Sir George-Étienne Cartier National Historic Site is the perfect place in Montreal to learn about the birth of modern Canada. Custom-made activities for school groups demystify the workings of the Confederation orchestrated by the 19th century bourgeoisie. In a stimulating learning environment, the programs materializes historical and political content from the Québec education program (Programme de formation de l’école Québécoise).

Programs and Target Groups

Elementary - 3rd cycle

1. Dream into action! *New
Students work together to decode the criteria required to become a politician in the 19th century.
Students work together to decode the criteria required to become a politician in the 19th century.

Sir George-Étienne Cartier is an actor of change and a reformist politician who is key to Canada’s history. His legacies, which include Confederation, are perfect opportunities to link historical events from the 19th century to today’s Canada. In the Cartier’s home, students explore a country under construction and a bourgeois house. They experience the Canadian political system and the notion of civic involvement through interactive games, discussions and reflections..

  • Public:Grades 5 and 6 (10 to 12 years old).
  • Maximum capacity: two classes.
  • Visit length: 120 minutes.
  • Dates: April to June / Sept. to Dec. Reservation required.
  • Fares: $4.90 (taxes included).
    Payment by credit card, debit, billing, cheque, cash.

Types of experiences for the visitors

  • The program consists of two 50-minute participatory activities.
  • A Bourgeois Home (Grades 5 and 6). Students visit a magnificent Victorian home and act according to the rules of bourgeoisie etiquette. Values that prevail in the home and in society are discussed (exclusion, privacy, appearances, civility).
  • State of Play (Grade 5).Students play interactive games that bring them behind the scenes of Confederation (ex.: demography, selection of leaders, strategies, federalism).
  • Imagine a Country (Grade 6).An activity on levels of government helps student understand how the country is organized. With their classmates, students reflect upon ways to improve their school or neighborhood using their personal strengths and interests.
  • In-class preparatory and follow-up activities available online.
  • Le programme se décline en deux activités participatives de 50 minutes.
  • Complementary activity: “Montreal by Cartier” (60 minutes). Self-guided walking tour featuring places frequented by the Cartier family.

Additional information

  • Teachers must choose between State of Play et Imagine a Country.
  • If you wish to do the self-guided tour, the maps will be emailed to you along with the confirmation form.
  • Dream into Action! introduces or reviews academic content of the Programme de formation de l’école québécoiserelated to Canadian society in 1820-1905.
  • This program is part of the Jeune public directory of Une école montréalaise pour tous (French only).

Download the guide (PDF, 3.2 MB)

2. A Victorian Christmas
A Parks Canada guide surrounded by students
A Parks Canada Guide talking to a group of students at the Victorian Christmas activity

Learn about the history of Christmas traditions and symbols with an extraordinary visit to the Sir George-Étienne Cartier National Historic Site!

The rooms are beautifully decorated, the candles are lit and the table is set. Enter the magical world of Christmas in the home of a prosperous 19th century family and withness the final festive preparations!

  • Public: Grades 5 and 6 (10 to 12 years old).
  • Maximum capacity: two classes.
  • Visit length: 90 minutes.
  • Dates: Mid-November to end of December. Reservation required.
  • Fares: $4.90 (taxes included).
    Payment by credit card, debit, billing, cheque, cash.

Types of experiences for the visitors

  • Discover the elegant Victorian residence of a great Canadian politician, Sir George-Étienne Cartier.
  • Learn more about Christmas’ origins and traditions that have been popular since the 19th century.
  • Let us tell you all about the customs of Réveillon, gift-giving and decorating.
  • Share your own family customs with us.
  • Explore the meaning and understand the reasons behind this holiday, which transcends cultures and is celebrated in many countries.

Additional information

  • The program takes place in the only 19th-century bourgeois interior public can visit in Montreal.
  • This program is part of Jeune Public Directory of Une école montréalaise pour tous (French only).

Download the guide (PDF, 616 KB)

Secondary - 2nd cycle

3. Building a Country (coming soon)

A program for secondary school students is being developed!
Contact us to obtain more information.

French-language Learning Groups

4. Welcome at the Cartier's
A Parks Canada guide welcoming a group of students
A Parks Canada guide welcoming a group of students

This program is made-to-measure for French-language learning groups (Organisations offering services to newcomers in partnership with the Ministère de l'Immigration et des Communautés culturelles (Immigration-Québec), continuing education programs, language schools, etc.)

