Table of contents

 

An invitation to take part!

The Sir George-Étienne Cartier National Historic Site is planning its operations for upcoming years. To this end, we will be holding public consultations from June 6 to July 6 2018. I encourage you to take part in this process by sharing your thoughts and suggestions.

The purpose of this consultation is to give the partners, community stakeholders and general public an opportunity to get involved in the decision-making process related to managing this national historic site.

The management plan is the official document that will guide management of the historic site for the next ten years (2018–2028). It provides orientation for protecting cultural and natural resources, visitor experiences and public education.

This national historic site belongs to you! Join the Parks Canada team in developing a common vision and in protecting this national historic site, while encouraging visitors to discover this unique place.

Nadine Blackburn
Superintendent
Mauricie and Western Quebec Field Unit

Parks Canada’s Mandate

On behalf of the people of Canada, we protect and present nationally significant examples of Canada's natural and cultural heritage, and foster public understanding, appreciation and enjoyment in ways that ensure the ecological and commemorative integrity of these places for present and future generations.

Importance of the Sir George-Étienne Cartier National Historic Site

 

The national historic site, designated in 1964 by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada, consists of two adjoining houses that were owned by George-Étienne Cartier in the mid-nineteenth century. The Cartier houses were commemorated because:

  • These two houses together served as the residence of a major Canadian political figure, Sir George-Étienne Cartier.
  • Cartier was the Prime Minister of the Province of Canada from August 1858 to May 1862.
  • Cartier was one of the principal Fathers of Confederation.
  • Cartier was one of the most influential members of the first Canadian cabinet.

The semi-detached houses, acquired by Parks Canada in 1973, were recognized by the Federal Heritage Buildings Review Office (FHBRO) in 2006 for their heritage and architectural value. The site is also part of the Historic District of Old Montréal, a provincial designation that confers additional protection.

The West House is distinguished by its authentic Victorian decor and abundant ethnological collection, which includes more than 1,000 objects linked to Cartier and his entourage. These objects immerse the visitor in the life of Montréal bourgeoisie in the 1860s, and convey the personality, private life, and political career of Sir George-Étienne Cartier. Interpretation exhibitions are held in the East House. Visitors can learn about the historical context of the Confederation and the importance of Cartier’s political career.

Planning context

The national historic site opened its doors to the public in 1983. To date, conservation and development efforts have been carried out based on two previous management plans, the most recent of which has been in effect since 2007. Most of the management measures set out in the 2007 management plan were implemented.

Open to the public from mid-June to the end of December, the site can be visited in self-guided (individual) or guided (group) tours. Visitors can discover the history of the national historic site and the reasons for its designation by exploring the exhibitions inside the houses. In December, a special activity called “A Victorian Christmas” gave the public the opportunity to experience the holiday season as lived by the Montréal bourgeoisie in the 19th century.

Since 2012, interpretative tools have been made available to adapt the visitor experience and encourage self-guided tours. The visitor circuit was changed, the interpretation panels were updated, and signage was improved. “Imagine a Country,” an interactive exhibition showcasing the creation of modern Canada and the Confederation, helped modernize the visitor experience and strengthen the public’s sense of attachment to the site.

The national historic site works in collaboration with several partners, including the principal associations and history museums of Montréal, the Commission scolaire de Montréal, and the Institute for Canadian Citizenship.

To plan the future of the Sir George-Étienne Cartier National Historic Site of Canada, the Parks Canada Agency considered the site’s condition, the issues and possibilities, and the global trends influencing the site. Relationships with principal stakeholders and theirs interests were also considered in this management plan.

