Table of content

Coteau-du-Lac National Historic Site © Parks Canada, 2020.

The Coteau-du-Lac National Historic Site Management Plan 2018 sets out the long-term strategy for the site as well as how the site is administered. Parks Canada’s mandate is to protect and present nationally significant examples of Canada’s natural and cultural heritage, and foster public understanding, appreciation and enjoyment in ways that ensure the ecological and commemorative integrity of the places for present and future generations.

The purpose of this annual update is to share 2019 achievements with partners, stakeholders and the public.

« The site attracted 12,443 visitors, a 59% decrease from 2016 (20,908 visitors). This drop in visitors was due to the closing of the ``Marché Champêtre`` farmer’s market, an activity organized by a partner that attracted a large number of visitors. Despite this, several Management Plan objectives have been achieved. »

This short summary reports on the progress made in implementing the Management Plan over the past year.

Key strategy #1: turn the national historic site into a vital area of convergence for the community and regional partners.

Objective : Renew and expand our collaboration with stakeholders, Indigenous communities, and partners to organize activities and events that align with the site’s vocation.

  • Parks Canada is working closely with partners to enhance and diversify the ways the national historic site can be enjoyed. This fruitful collaboration is the driving force behind the site and has made it possible to carry out six activities during the summer season : the Coteau-du-Lac family celebration (June 4), Canada Day (July 1), Nautical Festival (July 20-21), outdoor movies (July 24), LearntoCamp (July 27-28), and Archeology Month (August 17-18).
  • The historic site, in collaboration with the Ville de Coteau-du-Lac, has also established a Monarch Garden. This space helps protect this butterfly species by protecting pollinators and biodiversity.

Objective : Integrate the national historic site into regional tourism development.

  • The site has collaborated with the Association touristique régionale de Vaudreuil-Soulanges on various promotional initiatives, including creating a brochure (for weddings), holding networking activities and the site manager’s sitting on the tourism advisory committee.

Key strategy # 2: promote the national historic site’s significance as a heritage centre.

Objective : Improve visitor reception, orientation, and flow.

  • Access to the site and exhibits is now free for all individual visitors. This will allow more people to discover the history of the site and enjoy the beautiful landscape.
  • New tables have been installed in the picnic area.

Objective : Improve the public’s understanding of the site’s heritage value and present the diversity of historical perspectives through interpretation services.

  • Reception areas have been redesigned and new interpretation panels are being developed.

Objective : Work together with Indegenous communities, linked to the site, in order to honour and showcase their culture and to present their contributions to the site’s history.

  • Parks Canada has established contact with several First Nations. In the longer term, the purpose of these relationships will be to provide more opportunities for them to present their culture, their perspectives on the history of the site, and their traditions.

Objective : Continue to ensure the protection of cultural resources.

  • The archaeological ruins are monitored to ensure that they remain in good condition.
  • The condition of the site’s cultural resources is improving with the completion of work on the Blockhouse, the removal of the cannon platforms, and the completion of visual improvements near the river.

Conclusion — next steps

Parks Canada Agency is proud of its 2019 achievements at the Coteau-du-Lac National Historic Site.

Given the COVID19 pandemic, over the next year Parks Canada will be working to provide public access to commemorative messages and certain facilities, in compliance with current health standards, and to protect the cultural resources of the national historic site.

Following this major crisis, Parks Canada will resume implementing the objectives identified in the 2018 Management Plan.

Image gallery

Table des matières

Lieu historique national de Coteau-du-Lac © Parcs Canada, 2020.

Le plan directeur du lieu historique national de Coteaudu- Lac, élaboré en 2018, définit l’orientation à long terme ainsi que la façon dont le lieu est administré. Parcs Canada a le mandat de protéger et de mettre en valeur des exemples représentatifs du patrimoine naturel et culturel du Canada, et en favoriser chez le public la connaissance, l’appréciation et la jouissance, de manière à en assurer l’intégrité écologique et commémorative pour les générations d’aujourd’hui et de demain.

Cette mise à jour annuelle a pour but de faire part aux partenaires, aux intervenants et à la population des réalisations accomplies pour 2019.

