Table of contents

An invitation to take part!

The Coteau-du-Lac National Historic Site is planning its operations for upcoming years. To this end, we will be holding public consultations from April 24th to May 24th, 2018. I encourage you to take part in this process by sharing your thoughts and suggestions.

The purpose of this consultation is to give the partners, community stakeholders and general public an opportunity to get involved in the decision-making process related to managing this national historic site.

The management plan is the official document that will guide management of the historic site for the next ten years (2018–2028). It provides orientation for protecting cultural and natural resources, visitor experiences and public education.

The management plan will also inform the site's operational activities for the coming years. This national historic site belongs to you! Join the Parks Canada team in developing a common vision and in protecting this national historic site, while encouraging visitors to discover this unique place.

Nadine Blackburn
Superintendent
Mauricie and Western Quebec Field Unit

Parks Canada’s Mandate

On behalf of the people of Canada, we protect and present nationally significant examples of Canada's natural and cultural heritage, and foster public understanding, appreciation and enjoyment in ways that ensure the ecological and commemorative integrity of these places for present and future generations.

Importance of the Coteau-du-Lac National Historic Site

Coteau-du-Lac was designated a national historic site in 1923 for the following reasons:

  • It is the site of one of the oldest lock canals in North America
  • From 1778 to the mid 19th century, the place was the site of a British military post which defended the corridor and facilitated the transportation of merchandise on the St. Lawrence River
  • The site was a strategic point during the American Revolution and during the War of 1812
  • The site was for many years the main port of entry of imports into Upper Canada

Thanks to its strategic location, this area steeped in history has always been an ideal port of entry into Canada. Artefacts discovered by Parks Canada archeologists in the 1960s confirmed the presence of First Nations people dating back 7,000 years. The site was subsequently used by French voyageurs and was eventually occupied by the British military, as evidenced by the remains of military buildings, fortifications, a rigolet canal, and the first lock canal in Canada. A British Blockhouse was rebuilt in the 1960s and has marked the cultural landscape.

For local and regional communities, the area is not just a historic site, but also functions as an urban waterfront park where people can relax and enjoy nature. The grassy terrain is criss-crossed by trails and its periphery is dotted with trees and shrubs. The park is accessible at all times, even outside of Parks Canada periods of operation.

Planning context

The national historic site opened its doors in 1968. To date, conservation and development efforts have been carried out based on two previous management plans, the most recent of which has been in effect since 2007. Most of the management measures set out in the 2007 Management Plan were implemented, particularly those aiming to improve the visitor experience and the protection and development of cultural resources.

In 2011, a marquee and welcome gateway were installed, and in 2014, the outdoor self-guided tour itinerary was updated.
The site’s commemorative integrity was enhanced thanks to visual improvements, repeated repointing of the ruins, and more recently, major restoration work on the Blockhouse (2016-2017).

Over the past few years, two activities presented in collaboration with the municipality of Coteau-du-Lac have accounted for more than half of the site’s traffic: the “Marché Champêtre” farmer’s market (8,000 visitors) and Canada Day (7,000 visitors). Incidentally, the municipality of Coteau-du-Lac is the national historic site’s main partner. Other activities were organized by third parties, including many sporting events.

Since 2012, the site is available for self-guided experiences for a short period (from June to September). Groups (mainly day camps) are welcome in July and August and are offered personalized service. Following a 52% drop in visitor numbers between 2012 and 2013 (30,709 to 14,518), these numbers increased by 38% and reached an annual average of 20,000 since 2014.

Some issues were raised during the Management Plan’s development, such as:

  • The difficulty of maintaining visitor numbers at the site: After a significant drop in 2011 and 2012, visitor numbers have increased in the past few years. However, this growth remains fragile.
  • The historic site’s layout does not convey the value of its national historic significance: Visitors sometimes get disoriented and don’t always realize that they are on a national historic site. The visitor circuit does not adequately guide visitors toward the site’s cultural resources, which makes it difficult for them to understand all aspects of its historical significance. The site is accessible to everyone, even outside of the park’s hours and periods of operation. Its extensive green spaces and proximity to the Delisle and St. Lawrence rivers make it ideal for recreational activities.
  • The importance of forging relationships with the First Nations communities connected to the site: Many traces of paleohistoric occupation confirm the presence of First Nations people at the site before the arrival of Europeans. To this day, however, no relationships have been established with the First Nations communities concerned. Forging ties with these communities would allow us to assess their interest in hosting activities at the national historic site, and if need be, to plan a joint initiative to enhance the development and commemoration of this chapter of history.

Vision

The Coteau-du-Lac National Historic Site is an evocative landscape where history, nature, and cultures come together.

