The health and safety of Canadians, visitors and Parks Canada team members is our top priority. In June and July, some Parks Canada places began a safe, gradual reopening of outdoor areas, some camping services, and some indoor areas at national historic sites.

We are only opening places and activities where risks can be managed, according to the advice of public health experts. For your safety, at all times, avoid all places and areas that are closed.

Openings and services differ across the country. Please check the Parks Canada national information portal dedicated to COVID-19 for regular updates.

We continue to deliver services critical for Canadians, including highway maintenance, fire response, dam operations and water management on historic waterways, and avalanche control, among others.

Update for July 30, 2020 - Non-medical masks and face coverings

We strongly encourage all visitors to wear a non-medical mask or face covering when visiting indoor public spaces at any Parks Canada place. When you visit a Parks Canada place, you may see signs reminding you that this is what we recommend.

An indoor public space is any space with walls and a roof that can be accessed by the members of the public.

If a Parks Canada place is within a jurisdiction where wearing a non-medical mask or face covering is mandatory, visitors will be asked to follow this requirement.

The latest information you need to know about your visit to Sir George-Étienne Cartier National Historic Site 

The health and safety of Canadians, visitors, and Parks Canada team members is of the utmost importance to the Agency. Parks Canada will continue to monitor the situation and put in place appropriate measures to help Canadians follow the advice of public health experts and to practice physical distancing and hygiene measures, limit public gatherings, as well as respect travel restrictions and closures.

Based on the analysis of public health recommendations, the Agency's guidelines and the site's environment, it would be very difficult for the Sir George-Étienne Cartier National Historic Site to accommodate the public while respecting physical distancing guidelines. During the tour, all the visitors are in the sole exhibit hall. Although skillfully designed to provide a quality experience, the site layout makes it impossible to observe the two metre requirement. For these reasons, Parks Canada has made the decision not to open this season.

However, it is still possible to learn more about Sir George-Étienne Cartier's story and achievements by visiting the “Culture” section of the Sir George-Étienne Cartier National Historic Site website.

Stay informed 

For the most up to date information, visit:

La santé et la sécurité des Canadiens, des visiteurs et des membres de l'équipe de Parcs Canada sont de la plus haute importance pour nous. En juin et juillet, certains lieux de Parcs Canada ont commencé une ouverture progressive et sécuritaire de certains emplacements extérieurs, certains services de camping et certains espaces intérieurs des lieux historiques.

Nous n’ouvrons que les lieux et n’offrons que les activités pour lesquels les risques sont gérés, et ce, conformément aux conseils des spécialistes de la santé publique. Pour votre sécurité, en tout temps évitez tous les endroits qui sont fermés.

Les ouvertures et services varient selon les régions du pays. Veuillez consulter le portail national d'information de Parcs Canada dédié à COVID-19 pour des mises à jour régulières.

Nous continuons de fournir des services critiques à l’intention des Canadiens, notamment l’entretien des routes, l’intervention en cas d’incendie, l’exploitation des barrages et la gestion de l’eau dans les voies navigables historiques et le contrôle des avalanches pour ne citer que ceux-ci.

Mise à jour du 30 juillet 2020 - Masques non médicaux et couvre-visages

Les visiteurs sont encouragés à porter un masque non médical ou un couvre-visage lorsqu’ils visitent des espaces publics intérieurs dans tout site de Parcs Canada. Lorsque vous visitez un site de Parcs Canada, vous pouvez voir des panneaux qui vous rappellent que c’est ce que nous recommandons.

Un espace public intérieur comprend tout espace avec des murs et un toit auquel le public a accès.

Si un site de Parcs Canada se trouve dans un endroit où le port d’un masque non médical ou d’un couvre-visage est obligatoire, les visiteurs seront priés de respecter cette exigence.

Les informations les plus récentes que vous devez savoir sur le Lieu historique national de Sir-George-Étienne-Cartier

La santé et la sécurité des Canadiens et Canadiennes, des visiteurs et des membres de l’équipe Parcs Canada est d’une importance primordiale pour l’Agence. Parcs Canada suit les conseils des experts en santé publique et prend des mesures pour appuyer les efforts du Canada visant à limiter la propagation de la COVID-19 et réduire les risques pour la population canadienne, les visiteurs et les employés.

Après l’analyse des recommandations de la santé publique, les orientations de l’Agence et l’environnement du site, le lieu historique national de Sir-George-Étienne-Cartier permettrait très difficilement d’accueillir le public en respectant les consignes de distanciation physique. Le parcours emprunté par les visiteurs les amène à se regrouper dans des espaces restreints où des guides leur donnent des explications sur les lieux. Pour toutes ces raisons, Parcs Canada a pris la décision de ne pas ouvrir cette saison.

Il demeure toutefois possible d’en apprendre davantage sur l’histoire de Sir-George-Étienne-Cartier et ses réalisations, en visitant la section « Culture » sur le site web du lieu historique national de Sir-George-Étienne-Cartier.

Restez informé 

Pour les informations les plus récentes, visitez :