Through George-Étienne Cartier’s political work, students approach different aspects of the creation of Canada as we know it today. Like Cartier, students are invited to imagine, discuss and share their thoughts of an ideal society.

Throughout the exploration of the Victorian home of George-Étienne Cartier, an introduction to the good manners and rules of etiquette in use during the 19th century becomes a pretext for vocabulary or conversation practice.

  • Public: French-language learning groups.
  • Levels: Intermediate and advanced.
  • Maximum capacity: 2 classes.
  • Visit lenght: 60 to 75 minutes.
  • Dates: April to December. Reservation required.
  • Fares: $4.90 (taxes included).
    Payment by credit card, debit, billing, cheque, cash.

Types of experiences for the visitors

  • Discovery of the only Victorian interior open to the public in Montreal.
  • Exploring the rules of proper manners and behavior that dictated social relations in the 19th-century.
  • Practice of listening, reading, observation and discussion skills.
  • Small group discussion leading to a consensus and presentation to the class.

Additional information

  • Heritage house located in the heart of Old Montreal.
  • The program takes place in the only 19th-century bourgeois interior public can visit in Montreal.
  • During the activity, students are invited to participate in different ways.

Téléchargez le guide (PDF, 743 Ko)

5. A Victorian Christmas
Une guide de Parcs Canada entourée de nouveaux arrivants

Learn about the history of Christmas traditions and symbols with an extraordinary visit to the Sir George-Étienne Cartier National Historic Site!

The rooms are beautifully decorated, the candles are lit and the table is set. Enter the magical world of Christmas in the home of a 19th-century prosperous family and withness the final festive preparations!

This program is made-to-measure for French-language learning groups (Organizations offering services to newcomers in partnership with the Ministère de l'Immigration et des Communautés culturelles (Immigration-Québec), continuing education programs, language schools, etc.)

  • Public: French-language learning groups.
  • Levels: Intermediate and advanced.
  • Maximum capacity: 2 classes.
  • Visit lenght: 60 to 75 minutes.
  • Dates: From mid-November to end of December. Reservation required.
  • Fares: $4.90 (taxes included).
    Payment by credit card, debit, billing, cheque, cash.

Types of experiences for the visitors

  • Discover the elegant Victorian residence of a great Canadian politician, Sir George-Étienne Cartier.
  • Learn more about traditions that have been popular since the 19th century.
  • Let us tell you all about the customs of Réveillon, gift-giving and decorating.
  • Share your own family customs with us.
  • Explore the meaning and understand the reasons behind this holiday, which transcends cultures and is celebrated in many countries.

Additional information

  • Heritage house located in the heart of Old Montreal.
  • The program takes place in the only 19th-century bourgeois interior public can visit in Montreal.
  • During the activity, students are invited to participate in different ways.

Download the guide (PDF, 688 Ko) (French only)

General Information

  • Fares: $4.90 per student (taxes included).
  • Maximum capacity: 2 classes
  • Activities offered in English or in French by a Parks Canada guide
  • Possible to lunch indoors (upon reservation)
  • Bus drop-off area
  • Located in Old-Montreal,10 minutes from Champ-de-Mars and Berri-UQAM metro stations

Reservations and information

Annick Guérin
Team Leader, Visitor Experience

pc.cartier.pc@canada.ca
514-283-2282
1-888-773-8888

Financial support

Experiences offered by Parks Canada are part of the culture and education resource directory. Financial support from the Government of Québec could be provided. For further information, please refer to the ministère de l’Éducation et de l’Enseignement supérieur Website or contact your school administration.

The programs for elementary school students, Dream into Action! and A Victorian Christmas, are part of the Jeune public directory of Une école montréalaise pour tous. Further information is available on the website of Une école montréalaise pour tous.

Prepare your students in class

Video State of Play

A short animation video introduces George-Étienne Cartier and reviews the main historic milestones leading to Confederation.
Public : For all.
Duration : 15 minutes.

Download the animation tool

Watch or download the video

State of Play

Transcript

Parks Canada logo

[Narrator] Welcome to George-Étienne Cartier's home. You are currently standing in the house he acquired in 1848. That same year, he was elected for the first time to the United Province of Canada Legislative Assembly. Who was Cartier? What was the United Province of Canada? To answer these questions, let's go back to the dawn of Canadian history. Arriving by Beringia, the original inhabitants of the continent had been there since time immemorial. In 1534, the Frenchman Jacques Cartier landed in Gaspé. He planted a cross and claimed the territory of New France in the name of his king.

