Garrison and transit site

The largest building in Coteau-du-Lac is the barracks built during the Anglo-American War of 1812-1814.

The use of military barracks became widespread at the end of the 18th century, both in France and in England. Despite their belated establishment, barracks offered many benefits for military authorities.

On a tactical level, it became easier to gather troops since they were concentrated in barracks instead of scattered amongst the public. Staying in barracks also ensured better control of the soldiers’ discipline: it allowed them to restrict drunkenness and debauchery. It was more difficult for soldiers in barracks to desert. In addition, barracks were an effective way to create homogeneity and an increased sense of belonging among troops.

At Coteau-du-Lac, each of the 6 rooms had 12 double bunk beds. This made overcrowding and lack of privacy primary characteristics of barracks life. As for heating and lighting, soldiers could only count on a fixed weekly ration of fuel: this ration, limited by strict regulations, was often insufficient, considering the unusual climate. Furthermore, hygiene conditions were inadequate and the premises were often unsanitary as the continual replacement of straw mattresses and the frequent whitewashing of buildings indicated.

Did you know that the Coteau-du-Lac barracks did not have rooms to accommodate couples and families? Women and children had to share the space!

By the 1830s, a very few of its rooms were occupied. The fort’s Sergeant, who lived in one of them in 1835, complained bitterly of the cold and asked a larger fuel allowance. “I beg leave most respectfully to submit to your consideration the great inconvenience I am subjected from  the very small allowance of fuel (half a room) which I am entitled to as fort’s Sergeant at this post and which is quite insufficient to warm the large barrack room 30 feet by 24 feet that I am obliged to occupy, the same having 17 open loop holes for musquetry.” (Ingram 1981, 187)

Lieu de garnison et de transit

Le plus grand bâtiment au fort de Coteau-du-Lac est la caserne érigée lors de la guerre anglo-américaine de 1812-1814.

La pratique généralisée du casernement militaire ne s’installe qu’à la fin du 18e siècle, que ce soit en France ou en Angleterre. En dépit de son instauration tardive, le casernement présente cependant plusieurs avantages pour les autorités militaires.

Sur le plan tactique, il devient plus facile de rassembler les troupes si elles sont concentrées dans un corps de casernes plutôt que dispersées dans la population. Le logement en casernes assure aussi un meilleur contrôle de la discipline chez les militaires : il permet de restreindre ivrognerie et libertinages chez les soldats. Il devient plus difficile pour le soldat caserné de déserter. En outre, le casernement constitue un moyen privilégié pour instituer chez les troupes une certaine homogénéité et un sentiment d’appartenance.

À Coteau-du-Lac, chacune des 6 chambrées comporte 12 lits doubles et superposés. Entassement et promiscuité caractérisent donc la vie en caserne. En ce qui concerne le chauffage et l’éclairage, les soldats ne peuvent compter que sur une ration hebdomadaire fixe de combustible; limitée par des règlements sévères, cette ration s’avère souvent insuffisante, compte tenu des particularités climatiques. De plus, les conditions d’hygiène sont inadéquates et les locaux, souvent insalubres, comme en témoignent le renouvellement continuel des paillasses et le chaulage fréquent des édifices.

Saviez-vous que la caserne de Coteau-du-Lac ne comporte aucune chambre pour accommoder les couples ou familles? Femmes et enfants se partageaient le plancher!

Dans les années 1830, un très petit nombre de ses pièces était occupé. Le sergent du fort, qui habitait l’une d’elles en 1835, se plaignait amèrement du froid et réclamait une quantité de combustible plus grande. « Je me permets très respectueusement de porter à votre connaissance le grand inconvénient auquel je suis soumis du fait de la très petite quantité de combustible (la moitié d’une pièce) à laquelle j’ai droit en qualité de sergent de fort du présent poste et qui est totalement insuffisante pour chauffer la grande salle de la caserne que je suis obligé d’occuper et qui mesure 30 pieds sur 24, ladite salle comptant 17 meurtrières ouvertes pour les tirs de mousquet. » (Ingram : 1981, p. 19.)