The Cartier Homes, as seen from Notre-Dame/Berri St.
The Cartier homes

The Cartier homes on Notre-Dame street were built in 1837 by their first owner, Arthur Ross. Neo-classical in style, the two houses share an adjoining coachway.

Cartier eventually acquired both properties in two separate transactions. From 1848 to 1855, the Cartier family lived in the 'East House'; from 1862 to 1871, they lived in the 'West House'.

 

About Mr. Cartier...

Sir George-Étienne Cartier
© Library and Archives Canada, 2242461

Today, the 'East House' features several permanent exhibitions on Cartier's achievements.

A lawyer, politician and businessman, Cartier was a major figure in a number of crucial events in Canadian history. He played a decisive role in resolving several fundamental questions that presented themselves during the period.

A man dedicated to the ideals of progress, he set about reforming civil institutions and the law through the political mechanisms at his disposal. His dream of making Montreal the trading-hub of British North America accelerated the development of railways and industrialization.

Learning about his career and his achievements will bring you to the heart of a period characterized by major change and progress.

 

State of play (New)

Two visitors interact with an interpretation panel of the exhibition

Why be for or against the Confederation? Today, faced with the different challenges posed by this social project, do we need to create alliances, make compromises, or oppose the Cartier-era vision with that of our own? This game calls upon guests’ beliefs and collaboration skills to take a stand on the different challenges they are given.

The deliberation begins with a short and very informative video that will paint a clearer picture of George-Étienne Cartier’s role in the development of modern Canada.

Stories in Silver (New)

An overview of Sir George-Étienne Cartier' centrepiece

George-Étienne Cartier’s greatest moments are depicted on a massive silver centrepiece, gifted to him by his constituents for his accomplishments in 1863. More than just a decorative object, this work attests to Cartier’s political accomplishments as united Canada’s Prime Minister.

Embellished with numerous figures and symbols, the centrepiece bears witness to Sir George-Étienne Cartier’s personal and private life. A visually engaging projection allows for close-up contemplations of this silversmith piece!

 

Let yourself be seduced by the splendor of Victorian style

Two visitors are admiring the decor
Let yourself be seduced by the splendor of Victorian style

The interior of the 'West House' has been faithfully restored to recreate the sumptuous bourgeois decor typical of the 1860s. This home remains the only Victorian-era interior open to the public in Greater Montreal.

Admiring the rooms' furnishings, visitors can soak up the atmosphere that permeated the bourgeois homes of the past. Soundtracks located in most rooms feature characters who reveal some of the Cartiers' most intimate secrets. Listen in!

 

A lady, two travelling misses and a home

Ladies of the upper class
Ladies of the upper class
© Parks Canada / Lady's Book and Magazine

In the rooms where the Cartier daughters lived and grew to adulthood is an exhibition where they themselves reveal some of their memories through the pages of their diaries.

These private reflections speak to the rhythm of their young bourgeois lives in the city and on numerous excursions, from Saratoga to Cacouna by way of Quebec City. The Cartiers' steamer trunk, family photos, desk set, stamps and sewing accessories, etc.: all objects to admire as you make your foray into the daily lives of Hortense and Joséphine Cartier.

 

Temporary exhibition

Champagne, Charlotte and Crinoline: A Victorian Christmas at the Cartier’s

Come discover the magic of the holidays
You'll be enchanted by the period gifts and decorations!

From November 30 to December 29 
Every Saturday and Sunday, from 10 am to 5 pm and, exceptionally, on December 26 and 27.

Experience the Magic of the Holidays at the Cartier House!

Throughout the year, the Cartier house takes on different hues in keeping with the subjects undertaken in our theatrical presentations. Come discover the magic of the holidays during the 19th century by visiting the thematic exhibition Champagne, Charlotte and Crinoline: A Victorian Christmas at the Cartier’s.

You'll be enchanted by the period gifts and decorations. Learn about the origins of Santa Claus. Don't miss the preparations for the réveillon!

More information

Les résidences de Cartier, vue des rues Notre-Dame et Berri
Les résidences de Cartier

Les résidences de Cartier, rue Notre-Dame, ont été construites en 1837 par le premier propriétaire Arthur Ross. Apparentées au style néo-classique, les deux maisons partagent un passage cocher mitoyen.

Par deux différentes transactions, Cartier a acquis tour à tour ces immeubles. De 1848 à 1855, la famille Cartier a habité la « maison Est »; de 1862 à 1871, elle a séjourné dans la « maison Ouest ».