[Jacques Cartier is standing in front of three Indigenous people.Four questions are written: During which century did he live? Where was he from? What was his trade? Was he related to George-Étienne Cartier?]

In 1608, Samuel de Champlain founded Quebec City Little by little, colonists settled in New France along the St. Lawrence valley. The monarchist system was established in the colony. The King of France, the supreme authority, appointed a governor to direct the Colony and represent him in front of his subjects.

[Settlers are raising New France flags over their houses. Three questions are written: What is the definition of a colony? Which country governs New France? Can settlers vote?]

In 1759, while New France had 70 000 inhabitants, the British army conquered Quebec City. In 1760, they took hold of Montreal. France ceded the territory and the Treaty of Paris was signed in 1763.

[Settlers are replacing New France flags by British flags. Two questions are written: Which country rules the colony? Can settlers now vote?]

Despite themselves, the French subjects became British subjects while the Indigenous peoples were ignored in the agreement. The Canadian colony was then named the Province of Quebec Over time, a few British colonists settled in the colony. Soon after, the United States became a republic which was henceforth independent of the British empire. Loyalists, who were attached to the Crown, fled and settled in the Province of Quebec. In 1791, in order to satisfy the growing British population who desired a political voice, the British government split the Province of Quebec into two parts: Upper and Lower Canada.

[A map of Upper and Lower Canada is shown. Three questions are written: Today, which provinces correspond to Upper and to Lower Canada? What are the main spoken langages in these provinces? What is the name of the place where laws are discussed, negociated and passed?]

The first parliamentary institutions in the country, which excluded women and Indigenous peoples, were emerging at this time. In both provinces, certain subjects voted to elect members of the House of Assembly. The elected members were responsible for looking after the interests of their constituents in front of the governor who was chosen by Great Britain. Therefore, real power remained in the hands of the governor and his entourage, who decided upon the laws and managed the budget.

[The governor is sitting at a table with his entourage. Two question are written: Is the Governor elected by the population? Do you think this system is fair?]

Dissatisfaction ensued. The people were critical of the governor's favouritism towards the Anglophone minority. The members of the Lower Canada House of Assembly tried to convince the British government to transfer some of the governor's power to the houses of assembly elected by the people. They proposed 92 resolutions to make Canadian political institutions more democratic. The British Government rejected most of the petitions. Revolt was simmering. Armed insurgencies against the Crown escalated into bloody battles. Known as the Rebellion in Lower Canada, this revolt would be severely suppressed by the British army. This is when Lord Durham comes into play. This new governor was charged with producing a report on the causes that led to the rebellion. Among other things, Durham recommended the unification of Upper and Lower Canada to reduce the political and demographic weight of the french canadian population. In 1840 the Union Act formalized the forced union of the two colonies. The new United Province of Canada now had only one legislative assembly. In 1848, the British government granted more power to the Assembly by creating responsible government. From that moment on, the population who had the right to vote, elected the members of the Assembly who in turn chose their leader. This was a great step in the history of Canadian democracy. It was at this time that George-Étienne Cartier began his active political career. He was elected Member of Parliament in the County of Verchères.

[George-Étienne Cartier is standing in front of the Parliament. Two questions are written: What is the definition of a deputy? What takes place at a Parliament?

At that time, the United Province of Canada Legislative was dominated by political parties with divergent ideas and allegiances: French Canadians, Anglophones, monarchists, republicans, Catholics, Protestants. These differences led to a succession of short-lived minority governments. But in 1867, several men with divergent political ideas agreed on the foundations leading to Canadian confederation. Among them was George-Étienne Cartier. We invite you to enter his home to discover how economic issues, backstairs influences and the political manoeuvres of his era helped shape the Canada of today.

[A portrait of George-Étienne Cartier is shown. Biographical informations are written on the screen.]

[Then a picture of the Fathers of the Confederation is shown with the date 1867. Two questions are written : What happened in 1867? Can you find George-Étienne Cartier and John A. Macdonald in this picture?]

Parks Canada logo.

Copyright Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by Parks Canada, 2019.

Canada wordmark.

Educational tool

Banner Dream into action!

A fun and interactive document introduces the key concepts of the visit. Students read actively and rise to different challenges.
Public: Elementary - 3rd cycle.
Duration: 30 minutes.

