Table of contents

An invitation to take part!

The Battle of the Châteauguay National Historic Site is planning its operations for upcoming years. To this end, we will be holding public consultations from May 22 to June 22, 2018. I encourage you to take part in this process by sharing your thoughts and suggestions.

The purpose of this consultation is to give the partners, community stakeholders and general public an opportunity to get involved in the decision-making process related to managing this national historic site.

The management plan is the official document that will guide management of the historic site for the next ten years (2018–2028). It provides orientation for protecting cultural and natural resources, visitor experiences and public education.

This national historic site belongs to you! Join the Parks Canada team in developing a common vision and in protecting this national historic site, while encouraging visitors to discover this unique place.

Nadine Blackburn
Superintendent
Mauricie and Western Quebec Field Unit

Parks Canada’s Mandate

On behalf of the people of Canada, we protect and present nationally significant examples of Canada's natural and cultural heritage, and foster public understanding, appreciation and enjoyment in ways that ensure the ecological and commemorative integrity of these places for present and future generations.

Importance of the Battle of the Châteauguay National Historic Site

The Battle of the Châteauguay took place during what is commonly known as the “War of 1812,” an armed conflict that marked Canadian–American relations in the early nineteenth century. In the summer of 1813, the United States organized a military expedition against Lower Canada to capture Montréal and cut supply routes to Upper Canada. The northern American army was split into two divisions. The first division, commanded by James Wilkinson, was to march out from Lake Ontario and approach Montréal from the upper Saint Lawrence Valley. The second, led by Wade Hampton, was to follow the Châteauguay River and meet with Wilkinson’s division on Île Perrot. From there, they would begin their joint assault on Montréal. The strategy proved ineffective, however, as Hampton and his troops were intercepted on their way to Montréal by some 300 Canadian and native defenders commanded by Charles-Michel de Salaberry. Other fighters, 1,500 militiamen and 200 natives, were standing nearby in reinforcements. The confrontation took place on October 26, 1813, along the banks of the Châteauguay River near Allan’s Corners. The Canadian and Indigenous victory was considered a national triumph for Lower Canada, and Salaberry became the symbol of the French Canadians’ military value and loyalty.

Today, few remnants of the battle remain publicly accessible, save a collection of objects on exhibition in the interpretation centre and features of the landscape that existed when the battle took place, such as the Châteauguay River.

Celebrations of the battle’s significance began in 1895 with the erection of a stone obelisk. The area was designated a national historic site in 1920 by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada (HSMBC) for the following reasons:

“The Battle of the Châteauguay National Historic Site of Canada commemorates the significance of this battle, occurring on October 26, 1813, and the role that the combatants played in defending Canada against the United States during the War of 1812–1814.”

In November 1964, the HSMBC recommended that the Government proceed with the acquisition of a site for commemorating and interpreting the battle. The land, purchased in 1968 by the Chateauguay Valley Historical Society, is located near the heart of the battlefield and covers 1.56 hectares, less than 1% of the original 202-hectare battle site, which spanned close to 15 km (see Map 2).

The site managed by Parks Canada is divided into two sections. The first is a relaxation area for visitors and includes an interpretation centre built in 1978, a nineteenth-century log cabin unrelated to the battle, and a parking lot. The second is a small plot of land (24 m x 48 m) located about 300 m west of the interpretation centre and featuring a stone obelisk erected in 1895 to commemorate the battle.

Public exhibitions and films about the battle presented in the interpretation centre highlight the site’s national historical significance. A lookout point and scale model give visitors an idea of the scope of the battlefield and help them better understand the different stages of the confrontation. Outside, an HSMBC commemorative plaque and the obelisk solemnize the event. Lastly, a groomed trail lined with interpretation panels allows visitors to explore a part of the battlefield by car or bicycle.