It is an iconic place for residents of Coteau-du-Lac and the Vaudreuil-Soulanges region.

Within the next 15 years, the national historic site will be:

  • A welcoming area rooted in its surroundings, where everyone can enjoy a variety of experiences.
  • A place where cultural resources are protected, preserved, and highlighted.
  • A place with a rich tapestry of history that is adequately conveyed, recognized, and understood by visitors. This history, which spans more than 7,000 years, includes the successive use of the site by First Nations, French voyageurs, and the British military.
  • A key element of regional tourism thanks to the involvement of regional partners.

Key Strategies

Key strategy no.1:

Turn the Historic Site into a vital area of convergence for the community and regional partners.

This strategy emphasizes the site’s various possibilities of collaboration and integration within a regional tourism context. Furthermore, it focuses on increasing opportunities to use the site in alternative ways, such as for events and activities. The aim is to strengthen the site’s position as a must-see destination for the Vaudreuil-Soulanges region and the municipality of Coteau-du-Lac, and to consequently draw a wider and more diverse audience.

Objective 1.1:

Renew and expand our collaboration with stakeholders, First Nations communities, and partners to organize activities and events that align with the site’s vocation.

Goal:

  • The historic site will host two annual events or visitor experiences organized in collaboration with stakeholders, partners, or First Nations communities.

Objective 1.2:

Integrate the site into regional tourism development.

Goals:

  • Every year, the historic site will take part in the regional promotional strategy.
  • An annual promotional activity or networking event will take place.

Key strategy no. 2:

Promote the Historic Site's significance as as a heritage centre

This strategy aims to raise public awareness of the historic site’s significance as a heritage centre, either by adapting the site’s traditional activities or encouraging alternative ways of using the site. Due to the site’s layout, many visitors are unaware of its heritage value and fail to understand its historical significance.

Objective 2.1:

Improve visitor reception, orientation, and flow.

Goal:

  • By 2020, the visitor circuit will be updated to improve visitor reception, orientation, and flow.

Objective 2.2:

Improve the public’s understanding of the historic site’s heritage value through our interpretation services.

Goals:

  • By 2020, a relationship will be established with the First Nations communities with the aim of working together to better communicate the significance of the site for First Nations people.
  • By 2025, the interpretation program will be updated to better convey the original functions of the military relics and canal remnants visible on site.

Objective 2.3:

Continue to ensure the protection of cultural resources.

Goal:

  • The condition of priority cultural resources will remain stable or improve.

Strategic Environmental Assessment summary

In compliance with the Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals (2010), a strategic environmental assessment (SEA) was carried out on the Coteau-du-Lac National Historic Site’s management plan proposal. The SEA aims to incorporate environmental considerations into the development of policies, plans, and program proposals to support environmentally conscious decisions. The specific projects developed to implement the Coteau-du-Lac NHS Management Plan objectives will be separately evaluated to establish if an impact assessment is necessary under the 2012 Canadian Environmental Assessment Act or any successor legislation.

The strategies set out in the Coteau-du-Lac NHS Management Plan will allow Canadians to gain a broader understanding and appreciation of the historic site, strengthen the site’s ties with the community, and preserve its heritage resources. The implementation of measures to achieve the objectives set out in the management plan will help protect the site’s cultural resources and improve the commemorative integrity of the Coteau-du-Lac National Historic Site.

Certain strategies/objectives/targets identified in the management plan could eventually have negative environmental effects and require mitigation measures. Specifically, more visitors and increased site usage may result in greater resource usage and waste production, which may in turn impact the site’s cultural resources. The SEA also made it possible to identify potential environmental effects on the site’s vegetation and riparian strip. However, these potential environmental impacts could be mitigated by following the existing guidelines and carrying out impact assessments for on-site projects such as installations, activities, and new events, as well as cultural resource conservation and maintenance projects. These assessments will determine the effects on the site’s value components and help minimize potential negative impacts on the cultural and natural resources, the visitor experience, and the relationships with different partners.

It is impossible to determine whether the management plan will make a significant contribution to the achievement of the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy’s goals, but it is unlikely that it will hinder their progress.

No significant negative environmental impacts are expected following the implementation of the management plan.

What do you think?

This document summarizes and presents the site, its issues, a management approach, key strategies, objectives and measurable targets. Now, it's your turn to take part in the discussion. Here is your chance to add to the conversation and help us develop Coteau-du-Lac National Historic Site's management plan. Your knowledge of the area, combined with your experience of the historic site and the future you envision for it are important to us.

How to participate?

