Smuggling, outsmart the exhibition

Map of the Richelieu River, the Lake Champlain and the Hudson River

Illegal or legitimate? Trade between Montreal and Albany, 1716-1755

Through this interactive exhibition of which you are the hero, welcome to the unrecognized world of smuggling in the 18th century! The French-owned East India Company held the exclusive right to beaver fur trade in New France at that time.

Find out how the merchants of Montreal got around this privilege. Under the noses of the authorities, part of the colony's beaver trade made its way to the British colony of New York in exchange for English products. This illegal trade was based on a well-organized network of relationships between the settlers of European origin and the Indigenous Nations. Smuggling is more than a simple commercial activity. It allowed the flow of information and helped maintain alliances with the Indigenous peoples of the region as well as the strategic balance between the colonies. It was also the story of relationships between the different populations of an immense territory.



Exhibition: Mr. Dion, a saviour of the fort!

A saviour at the fort poster. Exhibit poster

Discover an exhibition to showcase the efforts to preserve Fort Chambly by a visionary man named Joseph-Octave Dion. Filled with the burning desire to save a silent witness to the French presence in Canada, Dion begins, in 1866, to do all he can to ensure the fort's restoration.


The fort

Immerse yourself in history and you will remember all your life Immerse yourself in history and you will remember all your life

The fort presents thematic exhibitions that chronicle the history of New France.

Venture into the heart of the fort and discover its mysteries: its military role in various conflicts, the activities of its garrison, its relationship with the population of the Chambly seigneury, and its architectural evolution. Meet Joseph-Octave Dion, a resident of Chambly who became the great curator of the old fort.

Models, 3D recreations, sound clips, interactive terminals, artifacts and video clips are there to enliven the visit.

Contrebande, une exposition à déjouer

Carte de la rivière Richelieu, du lac Champlain et de l'Hudson

Illégal ou légitime ? Le commerce entre Montréal et Albany, 1716-1755

À travers cette exposition interactive dont vous êtes le héros, entrez dans l’univers méconnu de la contrebande au 18e siècle! Une compagnie française, la Compagnie des Indes, détient alors l’exclusivité du commerce de la fourrure de castors en Nouvelle-France.

Découvrez comment des marchands et marchandes de Montréal contournent ce privilège. Sous le nez des autorités, une partie du castor de la colonie prend le chemin de la colonie britannique du New York en échange de produits anglais. Ce commerce illégal repose sur un réseau bien organisé de relations entre les colons d’origine européenne et les Nations autochtones. Plus qu’une simple activité commerciale, la contrebande permet la circulation d’informations et contribue au maintien des alliances avec les Autochtones de la région, ainsi qu’à l’équilibre stratégique entre les colonies. C’est aussi l’histoire de liens tissés entre les différentes populations d’un immense territoire.



Exposition : «Monsieur Dion, un sauveur du fort !»

Affiche de l'exposition un sauveur du fort! Affiche de l'exposition

Découvrez cette exposition qui présente l’œuvre de préservation et de conservation du fort Chambly portée par un visionnaire, M. Joseph-Octave Dion. Animé par le désir de sauvegarder ce témoin de la présence française au Canada, à partir de 1866, ce dernier multiplie les démarches pour entreprendre la restauration du fort.

 



Le fort

Plongez dans l'histoire et vous vous en souviendrez toute votre vie Plongez dans l'histoire et vous vous en souviendrez toute votre vie.

Sur deux étages, le fort étale ses souvenirs pour vous faire découvrir ses secrets. Au cours de cette visite autonome, explorez les différentes thématiques qui racontent la Nouvelle-France.

Percez tous les mystères de la fortification: son rôle militaire dans les différents conflits, les activités de sa garnison, ses relations avec la population de la seigneurie de Chambly et son évolution architecturale.

Faites aussi la rencontre de Joseph-Octave Dion, un résident de Chambly qui est devenu le premier conservateur du vieux fort.

Maquettes, scènes en trois dimensions, trames sonores, bornes interactives, artefacts et vidéo agrémentent la visite.