Planning context

The national historic site opened its doors to the public in 1978. To date, conservation and development efforts have been carried out according to the previous management plan, in effect since 2007. Most of the management measures set out in this plan were implemented. The most notable projects from recent years have involved the visitor experience. In 2008, a groomed trail (archaeotour) was created in partnership with Archéo-Québec and the owners of the neighbouring properties to allow visitors to explore the battlefield by car or bike and learn from interpretation panels how the confrontation unfolded. In 2012, the interpretation centre’s exhibitions were updated to allow visitors to explore the site autonomously. A year later, several large-scale events were held on the site commemorating the battle and the bicentenary of the “War of 1812.” Lastly, the site periodically hosts activities organized by third parties and partners.

Since 2014, the site is available for self-guided experiences : seven days a week from June 23 to September 3 and on weekends and holidays from September 4 to October 1. In 2016, the site welcomed 3,024 visitors, and a year later, during the 150th anniversary of Canadian Confederation, this number climbed to 4,213.

The national historic site contributes to its environment. Its visibility comes from its participation in activities and events organized by partners and regional institutions on the battlefield or in the surrounding area (“Battle of the Châteauguay Cross Country Run,” historical reenactments, the Ormstown Fair, and more). In 2017, the national historic site became one of the region’s welcome points as part of an agreement signed with the Centre local de développement (CLD) du Haut-Saint-Laurent.

Many issues were raised during the management plan’s development, including the following:

  • The national historic site’s low visitor numbers: In 2014 and 2015, the national historic site saw visitor numbers drop by more than 57% since the 2011 reference year (3,613 visitors in 2011, compared to 1,542 in 2015). In 2016, the numbers went up to 3,024 visitors. Then, in 2017, visitor numbers reached 4,213 thanks to the free Parks Canada Discovery Pass. However, this growth remains fragile. The national historic site is not an obvious tourist attraction due to its removed location, its themes addressing a limited audience, and the low population of its surrounding area. In addition, few traces of the battle remain visible on the designated site.
  • Relevance of the interpretation centre: The impressive interpretation centre was designed in 1978 to welcome up to 18,000 visitors annually. Its relevance nowadays is being called into question, however. The centre no longer seems to be the best solution for the national historic site’s success, commemorative quality, or visitor experience. The national significance of the Battle of the Châteauguay is largely experienced along the self-guided archaeotour trail outside the zone administered by Parks Canada. Furthermore, the battle is memorialized outside with the commemorative plaque and the obelisk. Lastly, the building is open three months per year, requires over $600,000 in recapitalization investments, and incurs exorbitant annual heating costs.

Vision

In 2028…

The Battle of the Châteauguay National Historic Site is a place of discovery, learning, and commemoration that highlights a significant chapter of the country’s military history and defence. It recounts the ups and downs of the conflict and tells the story of the Canadians, Indigenous people, and Americans that fought on the battlefield, while situating the battle’s significance in the context of the War of 1812.

The importance of this event for Canada is shared with the public through various means, both on and off the territory administered by Parks Canada.

The surrounding communities promote the site by using it to hold activities. Collaboration with various partners and stakeholders allow the site to offer a selection of joint regional tourism options.

The national historic site is well positioned within the region’s tourism industry and the selection of historic sites commemorating the War of 1812.

Key Strategies

Key strategy no.1:

A vibrant site where everyone can discover and commemorate the significance of the Battle of the Châteauguay

Thanks to a dynamic and diversified offer of activities and the historic site’s participation within the regional tourism network and the network of sites commemorating the War of 1812, a wider range of Canadians will be able to discover and commemorate the significance of the Battle of the Châteauguay and of the people and communities that took part.

Objective 1.1:

Implement a varied selection of activities tailored to the needs of the site’s target audiences (school groups, servicewomen and servicemen, tourism professionals).

Target:

  • Launch three new or updated activities aimed at the site’s target audiences by 2028.

Objective 1.2:

Better present the Indigenous communities’ role in the battle and the War of 1812 to the public.

Target:

  • Establish a partnership with the Indigenous communities to highlight their contribution by 2022.

Objective 1.3:

Increase the site’s success by working in concert with partners.

Targets:

  • Participate annually in two activities organized jointly with partners.
  • Participate annually in a joint initiative with other sites commemorating the War of 1812.