Two main issues were raised during the management plan’s development:

  • The decrease in visitor numbers. Between 2011 and 2013, the national historic site’s visitor numbers decreased by 67% (11,742 to 3,788) due to reduced opening hours, and again in 2015 following a decrease in school groups. However, since 2016, visitor numbers seem to be on the rise again, reaching 4,478 following changes to our opening hours and activities.
  • The geographic and thematic positioning of the national historic site. The site is located at the end of Old Montréal, in a secluded area rarely visited by tourists. What’s more, the abundance of museums in Old Montréal creates strong competition; the area includes major institutions (Pointe-à-Callière, Montréal Archeology and History Complex; the Montreal Science Centre) as well as smaller, but thematically similar, museums (Centre d’histoire de Montréal, Château Ramezay, etc.). It is therefore difficult to draw attention to the site and attract visitors in this context.
 
 
 

Vision

Located in the heart of Old Montréal, the Sir George-Étienne Cartier National Historic Site transports visitors to the Victorian era and allows them to experience the daily life of a bourgeois family in Montréal.

Visitors learn about the creation of modern Canada and the key political role played by Sir George-Étienne Cartier in the early days of Confederation. The site also gives visitors the opportunity to discover certain chapters of Indigenous history in Canada.

The site testifies to Canada’s diverse cultural identity and represents an ideal space to connect with new Canadians, school groups, language learning groups, and tourists from abroad.

The good condition of the buildings and the richness of the collection objects on display enhance the visitor experience and evoke their appreciation.

Thanks to our regularly updated services tailored to visitor expectations, visitors are more loyal and increasing in number.

The site redoubles its opportunities for outreach thanks to its strong relationships with the education and museum communities and local tourism stakeholders.The site is well-loved by Montréalers, who appropriate the space for activities.

Victorian living room  

Key Strategies

Key strategy no.1:

A site that inspires a sense of attachment and creates a personal connection with the people and ideas that shaped modern Canada.

The purpose of this strategy is to create a personal connection between the site’s visitors and the people, ideas, and social issues that helped shape modern Canada, from the Confederation to today. It is based on two pillars:

  • Travel back in time: Immerse visitors in the historical context of the Victorian era and the life of Sir George-Étienne Cartier through evocative cultural resources, an authentic visitor experience, and signature activities.
  • Encourage reflection, understanding, and attachment: Help visitors understand and reflect on Canada’s political history through interactive activities and exhibitions.

Objective 1.1:

Visitors develop a strong sense of attachment to the national historic site and the political history of modern Canada and the Confederation of today.

Targets:

  • Launch five new or updated activities by 2028.
  • By 2028, maintain visitors’ sense of attachment to the site so it remains at or exceeds 85%.

Objective 1.2:

The history of Indigenous communities, especially in connection with the Confederation, is presented to the public.

Targets:

  • By 2020, establish a relationship with the Indigenous communities concerned, with the aim of working together to better communicate the significance of the site.
  • By 2025, present the site’s Indigenous history, especially in connection with the Confederation, to the public in collaboration with these communities (if they show interest).

Objective 1.3:

The cultural resources are well-maintained and help immerse visitors in the Victorian era and the daily life of Sir George-Étienne Cartier.

Target:

  • Maintain the “good” condition of the national historic site’s cultural resources.

Objective 1.4:

Many visitors return to the site annually, creating a “visit tradition.”

Targets:

  • Host an annual “signature” activity on site.
  • Increase the number of people returning to the site by 10% compared to reference year 2016.

Key strategy no. 2:

A site that is well-positioned in the heart of old Montréal’s tourism offer, online, on social media, and with group clients

The purpose of this strategy is to improve the site’s positioning to attract a greater number of visitors. It is based on three pillars:

  • Enhance the attractiveness and relevance of the national historic site for returning visitors: new Canadians, school groups, and language learning groups.
  • Improve the positioning of the site by integrating it with other tourist or museum attractions in the Old Port and increase its presence on social media to attract a greater number of individual visitors.
  • Increase the importance of the historic site in the community by encouraging opportunities for Montréal residents to use the site in new and alternative ways.

Objective 2.1:

The offer and operating schedule meet the needs of new Canadians, school groups, and language learning groups.

