Three Ways Around the Rapids

The St. Lawrence River abounds with rapids between Montréal and Kingston, especially between Lake St. Louis and Lake St. François, where a series of “cascades” made navigation impossible.

Crossing these rapids was no easy feat:

“At the top of the Coteau-du-Lac rapids, there were two different points of passage between the offshore islands. If we went past the first point of passage, the other one had to be taken. Otherwise, the risk of running aground was high. Along the way, it was important to steer clear of the “White Mare.” It was given this name because the waves crashing and foaming on imposing ridges mimicked the startled gait of a galloping mare, mane flowing in the wind.” (BESNER 1996, 106) [Translation]

Canoes, built of birch bark, were the ideal watercraft for sailing in turbulent waters because of their light weight, handling, and variable dimensions. Of Amerindian origins, canoes were quickly adopted by the French who made it, along with dugout canoes, their preferred means of transportation in Canada in the early 17th century.

Flat-bottomed batteaux were used by the French around the turn of the 18th century. Safer and more resistant, this watercraft had a higher carrying capacity. The flat-bottomed batteau was similar to a flat bottom barge with its pointed ends. Its dimensions were rarely larger than 12.1 m long by 2.4 m wide and it had a carrying capacity of 3 to 5 tons of cargo. The boat was propelled by oars or by poles; and could also be propelled by sail. It required a crew of 4 to 5 men.

For the batteaux to get past the rigolet canal, which was not equipped with locks to manage water flow, it was often necessary to unload three quarters, and sometimes all of the cargo.

Did you know that the path of the lock canal built by the British in Coteau-du-Lac follows the same path as the portage trail used by the Natives long ago?

The Former Shoreline at Coteau-du-Lac

At the eastern end of Lake St. François, dams, sluicegates, and the Coteau-du-Lac dikes divert much of the St. Lawrence’s flow into the Beauharnois Canal so that it may be used by the Beauharnois power station, which has no natural reservoir of its own.

These waterway developments considerably affected the landscape of Coteau-du-Lac. Originally, the Coteau-du-Lac Point, located at the confluence of Delisle River and St. Lawrence River, was surrounded by water. When the water receded, it became a peninsula.

Trois façons de contourner les rapides

Dans la région située entre Montréal et Kingston, le Saint-Laurent regorge littéralement de rapides, plus particulièrement entre les lacs Saint-Louis et Saint-François, où une série de « saults » rendent la navigation impossible.

La traversée de ces rapides n’est pas une expérience de tout repos :

« À la tête des rapides de Coteau-du-Lac, il y avait deux passages différents entre les îles du large. Si on manquait l’un, il fallait prendre l’autre. Sinon on risquait de s’échouer. Le long du parcours, il y avait la « jument blanche » qu’on devait éviter. On l’appelait ainsi parce que les vagues secouaient les crêtes altières et écumantes et imitaient l’allure effarouchée d’une cavale au galop, crinière au vent. » (BESNER,1996 : p.106)

Le canot, construit en écorce de bouleau, est l’embarcation idéale pour les cours d’eau tumultueux grâce à ses dimensions variables, sa maniabilité et sa légèreté. D’origine amérindienne, le canot est rapidement adopté par les Français qui en font, avec la pirogue, leur moyen de transport privilégié au Canada dès le 17e siècle.

Le bateau à fond plat est utilisé par les Français à partir du début du 18e siècle. Sécuritaire et résistante, cette embarcation permet de transporter davantage de marchandises que le canot. Le « batteau » ressemble à une barge à fond plat avec ses extrémités en forme de pointe. Il dépasse rarement 12,1 m de long par 2,4 m de large et sa capacité de charge est de 3 à 5 tonnes de marchandises. Il est propulsé à la rame ou à la perche et il avance aussi sous voile. Un équipage de 4 à 5 hommes suffit à le manœuvrer.

Il est souvent nécessaire de décharger les trois quarts et parfois même la totalité de la cargaison pour qu’un « batteau » puisse franchir le canal en rigole dont la force du courant n’est amortie par aucune écluse.

Saviez-vous que le tracé du canal à écluses construit par les Britanniques à Coteau-du-Lac suit le tracé du chemin de portage utilisé par les Amérindiens depuis des temps immémoriaux?

Les anciennes barges à Coteau-du-Lac

À l’extrémité est du lac Saint-François, le cours du Saint-Laurent est dévié dans le canal de Beauharnois par les barrages, les ouvrages de régularisation et les digues de Coteau-du-Lac afin d’alimenter la centrale de Beauharnois, qui ne dispose d’aucun réservoir naturel.

Tous ces aménagements sur la voie fluviale modifient sensiblement le paysage de Coteau-du-Lac. À l’origine, la pointe de Coteau-du-Lac, située au confluent de la rivière Delisle et du fleuve Saint-Laurent, était entourée d’eau. Le retrait des eaux en a fait une presqu’île.