Key strategy no. 2:

A visitor experience centred on the Battlefield

Nowadays, the interpretation centre appears to be less essential for learning about the Battle of the Châteauguay. It seems more appropriate to facilitate access to the commemorative messages outside the centre, allowing a greater number of visitors to discover the significance of the battle. Moreover, maintaining the interpretation centre constitutes a major challenge for Parks Canada. Consequently, this strategy aims to improve the visiting options outside the interpretation centre and reassess its management approach.

Objective 2.1:

Improve the presentation of the various elements of the site’s history outside the interpretation centre.

Targets:

  • Improve the interpretation program outside the interpretation centre by 2024.
  • Keep the obelisk and commemorative plaque in good condition for solemnizing the battle until 2028.

Objective 2.2:

Implement a new management approach for the interpretation centre in concert with local and regional stakeholders and partners.

Targets:

  • Design a new management approach for the interpretation centre in concert with local and regional stakeholders and partners by 2022.
  • Implement a new management approach for the interpretation centre by 2028.

Strategic Environmental Assessment summary

In compliance with the Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals (2010), a strategic environmental assessment (SEA) is carried out for all management statements introduced in Parliament. The SEA aims to incorporate environmental considerations into the development of policies, plans, and program proposals to support environmentally conscious decisions. The specific projects developed to implement the historic site’s management statement objectives will be separately evaluated to establish if an impact assessment is necessary under the 2012 Canadian Environmental Assessment Act or any successor legislation. 

The strategies set out in the proposed management plan will allow Canadians to gain a broader understanding and appreciation of the historic site, strengthen the site’s ties with the community, and preserve its heritage resources.
Implementing measures for attaining the objectives set out in this proposed management plan should help to improve the site’s visibility, thereby drawing in more visitors and continuing the site’s efforts to commemorate the Battle of the Châteauguay. The strategies, objectives, and targets identified in the management plan are unlikely to have negative environmental effects. Impact assessments will evaluate the potential negative effects of the individually proposed projects on the site and its valuable features, including any species at risk and their critical habitats, and help minimize these impacts on the cultural and natural resources, the visitor experience, and the relationships with different partners.

It is impossible to determine whether the management plan will make a significant contribution to the achievement of the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy’s goals, but it is unlikely that it will hinder their progress.

No significant negative environmental impacts are expected following the implementation of the management plan.

The scope of the SEA included the area contained within the limits of the historic site and administered site and spanned a 10-year period. In addition to the cultural resources, the environmental components worth mentioning in this area include the green and peaceful forest vegetation, the riparian strip along the river, and the aquatic fauna, including endangered fish species in the bodies of water on and bordering the Fort Chambly National Historic Site. The implementation of the plan will have many positive residual effects. The plan’s most significant positive effect, resulting from increased visitor numbers, will be the public’s greater understanding, awareness, support, and appreciation of the site’s natural and cultural resources.

Certain strategies/objectives/targets identified in the management plan are likely to have negative environmental effects. In particular, more visitors and increased site usage may result in greater resource usage and waste production, which may in turn impact the site’s cultural resources. The SEA also made it possible to identify potential environmental effects on the site’s vegetation, riparian strip, and bodies of water. Proper maintenance of the vegetation is recommended to minimize the decline in tree numbers and preserve the canopy area index, as the canopy is highly appreciated by visitors. Other potential environmental impacts can be mitigated by following the existing guidelines and carrying out impact assessments for the projects. These assessments will determine the effects on the site’s valuable features and help minimize potential negative impacts on the cultural and natural resources, the visitor experience, and the relationships with different partners.

This plan supports the following federal sustainable development strategy, which consists in “connecting Canadians to nature.” We can assume that other measures will be considered during the project’s development or day-to-day operations.

No significant negative environmental impacts are expected following the implementation of the management plan.

What do you think?

This document summarizes and presents the site, its issues, a vision, key strategies, objectives and measurable targets. Now, it's your turn to take part in the discussion. Here is your chance to add to the conversation and help us develop the Battle of the Châteauguay National Historic Site's management plan. Your knowledge of the area, combined with your experience of the historic site and the future you envision for it are important to us.

How to participate?