There are two ways to share your opinion:

  • Send your comments by email to: sebastien.bachmann@pc.gc.ca
  • By mail to:
    Public Consultation on The Coteau-du-Lac National Historic Site
    Parks Canada Agency at Fort Chambly
    2 De Richelieu Street, Chambly, Quebec, Canada J3L 2B9

Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions or would like further information on the public consultation.

Visit the Parks Canada website.

You have until May 24th to share your opinions, comments or ideas with us, or to submit a memory.

Thank you for your participation!

Table des matières

Une invitation à participer !

Le lieu historique national de Coteau-du-Lac planifie ses opérations pour les prochaines années. À cette fin, je vous invite à participer à cette réflexion en nous faisant part de votre point de vue et de vos suggestions dans le cadre de la période de consultation publique qui se tiendra du 20 avril au 24 mai 2018.

L’objectif de cette consultation est de permettre au grand public, aux communautés autochtones, à la municipalité, aux partenaires et aux intervenants du milieu de participer à la prise de décision relativement à la gestion du lieu historique national.

Le plan directeur guidera la gestion du lieu historique pour les dix prochaines années (2018-2028). Il fournit les orientations pour la protection des ressources culturelles et naturelles, l’expérience du visiteur, la diffusion externe et l’éducation du public.

Ce lieu historique national vous appartient ! Joignez-vous à l’équipe de Parcs Canada afin de développer une vision commune, poursuivre la protection et favoriser la découverte de ce site unique.

Nadine Blackburn
Directrice
Unité de gestion de La Mauricie et de l’ouest du Québec

Mandat de Parcs Canada

Au nom de la population canadienne, nous protégeons et mettons en valeur des exemples représentatifs du patrimoine naturel et culturel du Canada, et en favorisons chez le public la connaissance, l’appréciation et la jouissance, de manière à en assurer l’intégrité écologique et commémorative pour les générations d’aujourd’hui et de demain.

Importance du lieu historique national de Coteau-du-Lac

Coteau-du-Lac a été désigné lieu historique national en 1923 pour les raisons suivantes :

  • Car c’est le site d’un des plus anciens canaux à écluses en Amérique du Nord;
  • l’endroit a été, de 1778 jusqu’au milieu du XIXe siècle, le site d’un poste militaire britannique qui défendait le couloir et facilitait le transport des marchandises sur le fleuve Saint-Laurent;
  • l’endroit a été un point stratégique pendant la Révolution américaine et pendant la Guerre de 1812;
  • l’endroit a longtemps été le principal port d’entrée pour les importations dans le Haut-Canada

Grâce à sa situation géographique stratégique, ce lieu chargé d’histoire a toujours été une zone de passage pour progresser vers l’intérieur du pays. Des artefacts, découverts dans les années 1960 par les archéologues de Parcs Canada, attestent d’une présence autochtone remontant à 7 000 ans. Par la suite, le lieu a vu défiler voyageurs français puis militaires britanniques, comme en témoignent les vestiges de bâtiments militaires, de fortifications, d’un canal « rigolet » et du premier canal à écluse du pays. Un blockhaus britannique a été reconstruit dans les années 1960 et marque le paysage culturel.

Pour le public local et régional, le lieu constitue, en plus de sa vocation historique, un parc urbain riverain propice à la détente et à l’observation de la nature. Il s’agit d’un terrain gazonné, sillonné de sentiers et parsemé, le long de sa périphérie, d’arbres et d’arbrisseaux. Ce parc est accessible en tout temps, même hors des périodes d’opération de Parcs Canada.

Contexte de planification

Le lieu historique national a ouvert ses portes en 1968. À ce jour, la conservation et la mise en valeur ont été effectuées dans l’esprit des deux plans directeurs précédents, dont le dernier est en vigueur depuis 2007. La plupart des mesures de gestion énoncées dans le plan directeur de 2007 ont été mises en œuvre, en particulier pour l’amélioration de l’expérience de visite, la préservation et la mise en valeur des ressources culturelles.

En 2011, un chapiteau et une guérite d’accueil ont été installés et en 2014, le circuit de visite autonome extérieur a été renouvelé.

Le niveau d’intégrité commémorative a été amélioré grâce à la réalisation de percées visuelles, à des interventions récurrentes de rejointoiement des vestiges et, plus récemment, grâce à des travaux majeurs de restauration du blockhaus (2016-2017).

Ces dernières années, deux activités présentées en partenariat avec la municipalité de Coteau-du-Lac ont généré plus de la moitié de la fréquentation du site : le « Marché champêtre » (8 000 visiteurs) et la fête du Canada (7 000 visiteurs). La municipalité est d’ailleurs le principal partenaire du lieu historique national. D’autres activités ont également été réalisées par des tiers, notamment plusieurs à caractère sportif.