Download the dynamic version (Computers only)

  1. Download the file. (PDF, 8,6 Mo).
  2. Open the file with Google Chrome (free).You can also open it using Adobe Acrobat Reader DC (free).

To read the document on a phone or a tablet, please use the static version.
Download the static version (All supports)

À Montréal, le lieu historique national de Sir-George-Étienne Cartier est l’endroit par excellence pour interpréter la naissance du Canada moderne. Des activités ludiques conçues sur mesure pour les groupes scolaires démystifient les rouages de la Confédération orchestrée par la bourgeoisie du 19e siècle. Ces programmes concrétisent des notions historiques et politiques du Programme de formation de l’école québécoise dans un contexte d’apprentissage stimulant.

Programmes et groupes ciblés

3e cycle du primaire

1. Du rêve à l’action! *Nouveauté
Jeunes autour d'une table
En équipe, les élèves décodent les critères requis pour se présenter en politique au 19e siècle

Sir George-Étienne Cartier (1814-1873) est un politicien réformateur et un acteur de changement incontournable de l’histoire canadienne. Ses legs, incluant la Confédération, sont l’occasion de relier les événements marquants du 19e siècle au Canada d’aujourd’hui. Chez les Cartier, les élèves entrent dans les coulisses d’un pays en construction et explorent une maison bourgeoise. Ils s’approprient les rouages du système politique canadien et l’engagement citoyen par l’entremise de jeux interactifs, de discussions et de réflexions.

  • Public : 5e et 6e années (10-12 ans).
  • Capacité d’accueil : deux classes.
  • Durée de visite : 120 minutes.
  • Dates : Avril à juin / sept. à déc. Sur réservation.
  • Tarifs : 4,90 $ (taxes incluses).
    Paiement par carte de crédit, débit, facturation, chèque, argent comptant.

Types d’expériences offertes aux visiteurs

  • Le programme se décline en deux activités participatives de 50 minutes.
  • Une maison bourgeoise (5e et 6e année). Les élèves parcourent l’étonnante maison victorienne et agissent selon les règles de l’étiquette bourgeoise. Les valeurs qui régissent la maison et la société sont scrutées (exclusion, intimité, apparence, savoir-vivre).
  • Jeux de pouvoir (5e année). Les élèves participent à des jeux interactifs sur les coulisses de la Confédération (ex. : démographie, sélection des dirigeants, stratégies, fédéralisme).
  • Rêver un pays (6e année). Un jeu sur les paliers gouvernementaux fait constater aux élèves le legs de Cartier au quotidien. Avec leurs pairs, les élèves réfléchissent à des façons concrètes de s’engager selon leurs forces et leurs intérêts..
  • Activités pour préparation et réinvestissement disponibles en ligne.
  • Le programme se décline en deux activités participatives de 50 minutes.
  • Activité complémentaire : « Le Montréal des Cartier » (60 min). Circuit pédestre autonome qui met en lumière les lieux fréquentés par la famille Cartier.

Informations supplémentaires

  • L’enseignant doit choisir entre Jeux de pouvoir et Rêver un pays.
  • Si vous souhaitez faire le circuit pédestre, les cartes du trajet vous seront transmises par courriel avec le formulaire de confirmation.
  • Du rêve à l’action! est un moyen efficace d’introduire ou de réviser les savoirs essentiels du domaine de l’univers social du Programme de formation de l’école québécoise reliés à la société canadienne vers 1820-1905.
  • Cette activité fait partie du répertoire Jeune Public du programme de soutien Une école montréalaise pour tous.

Téléchargez le guide (PDF, 3,2 Mo)

2. Un Noël victorien
Une guide de Parcs Canada entourée d'enfants
Une guide de Parcs Canada s'adressant à un groupe d'élèves lors du Noël victorien

Une visite hors du commun vous attend au lieu historique national de Sir-George-Étienne-Cartier!

La maison est parée de ses plus belles décorations, les chandelles sont allumées et la table est dressée. Plongez dans l’univers magique d’une famille bourgeoise du 19e siècle et assistez aux derniers préparatifs de la fête de Noël.

  • Public : 5e et 6e années (10-12 ans).
  • Capacité d’accueil : deux classes.
  • Durée de visite : 90 minutes.
  • Dates : De la mi-novembre à la fin décembre. Sur réservation.
  • Tarifs : 4,90 $ (taxes incluses).
    Paiement par carte de crédit, débit, facturation, chèque, argent comptant.