Target:

  • Every year, the national historic site will approach target partners (new Canadian integration organizations, school groups, and language learning groups) to promote the site and confirm that the content of the tours and the site’s operating schedule meet their needs.

Objective 2.2:

Integrate the national historic site with other tourism offers in Old Montréal, the Old Port, and other Parks Canada heritage sites.

Targets:

  • One activity will be organized annually in collaboration with other tourist sites.
  • Two promotional activities or networking events will take place annually.

Objective 2.3:

Increase the site’s presence in Montréal by encouraging opportunities to use the site in new and alternative ways that are compatible with its heritage value.

Target:

  • Every year, the site will host an alternative activity in collaboration with the community.

Objective 2.4:

The site uses digital and traditional media to strengthen its links with its target audience and enhance it's visibility.

Target:

  • Annually, the site follows trends and is present on the most promising digital and traditional platforms.

Objective 2.5:

Increase visitor numbers.

Target:

  • By 2028, increase the number of people visiting the site by 10% compared to reference year 2016.
 

Strategic Environmental Assessment summary

In compliance with the Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals (2010), a strategic environmental assessment (SEA) is carried out for all management statements introduced in Parliament. The SEA aims to incorporate environmental considerations into the development of policies, plans, and program proposals to support environmentally conscious decisions. The specific projects developed to implement the historic site’s management plan strategies will be separately evaluated to establish if an impact assessment is necessary under the 2012 Canadian Environmental Assessment Act or any successor legislation.

 

The strategies set out in the proposed management plan will allow Canadians to gain a broader understanding and appreciation of the historic site, strengthen the site’s ties with the community, by creating a personal connection between the site’s visitors and the people, ideas, and social issues that helped shape modern Canada (from the Confederation to today). The site will have to be well integrated with other tourist or museum attractions in the Old Montreal, the Old Port, and other heritage places managed by Parks Canada. It will have to increase its presence on social media to attract a greater number of individual visitors. Finally, the national historic site will continue its efforts to maintain its heritage resources in good condition.

Implementing measures for attaining the objectives and targets set out in this proposed management plan should help to improve the site’s positionning, thereby drawing in more visitors and making the historic site the principal place in Montréal to learn about the Confederation and the creation of modern Canada.

The strategies, objectives, and targets identified in the management plan are unlikely to have negative environmental effects. Impact assessments will evaluate the potential negative effects of the individually proposed projects on the site.

The Strategic Environmental Assessment concluded that the proposed management plan for the Sir George-Étienne Cartier National Historic Site would have several positive effects on the visitor experience and is not expected to create significant adverse environmental effects.

It is impossible to determine whether the proposed management plan will make a significant contribution to the achievement of the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy’s goals, but it is unlikely that it will hinder their progress.

No significant negative environmental impacts are expected following the implementation of the management plan.

What do you think?

This document summarizes and presents the site, its issues, a management approach, key strategies, objectives and measurable targets. Now, it's your turn to take part in the discussion. Here is your chance to add to the conversation and help us develop the Sir George-Étienne Cartier National Historic Site's management plan. Your knowledge of the area, combined with your experience of the historic site and the future you envision for it are important to us.

How to participate?

There are two ways to share your opinion:

  • Send your comments by email to: sebastien.bachmann@pc.gc.ca
  • By mail to:
    Public Consultation on the Sir George-Étienne Cartier National Historic Site
    Parks Canada Agency at Fort Chambly
    2 De Richelieu Street, Chambly, Quebec, Canada J3L 2B9

Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions or would like further information on the public consultation.

Visit the Parks Canada website.

You have until July 6 to share your opinions, comments or ideas with us, or to submit a memory.

Thank you for your participation!

Table des matières

 

Une invitation à participer !

Le lieu historique national de Sir-George-Étienne-Cartier planifie ses opérations pour les prochaines années. À cette fin, je vous invite à participer à cette réflexion en nous faisant part de votre point de vue et de vos suggestions dans le cadre de la période de consultation publique qui se tiendra du 6 juin au 6 juillet.

