The Morrison Ford was on a bend in the Châteauguay River further from the cart road at this location, allowing for a quick crossing of the river.

When the barracks were full, the militia members were lodged in the homes of local residents. The law required them to house them under the threat of a fine of 20 shillings for a first offence, and a fine of 5 pounds or a prison term not exceeding 15 days in the event of a reoffence.

At the time, the principal characteristics of a resident’s home could be described as follows: the floors were of wood, the chimney was in the middle of the house, and a divider separated the kitchen from the living room with small bedrooms at its ends.

It is said that many owners living along the shores of the Châteauguay had to tolerate a significant number of soldiers in their homes. Often, the bourgeois class (notaries, lawyers, doctors, etc.) gave preference to officers, particularly those already known by the family. As well, some residents were able to rent their homes for accommodations or as a guard house.

Today, it was still possible to identify some homes that were here at the time of the battle. It is however difficult to be sure which ones were used for the purposes described above.

Le Gué Morrison se trouvait sur un des coudes de la rivière Châteauguay qui, à cet endroit, s’éloignait du chemin de charroi et permettait de traverser rapidement la rivière.

Lorsque les casernes sont bondées, on loge les miliciens dans les maisons des habitants. La loi oblige ces derniers à les recevoir sous peine d’une amende de 20 chellins pour une première offense, et une amende de 5 livres ou une peine d’emprisonnement n’excédant pas 15 jours en cas de récidive.

À l’époque, les principales caractéristiques d’une maison d’habitant se résument à celles-ci : les planchers sont de bois, la cheminée est placée au centre de la maison et une division sépare la cuisine de la grande salle dotée de petites chambres à coucher à ses extrémités.

On raconte que plusieurs propriétaires occupant les rives de la Châteauguay ont dû tolérer la présence d’un bon nombre de soldats dans leur demeure. Souvent, la classe bourgeoise (notaire, avocat, médecin, etc.) donnait préséance aux officiers, surtout à ceux déjà connus de la famille. Aussi, certains habitants pouvaient-ils louer leur maison pour tenir lieu de logement ou de corps de garde.

Aujourd’hui, il est encore possible de repérer quelques maisons existantes au moment de la bataille. Il est toutefois difficile d’établir avec certitude lesquelles ont servi aux fins décrites plus haut.