 

À propos de monsieur Cartier...

Sir George-Étienne Cartier
Sir George-Étienne Cartier
© Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, 2242461

La « maison Est » abrite aujourd'hui plusieurs expositions permanentes portant sur les réalisations de Cartier.

Cet homme, à la fois avocat, politicien et homme d'affaires a participé à de nombreux moments marquants de l'histoire canadienne. Il a participé à la résolution des questions fondamentales qui se sont posées au pays au courant du XIXe siècle.

Homme de progrès, il n'a pas hésité à réformer institutions et lois. Son grand rêve de faire de Montréal la plaque tournante des échanges économiques en Amérique du Nord a accéléré le développement des chemins de fer et l'industrialisation.

Sa carrière et ses réalisations vous feront voyager au cœur d'une époque de changements et de progrès.

 

Jeux de pouvoir (Nouveau)

Deux visiteurs interagissent avec un panneau d'interprétation de l'exposition

Pourquoi être en faveur ou en défaveur de la Confédération? Aujourd’hui, devant les différents enjeux posés par ce projet de société, faut-il créer des alliances, faire des compromis ou confronter sa vision à celle de l’époque de Cartier? C’est par le jeu, l’appel des sens et la collaboration que le visiteur est invité à prendre position, face aux défis qui lui sont proposés.

La réflexion s’amorce avec une courte vidéo très instructive qui permet de mieux comprendre le rôle que George-Étienne Cartier a joué dans le développement du Canada moderne.

L’objet d’une vie (Nouveau)

Un aperçu du surtout de Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Les grands moments de la vie de George-Étienne Cartier sont représentés sur un surtout en argent, témoignage de gratitude qui lui a été offert par ses électeurs en 1863. Plus qu’un simple objet décoratif, l’œuvre atteste des accomplissements politiques de Cartier en tant que Premier ministre du Canada-Uni.

Le surtout est orné de nombreuses figures et de symboles porteurs d’histoire sur la vie personnelle et privée de sir George-Étienne Cartier. Une projection visuelle et immersive permet de contempler cette magnifique pièce d’orfèvrerie de très près!

 

Laissez-vous séduire par la splendeur du style victorien

Deux visiteurs admirent le décor de la maison Cartier
Laissez-vous séduire par la splendeur du style victorien

L'intérieur de la « maison Ouest » a été fidèlement reconstitué pour recréer un somptueux décor bourgeois représentatif des années 1860. Cette maison est la seule demeure de l'époque victorienne ouverte au public dans la région du Grand Montréal.

Tout en admirant les pièces, le visiteur s'imprègne du mode de vie bourgeois. En tendant l'oreille, il fait une incursion dans l'intimité des Cartier grâce à des bandes sonores qui révèlent quelques détails de la vie privée des occupants.

 

Une lady, deux demoiselles voyageuses et une maison

Dames de la bonne société
Dames de la bonne société
© Parcs Canada / Lady's Book and Magazine

Dans les pièces mêmes où les filles Cartier habitèrent, Hortense et Joséphine, se trouve une exposition où celles-ci livrent le précieux héritage de leurs souvenirs relatés au fil des pages de leurs journaux intimes. Sur le ton de la confidence, les témoignages reflètent fidèlement la trame de leurs vies de jeunes bourgeoises dans la métropole, ainsi que leurs nombreux voyages de Saratoga à Cacouna, en passant par Québec.

La malle de voyage des Cartier, les photographies, l'écritoire, les timbres et les accessoires de couture, etc. : tous des objets à apprécier pour faire incursion dans le quotidien d'Hortense et de Joséphine.

 

Exposition temporaire

Champagne, charlotte et crinoline : Noël victorien chez les Cartier

Venez découvrir la magie des Noël
Vous serez émerveillés par les étrennes et les décorations de l'époque!

Du 30 novembre au 29 décembre 
Tous les samedis et dimanches, de 10 h à 17 h et, exceptionnellement, le 26 et le 27 décembre

Vivez la magie des fêtes à la maison Cartier!

Au fil des saisons, la maison revêt différentes couleurs qui s'harmonisent avec les sujets abordés lors animations. Venez découvrir la magie des Noël au XIXe siècle en visitant l'exposition thématique Champagne, charlotte et crinoline : Noël victorien chez les Cartier.

Vous serez émerveillés par les étrennes et les décorations de l'époque. Ne manquez pas les préparatifs du réveillon et retracez les origines du Père Noël.

Pour plus d'information