There are two ways to share your opinion:

  • Send your comments by email to: sebastien.bachmann@pc.gc.ca
  • By mail to:
    Public Consultation on the Battle of the Châteauguay National Historic Site
    Parks Canada Agency at Fort Chambly
    2 De Richelieu Street, Chambly, Quebec, Canada J3L 2B9

Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions or would like further information on the public consultation.

Visit the Parks Canada website.

You have until June 22 to share your opinions, comments or ideas with us, or to submit a memory.

Thank you for your participation!

Table des matières

Une invitation à participer !

Le lieu historique national de la Bataille-de-la-Châteauguay planifie ses opérations pour les prochaines années. À cette fin, je vous invite à participer à cette réflexion en nous faisant part de votre point de vue et de vos suggestions dans le cadre de la période de consultation publique qui se tiendra du 22 mai au 22 juin 2018.

L’objectif de cette consultation est de permettre au grand public, aux communautés autochtones, à la municipalité, aux partenaires et aux intervenants du milieu de participer à la prise de décision relativement à la gestion du lieu historique national.

Le plan directeur guidera la gestion du lieu historique pour les dix prochaines années (2018-2028). Il fournit les orientations pour la protection des ressources culturelles et naturelles, l’expérience du visiteur, la diffusion externe et l’éducation du public.

Ce lieu historique national vous appartient ! Joignez-vous à l’équipe de Parcs Canada afin de développer une vision commune, poursuivre la protection et favoriser la découverte de ce site unique.

Nadine Blackburn
Directrice
Unité de gestion de La Mauricie et de l’Ouest du Québec

Mandat de Parcs Canada

Au nom de la population canadienne, nous protégeons et mettons en valeur des exemples représentatifs du patrimoine naturel et culturel du Canada, et en favorisons chez le public la connaissance, l’appréciation et la jouissance, de manière à en assurer l’intégrité écologique et commémorative pour les générations d’aujourd’hui et de demain.

Importance du lieu historique national de la Bataille-de-la-Châteauguay

La bataille de la Châteauguay s’inscrit dans le cadre du conflit armé qui a ponctué les relations canado-américaines au début du XIXe siècle et qu’on appelle couramment « la guerre de 1812 ». À l’été de 1813, les États-Unis mirent sur pied une expédition militaire contre le Bas-Canada, cherchant à s’emparer de Montréal afin de couper les lignes de ravitaillement du Haut-Canada. L’armée du nord des États-Unis fut divisée en deux parties. La première, commandée par Wilkinson, venant par le lac Ontario, devait gagner Montréal par la haute vallée du Saint-Laurent. La deuxième, commandée par Hampton, devait emprunter l’axe de la rivière Châteauguay et se joindre à la première à L’Île-Perrot, d’où partirait l’attaque sur Montréal. Cette stratégie fut cependant déjouée, car l’armée de Hampton fut arrêtée dans sa marche vers Montréal par quelque 300 défenseurs canadiens et autochtones commandés par Charles-Michel de Salaberry. D’autres combattants, 1500 miliciens et 200 autochtones, se tenaient à proximité en renforts. Cet affrontement eut lieu sur les rives de la Châteauguay, près du lieu dit Allan’s Corners, le 26 octobre 1813. La victoire fut considérée comme un triomphe national au Bas-Canada, et Salaberry devint le symbole de la valeur militaire et de la loyauté des Canadiens français.

De nos jours, peu de traces de la bataille sont visibles pour le public, hormis quelques objets exposés dans le centre d’interprétation et des éléments de paysage qui existaient à l’époque de la bataille, comme la rivière Châteauguay.