Types d’expériences offertes aux visiteurs

  • Explorez l’élégante demeure victorienne d’un grand politicien canadien, sir George-Étienne Cartier.
  • Découvrez les origines de traditions de Noël populaires depuis le 19e siècle.
  • Laissez-nous vous présenter le réveillon, la distribution de cadeaux et les décorations.
  • Partagez vos propres coutumes familiales.
  • Apprenez-en plus sur les raisons de cette fête qui transcende les cultures et qui est célébrée dans plusieurs pays du monde.

Informations supplémentaires

  • Maison patrimoniale située au coeur du Vieux-Montréal.
  • Cette activité fait partie du répertoire Jeune Public du programme de soutien Une école montréalaise pour tous.

Téléchargez le guide (PDF, 612 Ko)

2e cycle du secondaire

3. Bâtir un pays (à venir bientôt)

Un programme pour le 2e cycle du secondaire est en conception!
Contactez-nous pour en savoir davantage.

Classes de francisation

4. Bienvenue chez les Cartier!
Une guide de Parcs Canada accueille un groupe d'étudiants
Une guide de Parcs Canada accueille un groupe d'étudiants

Ce programme a été conçu sur mesure pour les groupes en apprentissage du français aux organismes partenaires du ministère de l'Immigration et des Communautés culturelles offrant des services aux nouveaux arrivants (Immigration-Québec).

À travers l’oeuvre politique de George-Étienne Cartier, les étudiants abordent différents aspects de la création du Canada tel que nous le connaissons maintenant. Tout comme Cartier, les étudiants sont amenés à réfléchir, à discuter et à partager leurs idées sur une société idéale.

Au cours de l’exploration de la maison victorienne de George-Étienne Cartier, l’initiation aux règles d’étiquette du 19e siècle devient prétexte à des exercices de vocabulaire ou de conversation.

  • Public : Classes de francisation.
  • Niveaux : Intermédiaire et avancé.
  • Capacité d’accueil : 2 classes.
  • Durée de visite : 60 à 75 minutes.
  • Dates : Bienvenue chez les Cartier! : Avril à décembre. Sur réservation
  • Tarifs : 4,90 $ (taxes incluses).
    Paiement par carte de crédit, débit, facturation, chèque, argent comptant.

Types d’expériences offertes aux visiteurs

  • Découverte du seul intérieur victorien accessible au public à Montréal.
  • Initiation aux règles du savoir-vivre qui régissaient toutes les relations sociales au 19e siècle.
  • Pratique des compétences liées à l’écoute, la lecture, l’observation et la conversation.
  • Discussion en petits groupes menant à un consensus et présentation des résultats de la discussion.

Informations supplémentaires

  • Maison patrimoniale située au coeur du Vieux-Montréal.
  • La visite se déroule dans un intérieur bourgeois du 19e siècle.
  • Tout au long de l’activité, vous serez invités à participer de différentes façons.

Téléchargez le guide (PDF, 743 Ko)

5. Un Noël victorien
Une guide de Parcs Canada entourée de nouveaux arrivants

Une visite hors du commun vous attend au lieu historique national de Sir-George-Étienne-Cartier! La maison est parée de ses plus belles décorations, les chandelles sont allumées et la table est dressée. Plongez dans l’univers magique d’une famille bourgeoise du 19e siècle et assistez aux derniers préparatifs de la fête de Noël.

La maison est parée de ses plus belles décorations, les chandelles sont allumées et la table est dressée. Plongez dans l’univers magique d’une famille bourgeoise du 19e siècle et assistez aux derniers préparatifs de la fête de Noël.

Ce programme a été conçu sur mesure pour les groupes en apprentissage du français ou de l'anglais et aux organismes partenaires du ministère de l'Immigration et des Communautés culturelles offrant des services aux nouveaux arrivants (Immigration-Québec).

  • Public : Classes de francisation.
  • Niveaux : Intermédiaire et avancé.
  • Capacité d’accueil : 2 classes.
  • Durée de visite : 60 à 75 minutes.
  • Dates : De la mi-novembre à la fin décembre. Sur réservation
  • Tarifs : 4,90 $ (taxes incluses).
    Paiement par carte de crédit, débit, facturation, chèque, argent comptant.