L’objectif de cette consultation est de permettre au grand public, aux communautés autochtones, à la municipalité, aux partenaires et aux intervenants du milieu de participer à la prise de décision relativement à la gestion du lieu historique national.

Le plan directeur guidera la gestion du lieu historique pour les dix prochaines années (2018-2028). Il fournit les orientations pour la protection des ressources culturelles et naturelles, l’expérience du visiteur, la diffusion externe et l’éducation du public.

Ce lieu historique national vous appartient ! Joignez-vous à l’équipe de Parcs Canada afin de développer une vision commune, poursuivre la protection et favoriser la découverte de ce site unique.

Nadine Blackburn
Directrice
Unité de gestion de La Mauricie et de l’Ouest du Québec

Mandat de Parcs Canada

Au nom de la population canadienne, nous protégeons et mettons en valeur des exemples représentatifs du patrimoine naturel et culturel du Canada, et en favorisons chez le public la connaissance, l’appréciation et la jouissance, de manière à en assurer l’intégrité écologique et commémorative pour les générations d’aujourd’hui et de demain.

Importance du lieu historique national de Sir-George-Étienne-Cartier

 

Le lieu historique national désigné en 1964 par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada (CLMHC) consiste en deux maisons contiguës formant la propriété détenue par George Étienne Cartier au milieu du XIXe siècle. Les motifs de la désignation des maisons Cartier sont les suivants :

  • Ces deux maisons jumelées ont servi de résidence familiale à un illustre homme politique canadien, Sir George-Étienne Cartier.
  • Ce dernier a été premier ministre de la Province du Canada d’août 1858 à mai 1862.
  • Il fut l’un des principaux artisans de la Confédération.
  • Il fut l’un des membres les plus influents du premier cabinet canadien.

Les maisons jumelées, acquises par Parcs Canada en 1973, ont été reconnues par le Bureau d’examen des édifices fédéraux du patrimoine (BEEFP) en 2006 pour leur valeur patrimoniale et architecturale. Le lieu fait également partie de l’arrondissement historique du Vieux-Montréal, une désignation provinciale qui lui confère un statut de protection supplémentaire.

La maison ouest se démarque par l’authenticité de son aménagement intérieur et l’abondance de sa collection ethnologique. Elle comprend plus de 1 000 objets associés à Cartier et à son entourage. Ces objets placent le visiteur dans l’atmosphère d’une résidence bourgeoise montréalaise des années 1860, et illustrent la personnalité, la vie privée et la carrière politique de Sir George-Etienne Cartier. La maison est accueille les expositions dédiées à l’interprétation. On y explique le contexte historique de la Confédération ainsi que l’importance de l’homme politique.

Contexte de planification

Le lieu historique national a ouvert ses portes au public en 1983. À ce jour, la conservation et la mise en valeur ont été effectuées dans l’esprit des deux plans directeurs précédents, dont le dernier est en œuvre depuis 2007. La plupart des mesures de gestion énoncées dans ledit plan ont été réalisées.

Ouvert au public de la mi-juin à la fin décembre, le site peut se visiter de façon autonome (visiteurs individuels) ou animée (groupes). Les visiteurs peuvent découvrir l’histoire du lieu historique national et la raison de sa désignation en parcourant les expositions dans les maisons. En décembre, une activité spéciale intitulée « Le Noël Victorien » permet au public de découvrir la période des fêtes telle qu’elle était vécue au XIXe siècle par la bourgeoisie montréalaise.

Depuis 2012, des outils d’interprétation autonomes ont été mis en place pour adapter l’expérience de visite à une offre autoguidée. Le circuit de visite a été modifié, des panneaux d’interprétation ont été actualisés et l’affichage a été amélioré. « Rêver un pays », une exposition participative mettant l’accent sur l’histoire de la création du Canada moderne et la Confédération, a permis de moderniser l’expérience de visite et de favoriser l’attachement du public au site.