Depuis 2012, le site est à offre autonome à saison courte (juin à septembre). Des groupes (principalement des camps de jour) sont accueillis au cours des mois de juillet et août et reçoivent une offre personnalisée. À la suite d’une baisse de fréquentation de 52 % entre 2012 et 2013 (30 709 à 14 518), la fréquentation a augmenté de 38 % pour atteindre une moyenne annuelle de 20 000 visiteurs depuis 2014.

Plusieurs enjeux ont été soulevés lors de l’élaboration de ce plan directeur, notamment :

  • La difficulté de maintenir la fréquentation du site : à la suite d’une forte baisse de fréquentation en 2011 et 2012, le nombre de visiteurs a augmenté à nouveau ces dernières années. Cette croissance reste toutefois fragile.
  • L’aménagement du lieu historique ne favorise pas la compréhension et la valorisation de son importance historique nationale : les visiteurs ont parfois du mal à s’orienter et comprendre qu’ils se trouvent dans un lieu historique national. Le circuit de visite ne guide pas adéquatement les visiteurs vers les ressources culturelles, ce qui rend difficile la compréhension et la communication de toutes les facettes de son importance historique. Le site est accessible à tous même en dehors des heures et périodes d’opération. Ses grandes étendues gazonnées ainsi que la proximité de la rivière Delisle et du fleuve St-Laurent le rendent propice à un usage récréatif.
  • La nécessité d’établir des liens avec les communautés autochtones liées au lieu : De nombreuses traces d’occupation paléohistorique témoignent de la présence autochtone sur le site avant l’arrivée des Européens. À ce jour, il n’y a toutefois pas de relation établie avec les communautés autochtones concernées. L’établissement d’un lien avec celles-ci permettrait d’évaluer leur intérêt à tenir des activités dans le lieu historique national et, le cas échéant, d’entreprendre une démarche conjointe visant à bonifier la mise en valeur et la commémoration de ce volet de l’histoire du site.

Vision

Le lieu historique national de Coteau-du-Lac est un paysage évocateur où l’histoire, la nature et les cultures s’entremêlent.

Il s’agit d’un lieu emblématique pour les habitants de Coteau-du-Lac et de la région de Vaudreuil-Soulanges.

D’ici 15 ans, le lieu historique national sera :

  • Un lieu convivial ancré dans son milieu et permettant à tous de vivre des expériences diversifiées.
  • Un endroit où les ressources culturelles sont protégées, maintenues en bon état et mises en valeur.
  • Un lieu dont la vaste trame historique est communiquée, reconnue et comprise par les visiteurs. Cette trame, qui s’étend sur plus de 7 000 ans, comprend l’utilisation successive du lieu par les Autochtones, les voyageurs français et les militaires britanniques.
  • Un site qui rayonne comme un acteur important de l’offre touristique régionale notamment grâce à l’implication des partenaires régionaux.

Stratégies clés

Stratégie clé #1 :

Faire du site un lieu de convergence incontournable pour les communautés et les partenaires régionaux

Cette stratégie met l’accent sur la collaboration et l’intégration du lieu historique national au sein de l’offre touristique régionale. Elle consiste également à accroître les possibilités d’utilisation alternatives du lieu pour la tenue d’événements et d’activités. Ainsi, le lieu renforcera sa position de produit d’appel pour la région de Vaudreuil-Soulanges et la ville de Coteau-du-Lac et pourra attirer une clientèle plus vaste et diversifiée.

Objectif 1.1 :

La collaboration avec les intervenants, les communautés autochtones et les partenaires en vue de tenir des activités et événements compatibles avec la vocation du site est renouvelée et élargie.

Cible :

  • Le lieu historique accueille annuellement deux événements ou expériences de visite offerts en collaboration avec les intervenants, les partenaires ou les communautés autochtones.

Objectif 1.2 :

Le lieu est intégré à la dynamique de développement touristique régional.

Cibles :

  • Le lieu historique participera annuellement à la stratégie promotionnelle régionale.
  • Une action promotionnelle ou activité de réseautage est réalisée annuellement.

Stratégie clé #2 :

Valoriser l’importance patrimoniale du lieu Historique National auprès du public

Cette stratégie a pour but de rendre plus compréhensible l’importance patrimoniale du lieu historique aux yeux du public, que ce soit dans le cadre des activités traditionnelles du lieu ou d’utilisations alternatives. En effet, la configuration du site fait en sorte qu’une grande partie des utilisateurs n’est pas consciente de se trouver dans un lieu patrimonial et ne comprend pas son importance historique.