Types d’expériences offertes aux visiteurs

  • Explorez l’élégante demeure victorienne d’un grand politicien canadien, sir George-Étienne Cartier.
  • Découvrez les origines de traditions populaires depuis le 19e siècle.
  • Laissez-nous vous présenter le réveillon, la distribution de cadeaux et les décorations.
  • Partagez vos propres coutumes familiales.
  • Apprenez-en plus sur les raisons de cette fête qui transcende les cultures et qui est célébrée dans plusieurs pays du monde.

Informations supplémentaires

  • Maison patrimoniale située au coeur du Vieux-Montréal.
  • La visite se déroule dans un intérieur bourgeois du 19e siècle.
  • Tout au long de l’activité, vous serez invités à participer de différentes façons.

Téléchargez le guide (PDF, 688 Ko)

Informations générales

  • Tarifs : 4,90$ par élève (taxes incluses).
  • Capacité d’accueil : 2 classes
  • Activités animées en français ou en anglais par un guide de Parcs Canada
  • Possibilité de dîner à l’intérieur (sur réservation)
  • Espace de débarcadère pour autobus
  • Situé dans le Vieux-Montréal, à 10 minutes des métros Champ-de-Mars et Berri-UQAM

Réservations et informations

Annick Guérin
Chef d'équipe, Expérience du visiteur

pc.cartier.pc@canada.ca
514 283-2282
1 888 773-8888

Soutien financier

Les expériences offertes par Parcs Canada font partie du répertoire culture-éducation. Votre sortie culturelle peut donc être admissible à une aide financière du gouvernement du Québec. Pour toute information, veuillez consulter le site du ministère de l’Éducation et de l’Enseignement supérieur ou communiquer avec votre direction d'école.

Les activités pour les élèves du primaire, Du rêve à l’action! et Noël victorien, font partie du répertoire Jeune Public du programme de soutien Une école montréalaise pour tous. Pour en savoir davantage, veuillez consulter le site Une école montréalaise pour tous.

Préparez vos élèves en classe

Vidéo Jeux de pouvoir

Une capsule vidéo animée présente George-Étienne Cartier et révise les grands jalons historiques qui mènent à la Confédération.
Public : Pour tous.
Durée : 15 minutes.

Téléchargez l’outil d’animation

Écoutez ou téléchargez le film

Jeux de pouvoir

Transcription

Logo de Parcs Canada

[Portrait de Sir George-Étienne Cartier]

Vous vous trouvez actuellement dans la maison qu’il a acquise en 1848. Qui est Cartier? C’est quoi le Canada-Uni? Pour répondre, retournons bien avant dans l’histoire du Canada. Arrivés par la Béringie, les premiers habitants du continent s’y sont établis depuis des temps immémoriaux. En 1534, le Français Jacques Cartier débarque à Gaspé. Il y plante une croix et revendique le territoire de la Nouvelle-France au nom de son roi.

[Jacques Cartier est debout devant trois Autochtones. Quatre questions sont écrites : Dans quel siècle vit-il? D'où vient-il? Quel est son métier? Est-il dans la même famille que George-Étienne Cartier?]

En 1608. Samuel de Champlain fonde Québec. Peu à peu, des colons s’installent le long de la vallée du Saint-Laurent. Le régime monarchique est implanté dans la colonie. Le roi de France, autorité suprême, nomme un gouverneur pour la diriger et le représenter auprès de ses sujets.

[Des colons hissent des drapeaux de la Nouvelle-France. Trois questions sont écrites : Quelle est la définition d'une colonie? Quel pays prend les décisions en Nouvelle-France? Est-ce que les colons peuevtn voter?]

En 1760, c’est au tour de Montréal. La France cède le territoire et le traité de Paris est signé en 1763.

[Des colons remplacent les drapeaux de la Nouvelle-France par des drapeaux britanniques. Deux questions sont écrites : Quel pays dirige la colonie? Est-ce que les colons peuvent maintenant voter?]

Malgré eux, les sujets français deviennent sujets britanniques. Les autochtones sont ignorés dans l’entente. La colonie du Canada est alors nommée Province of Quebec. Progressivement, quelques colons britanniques, s’installent dans la colonie. Peu après, les États-Unis deviennent une république, désormais indépendante de l’Empire britannique. Des loyalistes, attachés à la couronne, fuient et s’installent dans la province de Québec. En 1791, pour satisfaire la population anglaise grandissante qui désire avoir son mot à dire au niveau politique, le gouvernement britannique sépare la province de Québec en deux : Le Haut et le Bas-Canada.