Le lieu historique national travaille en collaboration avec plusieurs partenaires, notamment les principaux regroupements et musées d’histoire de Montréal, la Commission scolaire de Montréal et l’Institut pour la citoyenneté canadienne.

Pour planifier l’avenir du lieu historique national du Canada de Sir-George-Étienne-Cartier, l’Agence Parcs Canada a tenu compte de l’état du lieu, des enjeux et possibilités ainsi que des tendances globales qui influencent le lieu. Les relations avec les principaux intervenants et leurs intérêts ont également été pris en compte dans ce plan directeur.

Deux principaux enjeux ont été soulevés lors de l’élaboration de ce plan directeur :

  • La baisse de fréquentation. Une baisse de fréquentation du lieu historique national de 67 % (11 742 à 3 788 visiteurs) a été observée entre 2011 et 2013 en raison d’une réduction de sa période d’ouverture, et en 2015, à la suite d’une baisse du nombre de groupes scolaires. La tendance semble toutefois être revenue à la hausse depuis 2016 avec 4 478 visiteurs grâce à un ajustement de la période d’ouverture et de l’offre d’activités.
  • Le positionnement géographique et thématique du lieu historique national. Celui-ci est situé à l’extrémité du Vieux-Montréal, dans un secteur peu visible et peu fréquenté par les touristes. De plus, le marché muséal dans le Vieux-Montréal apporte une concurrence importante avec des institutions majeures (Pointe-à-Callière, cité d’archéologie et d’histoire de Montréal; Centre des sciences de Montréal) et des musées plus petits, mais thématiquement similaires (Centre d’histoire de Montréal, Château Ramezay, etc.). Il est donc difficile de se démarquer pour attirer les visiteurs dans un tel contexte.
 
 
 

Vision

Situé au cœur du Vieux-Montréal, le lieu historique national de Sir-George-Étienne-Cartier transporte le visiteur à l’époque victorienne et lui fait découvrir le quotidien d’une famille bourgeoise de Montréal.

Il permet de comprendre la création du Canada moderne ainsi que le rôle déterminant de l’homme politique Sir George-Étienne Cartier dans l’établissement de la Confédération. Le lieu offre également la chance de découvrir certains volets de l’histoire autochtone du Canada.

Le lieu témoigne de la diversité de l’identité canadienne et constitue un espace privilégié pour rejoindre les nouveaux Canadiens, les groupes scolaires et d’apprentissage linguistique et les visiteurs étrangers.

Le bon état de conservation des bâtiments et la richesse des objets de collection présentés renforcent l’expérience de visite et suscitent l’appréciation des visiteurs.

Grâce à une offre de service adaptée aux attentes de la clientèle et renouvelée ponctuellement, le site voit sa clientèle se fidéliser et sa fréquentation augmenter.

Le site multiplie ses occasions de rayonnement grâce à des liens solides avec le milieu éducatif, muséal et les intervenants touristiques environnants. Il s’agit d’un espace apprécié par le milieu montréalais qui se l’approprie et y tient des activités.

Stratégies clés

Stratégie clé no 1 :

Un lieu historique national qui suscite l’attachement du public et crée des liens avec les personnes et les idées qui ont façonné le Canada moderne

Cette stratégie a pour but de créer un lien intime entre le visiteur et les personnes, les idées et les enjeux sociaux qui ont mené à la création du Canada moderne, de la Confédération à nos jours. Elle s’appuie sur deux piliers :

  • Immerger le visiteur dans le temps : placer le visiteur dans le contexte historique de l’époque victorienne et de la vie de Sir George-Étienne Cartier grâce à des ressources culturelles évocatrices, une expérience de visite authentique et des activités signatures.
  • Susciter la réflexion, la compréhension et l’attachement : amener le visiteur à comprendre et à réfléchir à l’histoire politique du Canada grâce à des activités participatives et à des expositions

Objectif 1.1 :

Les visiteurs développent un fort sentiment d’attachement au lieu historique national et à l’histoire politique du Canada moderne, de la Confédération à nos jours

Cibles :

  • D’ici 2028, cinq activités nouvelles ou renouvelées sont offertes.
  • D’ici 2028, le taux d’attachement des visiteurs au lieu se maintient ou dépasse les 85 %.

