Joseph-Octave Dion is in front of his house built against the west curtain of the fort Joseph-Octave Dion, first curator of fort Chambly
© National Archives of Canada / P1000, S4

Joseph-Octave Dion (1838-1916) was born in Chambly and studied at the college there. Around the age of 18, he moved to Montreal and entered the world of journalism. Over the years he would become editor of different newspapers in succession: Nouveau-Monde, La Minerve, Étendard . He also wrote for La Patrie and the Monde illustré . Later he came back to Chambly as a correspondent for La Minerve .

In 1875, Dion started developing an interest in saving the old fort that had greatly deteriorated over the years. He loved history and was a regular contributor to the Bulletin des recherches historiques . He also had an interest in horticulture and was an avid promoter of colonization and agriculture.

Joseph-Octave Dion was at the heart of the ideological change that was taking place in French Canadian society. He became an ardent defender of the traditional model of rural Christianity in this land. He would devout the rest of his life to the saving and restoration of fort Chambly.

Towards the end of his career, Joseph-Octave Dion was honoured by the Ministry of Public Instruction of France and was named an Officer of the Academy. He died on February 12, 1916, at fort Chambly where he had lived for nearly 35 years.

There is no doubt that without his devotion to saving this precious artefact of New France, fort Chambly would be but a mere memory.

Monsieur Joseph-Octave Dion est photographié devant sa maison construite à même les murs du fort Joseph-Octave Dion, premier restaurateur du fort Chambly
© Archives Nationales du Canada / P1000, S4

Né à Chambly, Joseph-Octave Dion (1838-1916) fait ses études au collège de cette ville. Vers l'âge de 18 ans, il déménage à Montréal où il entre dans le monde du journalisme. Il est successivement rédacteur au Nouveau-Monde, à La Minerve et à l'Étendard . Puis, il entre à La Patrie et au Monde illustré . Enfin, il revient à Chambly comme correspondant de La Minerve .

À partir de 1875, Dion commence à s'intéresser à la sauvegarde du vieux fort déjà très détérioré. Passionné d'histoire, il collabore régulièrement au Bulletin des recherches historiques . Il s'intéresse également à l'horticulture et se fait apôtre de la colonisation et de l'agriculture.

Joseph-Octave Dion est au centre du tournant idéologique de la société canadienne-française. Il devient l'ardent défenseur du modèle traditionnel de la chrétienté rurale en terre laurentienne. Toute son oeuvre porte la marque de son idéologie. Ainsi, il vouera le reste de sa vie à la sauvegarde et à la restauration du fort Chambly.

Vers la fin de sa carrière, Joseph-Octave Dion obtient les palmes du ministère de l'Instruction publique de France : il est nommé Officier d'académie. Le 12 février 1916, il meurt au fort Chambly, après y avoir demeuré près de 35 ans.

Nul doute que sans son grand dévouement à la sauvegarde de ce précieux témoin de la Nouvelle-France, le fort Chambly ne serait plus qu'un souvenir.