[Une carte montre le Haut et le Bas-Canada. Trois questions sont écrites : Aujourd'hui, quelle provinces correspondent au Haut et au Bas-Canada? Quelle langue est majoritairement parlée dans chacune de ces provinces? Comment s'appelle l'endroit où les lois sont discutées, négociées et débattues?]

Les premières institutions parlementaires du pays, qui excluent femmes et autochtones, voient le jour à cette époque. Dans les deux provinces, certains sujets votent pour élire les membres de l’Assemblée législative. Les membres élus sont chargés de faire valoir les intérêts de leurs électeurs auprès du gouverneur qui lui, est choisi par la Grande-Bretagne. Par conséquent, le vrai pouvoir demeure dans les mains du gouverneur et de son entourage qui décident des lois et qui gèrent le budget.

[Le gouverneur est assis avec son entourage. Deux questions sont écrites : Est-ce que le Gouverneur est élu par la population? Selon toi, est-ce que ce système est juste?]

L’insatisfaction règne. Le peuple critique le favoritisme du gouverneur pour la minorité anglophone. Des députés de l’assemblée du Bas-Canada tentent de convaincre le gouvernement britannique de transférer une partie du pouvoir du gouverneur vers les assemblées législatives élues par le peuple. Ils proposent 92 résolutions pour rendre plus démocratiques les institutions politiques du Canada. Le gouvernement britannique rejette la plupart des demandes. La révolte gronde. Des insurrections armées contre la couronne dégénèrent en batailles sanglantes. Appelée révolte des Patriotes, cette rébellion sera durement réprimée par l’armée britannique. C’est ici qu’entre en scène Lord Durham. Ce nouveau gouverneur est chargé de produire un rapport sur les causes ayant mené à la révolte Durham recommande entre autres de réunir le Haut et le Bas-Canada pour diminuer le poids politique et démographique de la population canadienne française. En 1840, l’Acte d’Union consacre la réunion forcée des deux colonies. Le nouveau Canada-Uni ne possède alors qu’une seule assemblée législative. En 1848, le gouverneur accorde un peu plus de pouvoir à l’Assemblée en créant le gouvernement responsable. Dès lors, la population ayant le droit de vote élit les membres de l’assemblée, qui a leur tour, choisissent leur chef. C’est un grand pas dans l’histoire de la démocratie canadienne. C’est à ce moment que George-Étienne Cartier débute sa carrière politique active. Il est élu député dans le comté de Verchères.

À cette époque, l’Assemblée législative du Canada-Uni est dominée par des partis politiques aux idées et allégeances divergentes : Canadiens-Français, anglophones, monarchistes, républicains, catholiques, protestants. Ces divergences mènent à une succession de gouvernements minoritaires de courte durée.

Mais en 1867, des hommes aux idées politiques éloignées se sont entendus sur les bases menant à la Confédération canadienne Parmi eux, il y a George-Étienne Cartier. Nous vous invitons à entrer chez lui afin de découvrir comment les enjeux économiques, les jeux de coulisses et les manœuvres politiques de son époque ont permis de façonner le Canada d’aujourd’hui.

[Portrait de George-Étienne Cartier. Plusieurs informations biographiques sont indiquées.]

[Une photo des pères de la Confédération et l'année 1867 sont affichés. Deux questions sont écrites : Que s'est-il passé en 1867? Sur la photo, où sont George-Étienne Cartier et John A. Macdonald?]

[Logo de parcs Canada]

[Copyright Sa majesté la Reine du Chef du Canada représentée par Parcs Canada, 2019.]

[Logo du Canada]

Outil pédagogique

Bandeau Du rêve à l'action

Un document ludique et interactif introduit les concepts clés de la visite. Les élèves lisent activement et relèvent des défis.
Public : 3e cycle du primaire.
Durée : 30 minutes.

Téléchargez la version dynamique (Ordinateurs seulement)

  1. Téléchargez le fichier (PDF, 8,6 Mo).
  2. Ouvrez le fichier avec le navigateur Google Chrome (gratuit). Il est aussi possible de l’ouvrir à partir du lecteur Adobe Acrobat Reader DC (gratuit).

Pour consulter le document sur un cellulaire ou une tablette, veuillez utiliser la version statique.
Téléchargez la version statique (Tous les supports)