Objectif 1.2 :

L’histoire des communautés autochtones, notamment celles en lien avec la Confédération, est présentée au public.

Cibles :

  • D’ici 2020, un contact est établi avec les communautés autochtones en vue de leur proposer une collaboration pour la mise en valeur de la thématique présentée.
  • D’ici 2025, l’histoire autochtone, notamment celle en lien avec la Confédération, est présentée au public en collaboration avec les communautés (advenant un intérêt de la part de celles-ci).

Objectif 1.3 :

Les ressources culturelles sont maintenues en bon état et participent à immerger le visiteur dans l’époque victorienne et le quotidien de Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Cible :

  • Le lieu historique national maintient une cote « bonne » en ce qui a trait à l’état des ressources culturelles.

Objectif 1.4 :

De nombreux visiteurs reviennent au site annuellement, ce qui perpétue une « tradition de visite »

Cibles :

  • Le site tient annuellement une activité « signature ».
  • Le taux de récurrence des visites augmente de 10 % par rapport à l’année de référence 2016.

Stratégie clé no 2 :

Un lieu historique national bien positionné au sein de l’offre touristique du vieux-Montréal, sur les médias sociaux et auprès des clientèles de groupes

Cette stratégie a pour but d’améliorer le positionnement du site de façon à attirer un plus grand nombre de visiteurs. Elle est basée sur trois axes :

  • Renforcer l’attractivité et la pertinence du lieu historique national pour ses clientèles récurrentes : les nouveaux Canadiens, les groupes scolaires et les groupes d’apprentissage linguistique.
  • Améliorer le positionnement du site en le liant aux offres touristiques ou muséales du Vieux-Montréal, et augmenter sa présence sur les médias sociaux, de façon à attirer plus de visiteurs individuels.
  • Augmenter l’importance du lieu historique dans sa communauté en favorisant des opportunités d’utilisation alternatives et novatrices par le milieu montréalais.

Objectif 2.1 :

L’offre et les horaires d’ouverture répondent aux besoins des clientèles de nouveaux Canadiens, de groupes scolaires et de groupes d’apprentissage linguistique.

Cible :

  • Le lieu historique national approche annuellement les partenaires cibles (organismes d’aide et d’intégration des nouveaux Canadiens, groupes scolaires et groupes d’apprentissage linguistique) afin de promouvoir le site et de confirmer que le contenu de l’offre de visite et les horaires d’ouverture concordent avec leurs besoins.

Objectif 2.2 :

Le lieu historique national est bien intégré aux offres touristiques du Vieux-Montréal, du Vieux-Port de Montréal et des autres lieux patrimoniaux de Parcs Canada.

Cibles :

  • Une activité est réalisée annuellement en partenariat avec d’autres lieux touristiques.
  • Deux actions promotionnelles ou activités de réseautage sont réalisées annuellement.

Objectif 2.3 :

Le lieu augmente sa présence au sein du milieu montréalais en favorisant des opportunités d’utilisation innovantes et alternatives compatibles avec sa valeur patrimoniale.

Cible :

  • Le site accueille chaque année une activité alternative en collaboration avec le milieu.

Objectif 2.4 :

Le lieu utilise les médias numériques et traditionnels pour renforcer ses liens avec ses publics cibles et favoriser son rayonnement.

Cible :

  • Annuellement, le lieu suit les tendances et assure une présence sur les plateformes numériques et traditionnelles les plus porteuses.

