You are now at the fourth natural contour. Remember that the men were placed on the top of the ravine, usually protected by a small abatis. The marching adversary approaching the entrenchment had to make the effort to climb the slope, crossing the abatis while trying to accurately aim a rifle.

It is said that there may have been other entrenchments. Historian Victor Suthren established the most detailed and complete description of the location and the number of Canadian troops. But, by his own admission, his description remains incomplete due to the vague nature of the documentation and contradictory accounts.

Today, this entrenchment is seen as the last position in the protection of the Morrison Ford. Walking on the battlefield ground, it may be easier to envision the extent of the Canadian’s defensive positions as they focused on their ultimate goal, slowing the Americans in their march to Montréal.

Vous êtes maintenant à la position de la quatrième dénivellation naturelle. À titre de rappel, les hommes étaient placés sur le haut du ravin, souvent protégés par un petit abattis. Ainsi, l’adversaire en marche qui approchait du retranchement devait faire l’effort de gravir la pente, franchir l’abattis tout en tentant de manier le fusil avec précision.

On raconte qu’il a pu y avoir d’autres retranchements. La description la plus détaillée et la plus complète de l’emplacement et du nombre de troupes canadiennes fut établie par l’historien Victor Suthren. Or, de son propre aveu, sa description demeure incomplète à cause du caractère imprécis de la documentation et de témoignages contradictoires.

Aujourd’hui, ce retranchement rappelle la dernière position de protection du gué Morrison. En foulant ainsi le sol du champ de bataille, il est peut-être plus facile pour vous de visualiser l’étendue des positions défensives des Canadiens et de garder le cap sur leur objectif ultime, soit ralentir les Américains dans leur marche vers Montréal.