Behind the abatis, about 1500 men were part of the reserve, the majority of whom were gathered behind four defensive lines made up of natural gullies. These entrenchments on the north shore allowed reinforcements to be sent quickly to the south shore, which was heavily wooded and partially marshy.

Lieutenant Colonel George Richard John Macdonell (nicknamed Red George), commanded the reserve troops.

The map at the bottom of the sign will enable you to better visualize all of the Canadian defensive positions. The first entrenchment is located about 3.2 km from the firing line. It brought together troops of Voltigeurs, Sedentary Militia, and Selected Embodied Militia.

The Canadian Voltigeurs were voluntary militia who were enlisted for the duration of the conflict. Soldiers from the Selected Embodied Militia were conscripted and enlisted by contract for a period of two years. Their names were chosen by the drawing of lots. The Voltigeurs wore a grey uniform and a bearskin shako (hat) while the Selected Embodied Militia had a red jacket and blue pants. A shako with a plume completed their uniform.

It is said that while waiting for the American attack, the Canadians began to fortify their positions by placing trees and building entrenchments.

“[Translation] Seeing that the enemy was not advancing, we began to fortify our position with trees and to create entrenchment spaces; we spent three days and three nights behind these entrenchments watching the enemy. About half a league higher than us, there was a wooded point leading to the river; only the road crossed it. There, Colonel de Salaberry had an abatis built, which our pickets guarded afterwards and where the battle took place [...].” (V. J. H. Suthren, The Battle of the Châteauguay, 1980)

Today, it may be difficult to identify the natural ravines from among those that have been artificially made or added with the aim of better draining agricultural lands.

Overview of the Entranchment 1 Spot
Overview of the Entrenchment 1 Spot

Derrière l’abattis, environ 1 500 hommes font partie de la réserve dont la majorité est regroupée derrière quatre lignes défensives composées de ravines naturelles. Ces retranchements situés sur la rive nord permettent d’envoyer assez rapidement des renforts vers la rive sud. Celle-ci était densément boisée et partiellement marécageuse.

Le lieutenant-colonel George Richard John Macdonell (surnommé Red George) commandait les troupes de la réserve.

La carte située au bas de la balise vous permettra de mieux visualiser l’ensemble des positions défensives canadiennes. Le premier retranchement est situé à environ 3,2 kilomètres de la ligne de feu. Il regroupe des troupes des Voltigeurs, de la milice sédentaire et de la milice d’élite et incorporée.

Les Voltigeurs canadiens sont des miliciens volontaires qui se sont engagés pour la durée du conflit. Les soldats de la milice d’élite et incorporée sont des miliciens conscrits et enrôlés par contrats pour une période d’un à deux ans. Leur nom est choisi par un tirage au sort. Les Voltigeurs portent un uniforme gris et un shako en poil d’ours tandis que les soldats de la milice d’élite et incorporée revêtent une veste rouge et un pantalon bleu. Un shako muni d’un plumet complète leur uniforme.

On raconte qu’en attente de l’offensive des troupes américaines, les Canadiens ont commencé à fortifier leurs positions en plaçant des arbres et en construisant des retranchements :

« C’est derrière ces retranchements que nous avons passé trois jours et trois nuits à guetter l’ennemi. À environ une demi-lieue plus haut que nous, il y avait une pointe de bois qui avançait jusqu’à la rivière; le chemin seul la traversait. Là, le colonel de Salaberry fit faire un abattis que nos picquets ont gardé depuis et où la bataille a eu lieu […].» (V.J.H. Suthren, La bataille de la Châteauguay, 1980)

Aujourd’hui, il peut sembler difficile de repérer les ravines naturelles parmi celles qui ont été artificiellement façonnées ou ajoutées dans le but de mieux drainer les terres agricoles.

Aperçu de l'emplacement du retranchement 1
Aperçu de l'emplacement du retranchement 1