Objectif 2.5 :

Le nombre de visiteurs augmente.

Cible :

  • D’ici 2028, le nombre de visiteurs du lieu historique national augmente de 10 % par rapport à l’année de référence 2016.
 

Évaluation environnementale stratégique

Conformément à la Directive du Cabinet sur l’évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes (2010), une évaluation environnementale stratégique (EES) est réalisée pour tous les plans directeurs déposés au Parlement. L’EES a pour objet d’intégrer les considérations d’ordre environnemental dans l’élaboration des politiques, des plans et des propositions de programme afin d’appuyer la prise de décisions respectueuses de l’environnement. Les projets particuliers réalisés pour mettre en œuvre les objectifs du plan directeur sur le lieu historique feront l’objet d’une évaluation distincte afin d’établir si une analyse d’impact environnementale est nécessaire en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale 2012, ou de toute loi lui succédant. 

 

Les stratégies énoncées dans la proposition du plan directeur permettront au lieu historique national de mieux se faire connaître et apprécier par les Canadiens, de renforcer ses liens avec la communauté en créant chez le visiteur, un lien intime avec les personnes, les idées et les enjeux sociaux qui ont mené à la création du Canada moderne, de la Confédération à nos jours. Pour ce faire, le lieu historique national devra être bien intégré aux offres touristiques du Vieux-Montréal, du Vieux-Port de Montréal et des autres lieux patrimoniaux de Parcs Canada, sur les médias sociaux et auprès des clientèles de groupes. Finalement, lieu historique national poursuivra ses efforts afin de maintenir ses ressources patrimoniales en bon état.

La mise en œuvre de mesures pour atteindre les objectifs et cibles fixés dans la proposition du plan directeur devrait contribuer à améliorer le positionnement du site de façon à attirer un plus grand nombre de visiteurs et de faire du lieu historique national l’espace clé, à Montréal, pour parler de la Confédération et de la création du Canada moderne. Les évaluations des impacts aborderont les effets négatifs potentiels des projets proposés individuellement sur le site. L'évaluation environnementale stratégique a conclu que la proposition du plan directeur du site historique national de Sir-George-Étienne-Cartier aurait plusieurs effets positifs sur l’expérience des visiteurs et ne devrait pas créer d'importants effets environnementaux négatifs.

La proposition du plan directeur ne permet pas de déterminer s’il contribuera de façon appréciable aux objectifs de la Stratégie de développement durable du gouvernement fédéral mais il est peu probable qu’il nuise à leur réalisation.

Il n’y a pas d’effets environnementaux négatifs importants prévus découlant de la mise en œuvre de ce plan directeur.

Qu’en pensez-vous ?

Le présent document résume et présente le site, ses enjeux ainsi que des stratégies, des objectifs de gestion et des cibles. La parole est maintenant à vous! Voici l’occasion d’enrichir la réflexion et d’élaborer ensemble l’énoncé de gestion du lieu historique national du lieu historique national de Sir-George-Étienne-Cartier. Votre connaissance du site, votre expérience du lieu historique et la façon dont vous envisagez son avenir nous tiennent à cœur.

Comment participer ?

Si vous ne pouvez vous présenter à la consultation, il vous est possible de nous faire part de votre opinion de deux façons :

  • Par courriel : sebastien.bachmann@pc.gc.ca
  • Par courrier à l’adresse suivante :
    Consultations publiques – LHN de Sir-George-Étienne-Cartier
    Bureau administratif de Parcs Canada au fort Chambly
    2, rue de Richelieu, Chambly (Québec) J3L 2B9 Canada

Si vous avez des questions ou si vous souhaitez obtenir des renseignements sur la consultation publique, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec nous.

Visitez le site Internet de Parcs Canada.

Vous avez jusqu’au 6 juillet pour nous transmettre votre opinion, vos commentaires et vos idées.

Merci de votre précieuse collaboration!