A bigger canal for bigger boats!

Following the American Revolution and until the turn of the 19th century, the arrival of the Loyalists significantly spurred trade between Upper and Lower Canada. Since these trades were largely done by waterways, the increased volume of goods in transit forced the British to use increasingly larger batteaux, such as the Durham boat.

The first St. Lawrence canals designed to let batteaux pass through were too narrow and shallow to accommodate the new boats. To solve this problem, between 1814 and 1817 the British government allocated considerable funds to enlarge the canals.

The Durham boat

The Durham boat, of American origins, was introduced in Canada around 1810. This flat-bottomed boat, with a low draught, could get past rapids and shoals without running aground. Equipped with a steering oar, the Durham had no keel or centreboard. Nevertheless, it navigated with ease on the turbulent waters in North America. The Durham boat was propelled by oars to navigate downstream and by poles to navigate upstream. The crewmen were able to hoist the sail only when they navigated leeward.

The Durham boat measured up to 27.4 m long by 3.65 m wide and could carry ten times more merchandise than the flat batteau. Four to five men were enough to sail down the St. Lawrence River, whereas about ten men were required to sail upstream. The men slept on the deck under tarps. The Captain was the only person who had a small cabin to sleep in, which was at the back of the boat. The maximum carrying capacity of a Durham boat was 350 barrels of flour or 35 tons. In 1835, around 800 Durham boats were used to transport goods on the St. Lawrence River. Its mast was ten to twelve metres tall. Installed above the deck, it could be folded down easily without displacing the cargo, when passing underneath a canal bridge. Once inside the canal, men towed the boat with ropes for it to cross the locks.

Opened to navigation in 1781, it was not until the War of 1812 that the Coteau-du-Lac Canal reached its peak. Boats headed towards the Great Lakes transported food, spirits, agricultural equipment, hardware, clothes, and tools intended for the Loyalists living in the Upper St. Lawrence. In return, they sent their surplus wheat, flour, potash, pork, and lumber back to Montréal.

Did you know? The Durham boat was equipped with a foldable mast allowing it to pass underneath fixed bridges? In Coteau-du-Lac, this feature was essential since the top end of the locks’ gate-posts were attached together with a crossbar which significantly limited air draught.

“All the boatmen sang in time with the oars. The French traveller Marmier described them in 1850,

‘[…] I doubt that any other river has heard as many professions of love as the St. Lawrence; for no Canadian boatman has gone up or down it without repeating at every splashing stroke of his oars, this national refrain : it’s been a long time that I’ve love thee, never shall I thee forget’” (E.A Talbot, 1824)

Les bateaux grandissent, les canaux suivent!

Au début du 19e siècle, l’arrivée des Loyalistes au Haut-Canada après la Révolution américaine entraîne une forte croissance des échanges entre le Bas et le Haut-Canada. Comme ces échanges se font essentiellement par voie fluviale, l’augmentation du volume de marchandises en transit force les Britanniques à utiliser des « batteaux » de plus en plus gros, tel quel le bateau Durham.

Les premiers canaux du Saint-Laurent conçus pour livrer passage aux batteaux sont trop étroits et trop peu profonds pour en permettre le passage. Pour remédier à ce problème, le gouvernement britannique affecte entre 1814 et 1817 des sommes considérables à l’agrandissement de ces canaux.

Le bateau Durham

D’origine américaine, le bateau Durham fait son apparition au Canada vers 1810. Embarcation à fond plat et de faible tirant d’eau, il peut franchir rapides et hauts-fonds sans s’échouer. Doté d’un aviron tenant lieu de gouvernail, le « Durham » n’a ni quille ni dérive. Il évolue néanmoins avec aisance sur les cours d’eau tumultueux de l’Amérique du Nord. Le bateau Durham est propulsé à l’aviron pour descendre les cours d’eau, et à la perche pour les remonter. Son équipage peut larguer une voile uniquement lorsque le Durham navigue au vent arrière.

Le bateau Durham peut atteindre 27,4 m de long par 3,65 m de large et peut transporter dix fois plus de marchandises que le « batteau » plat. Quatre à cinq hommes suffisent pour descendre le fleuve Saint-Laurent, tandis qu’une dizaine d’hommes sont nécessaires à la remontée. Ces derniers dorment sur le pont, sous des toiles. Le capitaine est le seul à bord à disposer d’une petite cabine à l’arrière du bateau. En 1835, environ 800 bateaux Durham sont utilisés pour le transport des marchandises sur le fleuve Saint-Laurent. Sa capacité de charge maximale est de 350 barils de farine, ou 35 tonnes. Son mât a une hauteur de dix à douze mètres et il est fixé au-dessus du pont, où on peut le rabattre rapidement sans déplacer la cargaison afin de passer sous les ponts des canaux. À l’intérieur du canal, des hommes halent le bateau à l’aide de cordages pour lui faire franchir les écluses.

Ouvert à la navigation dès 1781, ce n’est qu’après la Guerre de 1812 que le Canal de Coteau-du-Lac connaît son apogée. Le trafic fluvial bat son plein. Les bateaux qui se dirigent vers les Grands Lacs transportent des vivres, des spiritueux, des instruments aratoires, de la quincaillerie, des vêtements et des outils destinés aux Loyalistes installés sur le haut Saint-Laurent. En contrepartie, ces derniers envoient leurs surplus de blé, de farine, de potasse, de porc et de bois vers Montréal.

Saviez-vous que le bateau Durham dispose d’un mât rabattable qui lui permet de passer même sous les ponts fixes? À Coteau-du-Lac, cette caractéristique est essentielle puisque les montants des portes des écluses sont retenus à leur sommet par une barre transversale qui limite grandement le tirant d’air.

Tous les bateliers chantaient en cadence avec les rames. Le voyageur français Marmier les décrivait ainsi en 1850,

« […] Pas un fleuve n’a sans doute entendu autant de serments d’amour que le Saint-Laurent; car pas un batelier du Canada ne l’a descendu ou remonté sans répéter à chaque coup de rame dont il frappait les flots, ce refrain national : Il y a longtemps que je t’aime, jamais je ne t’oublierai. » [E.A. Talbot, 1824.]