font également partie (lots 35 248 32 et 35 248 33Footnote 1). Ces derniers correspondent à la rue du Corps-de-Garde et à son prolongement.

Le lot 2 400 199 est la propriété du ministère de la Défense nationale. Quant aux lots 2 400 198 et 3 524 832, ils ont été transférés à Parcs Canada en 2006 par le biais d’une entente avec le ministère de la Défense nationale, afin de permettre à la Ville de Québec d’offrir un espace vert accessible aux résidents et visiteurs au sein de l’arrondissement historique. En 2019, Parcs Canada et la Ville de Québec ont conclu un bail d’une durée de 25 ans débutant le 1er mai 2020 et selon lequel la Ville loue de Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada des espaces situés au 57-B, rue Saint-Louis, connus et désignés comme étant les lots 2 400 198 et 3 524 832, afin de concrétiser un projet de parc urbain.

Le lieu historique national du 57-63, rue Saint-Louis constitue un exemple important des valeurs architecturales et paysagères du XVIIIe siècle associées au Régime français dans le paysage historique du Vieux-Québec. Les bâtiments, situés au 57 et au 63, rue Saint-Louis, ont longtemps formé une seule propriété avec l’édifice du 59-61 construit au début du XVIIIe siècle et agrandi en 1796. En 1811, la propriété entière a été vendue au gouvernement britannique, qui en a fait une résidence pour officiers. D’abord propriété de l’élite sociale et politique, ces bâtiments ont servi pendant près de deux siècles à loger des officiers.

La valeur patrimoniale du site réside dans le paysage de rue uniforme que crée ce groupe de bâtiments datant du Régime français et dans leur contribution à l’ensemble du paysage culturel du Vieux-Québec. La maison et ses dépendances ont conservé les formes architecturales, les matériaux et l’organisation spatiale qu’elles avaient au début du XIXe siècle. Le lieu historique national du 57-63, rue Saint-Louis compte parmi les ensembles les plus anciens de la ville en plus de témoigner de la présence des militaires sur le site et de rappeler le rôle de Québec comme ville de garnison.

Carte 1 : Cadre régional

Carte 1 : Cadre régional – Version texte

Le lieu historique national du 57-63 de la rue Saint-Louis comprend un terrain non bâti (lot 2 400 198 du cadastre de Québec) entre les rues Saint-Louis et Sainte-Geneviève, et un terrain (lot 2 400 199) sur lequel sont érigés trois bâtiments. Deux autres lots en font également partie (lots 35 248 32 et 35 248 33). Ces derniers correspondent à la rue du Corps-de-Garde et à son prolongement. Le lot 2 400 199 est la propriété du ministère de la Défense nationale.


    Source : carte interactive de la Ville de Québec


Approche de gestion

L’intention de Parcs Canada est de poursuivre la communication des valeurs patrimoniales propres au lieu historique, tant dans l’aménagement du nouveau parc urbain, piloté par la Ville de Québec, que dans le maintien de la fonction résidentielle des bâtiments, propriétés du ministère de la Défense nationale.

Étant donné la multitude d’intervenants, la gestion du lieu historique national 57-63, rue Saint-Louis requiert une approche globale de gestion axée sur la collaboration.


Objectifs de gestion

Parcs Canada protège les ressources culturelles situées dans les lieux patrimoniaux, conformément à la Politique sur la gestion des ressources culturelles et aux Normes et lignes directrices pour la conservation des lieux patrimoniaux au Canada.

Communication des motifs qui justifient la désignation :

Les motifs qui justifient la désignation du lieu sont efficacement communiqués.

Grâce à l’entente avec la Ville de Québec, le site devient accessible au public et, par conséquent, demeure évocateur des valeurs patrimoniales relatives au lieu historique national du 57-63, rue Saint-Louis.

  • Parcs Canada travaille avec la Ville de Québec pour que les valeurs soient communiquées aux concepteurs et usagers du futur parc du Corps-de-Garde.
  • Parcs Canada partage ses connaissances avec les propriétaires et les locataires sur les valeurs reliées aux ressources culturelles composant le lieu historique national des Fortifications-de-Québec, auquel est lié le lieu historique national du 57-63, rue Saint-Louis.
  • Les décisions de gestion sont fondées sur des renseignements pertinents et fiables et sont prises conformément aux principes et à la pratique de la Politique sur la gestion des ressources culturelles.

Reconnaissance et respect des valeurs patrimoniales dans les décisions :

Le lieu historique national du 57-63, rue Saint-Louis fait partie intégrante du lieu historique national des Fortifications-de-Québec. Les bâtiments continuent de posséder un puissant pouvoir d’évocation lorsque les ressources culturelles et les valeurs qui s’y rattachent sont reconnues et respectées dans les processus décisionnels.

  • Parcs Canada favorise les échanges avec les propriétaires et les locataires du lieu afin de les sensibiliser à l’importance de conserver et de transmettre les valeurs reliées aux ressources culturelles.
  • Parcs Canada appuie le ministère de la Défense nationale dans ses interventions pour que les valeurs et les éléments caractéristiques du lieu soient considérés dans l’administration et l’occupation des logements.

Conservation et protection des biens bâtis du lieu patrimonial :

TL’état global de conservation des bâtiments et des structures d’importance historique nationale demeure stable ou est amélioré. Les décisions et modifications architecturales sont subordonnées aux valeurs historiques du lieu, en favorisant le dialogue et la collaboration.

  • Parcs Canada signifie aux propriétaires que la préservation de la valeur patrimoniale repose sur un entretien approprié et régulier.
  • Parcs Canada renseigne les occupants et les propriétaires des bâtiments sur les éléments caractéristiquesFootnote 2 du site et demeure à l’affût des conséquences que des modifications pourraient avoir sur la valeur patrimoniale du lieu.