« Le site a attiré 12 443 visiteurs, ce qui représente une baisse de 59% par rapport aux données de 2016 (20 908 visiteurs). Cette baisse de fréquentation s’explique par l’arrêt du Marché Champêtre, activité organisée par un partenaire et qui attirait un grand nombre de visiteurs. Malgré ceci, plusieurs objectifs du plan directeur ont néanmoins été réalisés. »

Ce court résumé fait état des progrès réalisés dans la mise en oeuvre du plan directeur depuis un an.

Stratégie-clé no 1: faire du site un lieu de convergence incontournable pour les communautés et les partenaires régionaux.

Objectif : La collaboration avec les intervenants, les communautés autochtones et les partenaires en vue de tenir des activités et événements compatibles avec la vocation du site est renouvelée et élargie.

  • Parcs Canada travaille étroitement avec les partenaires de façon à bonifier et diversifier les possibilités de profiter du lieu historique national. Cette collaboration fructueuse anime le lieu et a ainsi permis de réaliser six activités au cours de la saison estivale : Fête familiale de Coteau-du-Lac (4 juin), Fête du Canada (1er juillet), Festival nautique (20-21 juillet), Cinéma en plein-air (24 juillet), Initiation au camping (27-28 juillet), Mois de l’archéologie (17-18 août).
  • Le lieu historique en collaboration avec la Ville de Coteau-du-Lac, à procédé à l’implantation du Jardin des Monarques. Cet espace permet la protection de l’espèce en protégeant les pollinisateurs et la biodiversité.

Objectif : Le lieu historique national est intégré à la dynamique de développement touristique régional.

  • Le lieu historique a collaboré avec l’Association touristique régionale de Vaudreuil-Soulanges à différentes initiatives promotionnelles dont la création d’un dépliant (mariage), des activités de réseautage et la participation de la gestionnaire du lieu au comité consultatif en tourisme.

Stratégie-clé no 2: valoriser l’importance patrimoniale du lieu historique national auprès du public.

Objectif : L’accueil, l’orientation et la circulation des visiteurs sont améliorés.

  • L’accès au lieu et aux expositions est maintenant gratuit pour tous les visiteurs individuels. Ce qui permettra à un plus grand nombre de découvrir l’histoire du lieu et de profiter du magnifique paysage.
  • De nouvelles tables ont été installées dans l’aire de pique-nique.

Objectif : L’offre d’interprétation améliore la compréhension de l’importance patrimoniale du lieu historique national par le public et présente la diversité des perspectives historiques.

  • Les aires d’accueil ont été réaménagées et de nouveaux panneaux d’interprétation sont en développement.

Objectif : Collaborer avec les communautés autochtones liées au lieu historique national en vue d’honorer et présenter au public leur culture et leur contribution à l’histoire du site.

  • Parcs Canada à noué des contacts avec plusieurs Premières Nations. À plus long terme, ces relations viseront à offrir plus d’occasions à celles-ci de présenter leur culture, leurs perspectives sur l’histoire du lieu ainsi que leurs traditions.

Objectif : Les efforts de conservation des ressources culturelles se poursuivent.

  • Les vestiges archéologiques bénéficient d’une surveillance afin d’en assurer leur bon état.
  • L’état des ressources culturelles du lieu historique s’améliore notamment par la fin des travaux au Blockhaus, le retrait des vieilles plateformes à canon, la réalisation des percées visuelles près du fleuve.

Conclusion — prochaines étapes

L’Agence Parcs Canada est fière des réalisations de 2019 pour le lieu historique national de Coteau-du- Lac.

Dans le contexte de la pandémie du COVID-19, Parcs Canada travaillera au cours de la prochaine année à offrir au public un accès aux messages commémoratifs et à certaines installations, dans le respect des normes sanitaires en vigueur, et aussi à protéger les ressources culturelles du lieu historique national.

À l’issue de cette crise majeure, Parcs Canada reprendra la mise en oeuvre des objectifs identifiés au plan directeur de 2018.

Galerie d'images