Guaranteed fun with the game of the parachute!
Guaranteed fun with the game of the parachute!

Welcome to Fort Gaillard!

A special program for day camps

Take part in “Fort Gaillard,” a game in which the most resourceful participants discover hidden treasures! Players have to compete in a series of contests with the goal of collecting as many keys as possible so as to increase their chances of opening the treasure chest.

The various contests include: reloading a cannon, storming the fort armed with sponges, a military race, a rally, impossible resupply and many others!

Which team – the blue, red, green or yellow team – will open the treasure chest?

This essentially play-centred program of activities emphasizes fun, teamwork and pushing one’s limits. Likewise, “Fort” and “Gaillard” (a French word for hale and hearty) take on their full meaning when applied to Coteau-du-Lac National Historic Site, considering that the military theme and the boot camp-style atmosphere characterize a portion of the contests. The remaining events round off the commemorative themes associated with this historic site – namely, Aboriginal people and the lock canal.


An exciting race between the ramparts!
An exciting race between the ramparts!

By the end of the program, children will have had fun through activities drawing on past periods of occupation of this place, but they will have not received a learning content of a kind reserved for school programs.

Program details

Recommended age: between 6 and 12 years of age
Size of group: 150 children maximum per half-day
Lenght of program: 4 hours (one day)
Fees: $7.30 per child
(taxes included)
Free of charge for accompanying adults

The ghost ship!

Young participants in action
Young participants in action
New theme in 2018!
New challenges:
  1. Captain’s secret
    The captain of the ship stranded near the tip of Coteau-du-Lac knows that he left behind a treasure whose river rapids are now masters. Help him find the treasures scattered by the current.
  2. To avoid disaster!
    You know the consequences of sailing on the river near the tumultuous rapids? The knots fall apart and the sails quickly change direction. Try to keep the ship's course in the rapids by making good sea knots.
  3. Without losing your footing!
    In the strong current of the St. Lawrence rapids, the shipwrecked had to demonstrate team spirit and ingenuity in order to return safely to the shore. Do like them and try to make your way through the obstacles without losing your footing.
  4. The words of the Coteau-du-Lac rapids
    As the crew evacuated the ships, some sailors misunderstood the captain's instructions, which certainly led to the sinking of the fleet. Learn from their mistakes and transmit the received messages accurately.

Reserve now

Plaisir garanti avec le jeu du parachute!
Plaisir garanti avec le jeu du parachute!

Bienvenue à Fort Gaillard!

Programme spécial pour les camps de jour

Participez à Fort Gaillard, où les plus gaillards découvriront les trésors cachés! Les participants doivent réussir une série d’épreuves afin d’accumuler un maximum de clés pour augmenter leur chance d’ouvrir le coffre aux trésors.

Parmi les épreuves, il y a le défi de recharger un canon, la prise du fort à l’aide d’éponges, la course militaire, le rallye du fort, le ravitaillement impossible et bien d’autres!

Qui des bleus, des rouges, des verts ou des jaunes ouvrira le coffre aux trésors?

Ce programme d’activités, essentiellement ludique, est axé sur le plaisir, le travail d’équipe et le dépassement de soi. Les mots Fort et Gaillard prennent également tout leur sens lorsqu’ils sont appliqués au lieu historique de Coteau-du-Lac puisque la thématique militaire et l’atmosphère rythmée d’un enrôlement sont présentes dans une partie des épreuves. Les autres épreuves viennent compléter les thèmes commémoratifs de ce lieu historique, entre autres, les Amérindiens et le canal à écluses.


Une course enlevante entre les remparts!
Une course enlevante entre les remparts!

À la fin du programme, les enfants auront eu du plaisir par le biais d’activités inspirées des périodes d’occupations passées sans avoir eu un contenu didactique plutôt réservé aux programmes scolaires.

Détails du programme

Âge recommandé : entre 6 et 12 ans
Taille du groupe : 150 maximum par demi-journée
Durée du programme : 4 heures (une journée)
Tarifs : 7,30 $ / enfant
(taxes incluses)
Gratuit pour les accompagnateurs

Le vaisseau fantôme!

De jeunes participants en pleine action
De jeunes participants en pleine action
Nouvelle thématique en 2018!
Nouvelles épreuves :
  1. Le secret du capitaine
    Le capitaine du vaisseau échoué près de la pointe de Coteau-du-Lac sait qu’il a laissé derrière lui un trésor dont les rapides du fleuve sont maintenant les maîtres. Aidez-le à trouver les trésors dispersés par le courant.
  2. Pour éviter le désastre!
    Vous connaissez les conséquences de naviguer sur le fleuve près des rapides tumultueux? Les nœuds se défont et les voiles changent rapidement de direction. Tentez de maintenir le cap du vaisseau dans les rapides en réussissant de bons nœuds marins.
  3. Sans perdre pied!
    Avec le fort courant des rapides du Saint-Laurent, les naufragés ont dû faire preuve d’esprit d’équipe et d’ingéniosité afin de regagner la rive sains et saufs. Faites comme eux et essayer de vous tailler un chemin pour franchir les obstacles sans perdre pied.
  4. Les mots des rapides de Coteau-du-Lac
    Au moment où l’équipage évacuait les navires, certains marins ont mal compris les consignes du capitaine, ce qui a certainement mené au naufrage de la flotte. Apprenez de leurs erreurs et transmettez les messages reçus de manière exacte.

Réservez maintenant