L’importance de la bataille a été commémorée dès 1895 par la construction d’un obélisque de pierre. L’endroit a été désigné lieu historique national en 1920 par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada (CLMHC) pour les raisons suivantes :

« Le lieu historique national du Canada de la Bataille-de-la-Châteauguay commémore l’importance de ce fait d’armes survenu le 26 octobre 1813 et le rôle que les combattants ont joué pour la défense du Canada contre les États-Unis lors de la guerre de 1812-1814. »

En novembre 1964, la CLMHC a recommandé au gouvernement de procéder à l’acquisition d’un terrain en vue d’en faire un lieu de commémoration et d’interprétation de la bataille. Ce terrain, acheté en 1968 à la Société historique de la Vallée de la Châteauguay, est situé presque au centre du champ de bataille et a une superficie de 1,56 hectare. Ceci représente moins de 1 % du site de la bataille, qui s’étendait à l’époque sur une quinzaine de kilomètres et couvrait une superficie d’environ 202 hectares (voir carte 2).

Le lieu administré par Parcs Canada est divisé en deux sections. Un terrain aménagé en aire de détente pour les visiteurs comprend un centre d’interprétation construit en 1978, une maison du XIXe siècle en pièce sur pièce sans aucun lien avec la désignation, ainsi qu’un stationnement. Un deuxième petit terrain (24 mètres sur 48 mètres), situé environ à 300 mètres à l’ouest du centre d’interprétation, comprend un obélisque de pierre érigé en 1895 pour y commémorer le fait d’armes.

Les messages liés à la désignation d’importance historique nationale sont présentés au public dans le centre d’interprétation grâce à des expositions et à des films sur la bataille. Un belvédère d’observation et une maquette permettent de visualiser l’ampleur du champ de bataille et de mieux comprendre les différentes étapes de la confrontation. À l’extérieur, une plaque commémorative de la CLMHC et l’obélisque commémorent solennellement l’événement. Enfin, un circuit balisé par des panneaux d’interprétation permet aux visiteurs de circuler en auto ou à vélo sur une partie du champ de bataille.

Contexte de planification

Le lieu historique national a ouvert ses portes au public en 1978. À ce jour, la conservation et la mise en valeur ont été effectuées dans l’esprit du plan directeur précédent, en vigueur depuis 2007. La plupart des mesures de gestion énoncées dans celui-ci ont été mises en œuvre. Les réalisations les plus marquantes de ces dernières années ont porté sur l’expérience de visite. Ainsi, en 2008, un circuit balisé (Archéotour) a été créé en partenariat avec Archéo-Québec et les propriétaires de terrains environnants afin de permettre aux visiteurs de sillonner, en auto ou à vélo, le champ de bataille et de comprendre le déroulement de la confrontation grâce à des panneaux d’interprétation. En 2012, les expositions du centre d’interprétation ont été mises à jour pour permettre au public de visiter le site de façon autonome. En 2013, le lieu a accueilli plusieurs événements d’envergure visant à commémorer la bataille et le bicentenaire de la « guerre de 1812 ». Enfin, le lieu accueille occasionnellement des activités menées par des tiers ou des partenaires.

Depuis 2014, le site est à offre autonome à saison courte (sept jours par semaine, du 23 juin au 3 septembre, et les fins de semaine et jours fériés, du 4 septembre au 1er octobre). En 2016, le lieu a accueilli 3 024 visiteurs; en 2017, à l’occasion du 150e anniversaire de la confédération, 4 213 personnes ont visité le site.

Le lieu historique national contribue à son milieu. Il rayonne grâce à sa participation à des activités et à des événements organisés par des partenaires ou des institutions régionales sur le terrain de la bataille ou dans les environs (« Battle of the Châteauguay run », reconstitutions historiques, foire d’Ormstown, etc.). En 2017, le lieu historique national est devenu l’un des postes d’accueil touristique de la région dans le cadre d’une entente signée avec le Centre local de développement (CLD) du Haut-Saint-Laurent.