Objectif 2.1 :

L’accueil, l’orientation et la circulation des visiteurs sont améliorés.

Cible :

  • D’ici 2020, le circuit de visite est renouvelé afin d’améliorer l’accueil, l’orientation et la circulation du public

Objectif 2.2 :

L’offre d’interprétation améliore la compréhension de l’importance patrimoniale du lieu historique par le public.

Cibles :

  • D’ici 2020, un lien est établi avec les communautés autochtones concernées en vue de travailler en collaboration à une meilleure communication de l’importance historique du lieu pour celles-ci.
  • D’ici 2025, le programme d’interprétation est renouvelé pour mieux communiquer au public la fonction des vestiges militaires et de canalisation visibles sur le site.

Objectif 2.3 :

Les efforts de conservation des ressources culturelles se poursuivent.

Cible :

  • L’état des ressources culturelles prioritaires demeure stable ou s’améliore.

Résumé de l’évaluation environnementale stratégique

Conformément à la Directive du Cabinet sur l’évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes (2010), une évaluation environnementale stratégique (EES) a été menée sur la proposition du plan directeur du lieu historique national de Coteau-du-Lac. L’EES a pour objet d’intégrer les considérations d’ordre environnemental dans l’élaboration des politiques, des plans et des propositions de programme afin d’appuyer la prise de décisions respectueuses de l’environnement. Les projets particuliers réalisés pour mettre en œuvre les objectifs du plan directeur du lieu historique national feront l’objet d’une évaluation distincte afin d’établir si une analyse d’impact est nécessaire en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale 2012, ou de toute loi lui succédant.

Les stratégies énoncées dans le plan directeur du lieu historique national de Coteau-du-Lac permettront au lieu de mieux se faire connaître et apprécier des Canadiens, de renforcer ses liens avec la communauté et de maintenir ses ressources patrimoniales en bon état. La mise en œuvre de mesures pour atteindre les objectifs fixés dans le plan directeur devrait contribuer à accroître le niveau de protection des ressources culturelles et l’intégrité commémorative au Lieu historique national de Coteau-du-Lac.

Certaines stratégies/objectifs/cibles recensés dans le plan directeur pourraient éventuellement entraîner des effets environnementaux négatifs et nécessiter des mesures d’atténuation. Citons notamment l’augmentation du nombre de visiteurs et l’utilisation accrue du site, qui peuvent mener à une augmentation de l’utilisation des ressources et de la production de déchets et ainsi avoir un impact potentiel sur les ressources culturelles. L’ÉES a également permis de recenser des effets environnementaux possibles sur la végétation et la bande riveraine. Toutefois, ces différents effets pourront être atténués en suivant les lignes directrices existantes et en réalisant des évaluations des impacts pour les projets, y compris les installations, activités ou événements nouveaux, ainsi que pour les projets de conservation et d’entretien des ressources culturelles. Ces évaluations préciseront les effets sur les composantes valorisées et contribueront à atténuer les effets négatifs potentiels sur les ressources culturelles et naturelles, l’expérience des visiteurs et les relations avec les différents partenaires.

Le plan directeur ne permet pas de déterminer s’il contribuera de façon appréciable à l’atteinte des objectifs de la Stratégie de développement durable du gouvernement fédéral, mais il est peu probable qu’il nuise à leur réalisation.

Il n’y a pas d’effets environnementaux négatifs importants prévus découlant de la mise en œuvre de l’énoncé de gestion.

Qu’en pensez-vous ?

Le présent document résume et présente le site, ses enjeux ainsi que des stratégies et des objectifs de gestion. La parole est maintenant à vous! Voici l’occasion d’enrichir la réflexion et d’élaborer ensemble l’énoncé de gestion du lieu historique national de Coteau-du-Lac. Votre connaissance du site, votre expérience du lieu historique et la façon dont vous envisagez son avenir nous tiennent à cœur.

Comment participer ?

Si vous ne pouvez vous présenter à la consultation, il vous est possible de nous faire part de votre opinion de deux façons :

  • Par courriel : sebastien.bachmann@pc.gc.ca
  • Par courrier à l’adresse suivante :
    Consultations publiques – LHN de Coteau-du-Lac
    Bureau administratif de Parcs Canada au fort Chambly
    2, rue de Richelieu, Chambly (Québec) J3L 2B9 Canada

Si vous avez des questions ou si vous souhaitez obtenir des renseignements sur la consultation publique, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec nous.

Visitez le site Internet de Parcs Canada.

Vous avez jusqu’au 24 mai pour nous transmettre votre opinion, vos commentaires et vos idées.

Merci de votre précieuse collaboration!