Plusieurs enjeux ont été soulevés lors de l’élaboration du présent plan directeur, dont les suivants :

  • Faible fréquentation du lieu historique national : En 2014 et 2015, le lieu historique national a connu une baisse de fréquentation de plus 57 % par rapport à l’année de référence 2011 (3 613 visiteurs en 2011, comparativement à 1 542 en 2015). En 2016, la fréquentation a remonté pour atteindre 3 024 visiteurs. Puis, en 2017, elle s’est chiffrée à 4 213 visiteurs grâce à l’offre gratuite de la carte d’entrée Découverte de Parcs Canada. Cette croissance reste toutefois fragile. En effet, le lieu historique national n’est pas un attrait touristique naturel en raison de sa situation excentrée, de sa thématique touchant un public limité, du faible bassin de population vivant dans les environs et du fait que peu de traces de la bataille sont visibles sur l’ensemble du lieu désigné de nos jours.
  • Pertinence du centre d’interprétation : L’imposant centre d’interprétation a été conçu en 1978 pour accueillir jusqu’à 18 000 visiteurs annuellement. Toutefois, sa pertinence est aujourd’hui remise en question. Le centre n’apparaît plus nécessairement comme la meilleure solution pour le rayonnement, la commémoration et l’expérience de visite du lieu historique national. En effet, l’importance nationale de la bataille de la Châteauguay se communique en grande partie en dehors du lieu administré par Parcs Canada au moyen du circuit autoguidé Archéotour. La commémoration de la bataille se fait à l’extérieur grâce à la plaque commémorative et à l’obélisque. Enfin, le bâtiment n’est ouvert que trois mois par année, requiert des investissements de recapitalisation dépassant 600 000 $ et entraîne des frais de chauffage annuels élevés.

Vision

En 2028…

Le lieu historique national de la Bataille-de-la-Châteauguay est un espace de découverte, d’apprentissage et de commémoration qui met en lumière une page significative de l’histoire militaire et de la défense du pays. Il révèle les péripéties de ce fait d’armes, et parle des Canadiens, des Autochtones et des Américains qui y ont pris part, ainsi que de la place de la bataille dans les enjeux de la guerre de 1812.

L’importance de cet événement pour le Canada est communiquée au public de multiples façons, tant sur le terrain administré par Parcs Canada qu’en dehors de celui-ci.

Les communautés s’approprient le lieu, y tiennent des activités et le font rayonner. La collaboration avec divers partenaires et intervenants permet d’offrir un produit touristique régional concerté.

Le lieu historique national est bien positionné au sein de l’industrie touristique régionale et des lieux historiques commémorant la guerre de 1812.

Stratégies clés

Stratégie clé no 1 :

Un lieu dynamique permettant à tous de découvrir et de commémorer l’importance de la Bataille de la Châteauguay

Grâce à une offre d’expériences dynamique et diversifiée ainsi qu’à une participation du lieu historique au sein du réseau touristique régional et du réseau des lieux commémorant la guerre de 1812, un éventail élargi de Canadiens pourront découvrir et commémorer l’importance de la bataille de la Châteauguay, ainsi que celle des personnes et des communautés qui y ont pris part.

Objectif 1.1 :

Une offre d’activités diversifiée et adaptée aux besoins des clientèles cibles du lieu (groupes scolaires, militaires, professionnels du tourisme) est mise en place.

Cible :

  • D’ici 2028, lancement de trois activités nouvelles ou renouvelées visant les clientèles cibles du lieu.

Objectif 1.2 :

Le rôle des communautés autochtones en lien avec la bataille et la guerre de 1812 est mieux présenté au public.

Cible :

  • D’ici 2022, établissement d’une collaboration avec les communautés autochtones pour la mise en valeur de la thématique.

Objectif 1.3 :

Le lieu travaille de concert avec des partenaires afin d’augmenter son rayonnement.

Cibles :

  • Participation annuelle à deux activités menées conjointement avec des partenaires.
  • Participation annuelle à une initiative conjointe avec d’autres lieux liés à la guerre de 1812.

Stratégie clé no 2 :

Une expérience de visite centrée sur le Champ de Bataille

De nos jours, le centre d’interprétation apparaît moins indispensable pour faire découvrir la bataille de la Châteauguay. Il semble en effet plus pertinent de faciliter l’accès aux messages commémoratifs à l’extérieur du centre, ce qui permettrait de sensibiliser un plus grand nombre de visiteurs à l’importance de la bataille. De plus, l’entretien du centre d’interprétation représente un défi important pour Parcs Canada. Cette stratégie vise donc à renforcer l’offre de visite à l’extérieur du centre d’interprétation et à en revoir l’approche de gestion.

Objectif 2.1 :

La présentation des diverses facettes de l’histoire du lieu est bonifiée en dehors du centre d’interprétation.

Cibles :

  • D’ici 2024, bonification du programme d’interprétation à l’extérieur du centre d’interprétation.
  • D’ici 2028, maintien en bon état de l’obélisque et de la plaque commémorative afin de commémorer solennellement la bataille.

Objectif 2.2 :

Une nouvelle approche de gestion du centre d’interprétation est instaurée en concertation avec les partenaires et intervenants locaux et régionaux.

Cibles :

  • D’ici 2022, élaboration d’une nouvelle approche de gestion du centre d’interprétation en concertation avec les partenaires et intervenants locaux et régionaux.
  • D’ici 2028, mise en œuvre d’une nouvelle approche de gestion du centre d’interprétation.

Évaluation environnementale stratégique

Conformément à la Directive du Cabinet sur l’évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes (2010), une évaluation environnementale stratégique (EES) est réalisée pour tous les énoncés de gestion déposés au Parlement. L’EES a pour objet d’intégrer les considérations d’ordre environnemental dans l’élaboration des politiques, des plans et des propositions de programme afin d’appuyer la prise de décisions respectueuses de l’environnement. Les projets particuliers réalisés pour mettre en œuvre les objectifs de l’énoncé de gestion sur le lieu historique feront l’objet d’une évaluation distincte afin d’établir si une analyse d’impact est nécessaire en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale (2012), ou de toute loi lui succédant. 

Les stratégies énoncées dans la proposition du plan directeur permettront au lieu historique national de mieux se faire connaître et apprécier par les Canadiens, de renforcer ses liens avec la communauté et de maintenir ses ressources patrimoniales en bon état.

La mise en œuvre de mesures pour atteindre les stratégies, objectifs et cibles fixés dans cette proposition devrait permettre d’améliorer le rayonnement du site afin que celui-ci attire un plus grand nombre de visiteurs et poursuive ses efforts en vue de commémorer la bataille de la Châteauguay. Les stratégies, objectifs et cibles indiqués dans le plan directeur sont peu susceptibles d’entraîner des effets environnementaux négatifs. Les évaluations d’impact aborderont les effets négatifs potentiels des projets proposés individuellement sur le site. Ces évaluations préciseront les effets sur les composantes valorisées, dont les espèces en péril potentielles et leurs habitats essentiels, et contribueront à l’atténuation des effets négatifs potentiels sur les ressources culturelles et naturelles, l’expérience des visiteurs et les relations avec les différents partenaires.

Le plan directeur ne permet pas de déterminer s’il contribuera de façon importante aux objectifs de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable, mais les chances qu’il nuise à leur réalisation sont faibles.

Il n’y a pas d’effet environnemental négatif important prévu découlant de la mise en œuvre du plan directeur.

Qu’en pensez-vous ?

Le présent document résume et présente le site, ses enjeux ainsi que des stratégies et des objectifs de gestion. La parole est maintenant à vous! Voici l’occasion d’enrichir la réflexion et d’élaborer ensemble l’énoncé de gestion du lieu historique national du lieu historique national de la Bataille-de-la-Châteauguay. Votre connaissance du site, votre expérience du lieu historique et la façon dont vous envisagez son avenir nous tiennent à cœur.

Comment participer ?

Si vous ne pouvez vous présenter à la consultation, il vous est possible de nous faire part de votre opinion de deux façons :

  • Par courriel : sebastien.bachmann@pc.gc.ca
  • Par courrier à l’adresse suivante :
    Consultations publiques – LHN de la Bataille-de-la-Châteauguay
    Bureau administratif de Parcs Canada au fort Chambly
    2, rue de Richelieu, Chambly (Québec) J3L 2B9 Canada

Si vous avez des questions ou si vous souhaitez obtenir des renseignements sur la consultation publique, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec nous.

Visitez le site Internet de Parcs Canada.

Vous avez jusqu’au 22 juin pour nous transmettre votre opinion, vos commentaires et vos idées.

Merci de votre précieuse collaboration!