The main conflicts on October 26, 1813 took place here, on the firing line, in the heart of the battlefield.

The abatis raised on the top of the ravine The abatis raised on the top of the ravine

On October 24, 1813, Charles-Michel de Salaberry ordered his men to build an abatis, 3.2 km in front of his four entrenchments. Imagine a defensive line along the ravine by crossing the road to the river. In the Canadian defensive strategy, this abatis, made up of branches and scrub brush, enabled the troops to block access to this road on the north shore. The 90-degree angle of the abatis, part of which skirted the river, provided added protection of the south shore.

Salaberry had placed a detachment of the Canadian Fencibles in a forward position under the orders of captains Louis Guy and John Johnson in order to warn of the arrival of the Americans and protect the troops who were building the abatis. Behind this structure located at the top of the ravine, in dense forest, he deployed 22 Amerindians, a detachment of Canadian Fencibles, two units of Canadian Voltigeurs, and Sedentary Militia of Beauharnois, for a total of 300 men.

At this location, behind the line of fire, was a bunker under construction. Fairly small and made of logs, it helped give added protection of the troops.

The Americans, numbering 1000, opened fire on the Canadian forward position, on the morning of October 26. Later in the day, Hampton’s troops renewed the attack at about 2:30 p.m. when the shooting intensified. The Canadian Fencibles in the forward position returned to the abatis. At this time, Salaberry called on all of his men to sound the trumpet and shout in the woods in order to deceive the enemy. This ruse allowed the Canadians to prevent Hampton’s army from reaching the abatis, making them believe there were many more Canadian troops.

To follow the battle hour by hour

The troops of Lieutenant Colonel Charles-Michel de Salaberry stopped Wade Hampton’s army of 3700 regular soldiers on their way to Montreal.

The obelisk, a monument erected in 1895 by the Canadian Parliament The obelisk, a monument erected in 1895 by the Canadian Parliament

It is said that Charles-Michel d’Irumberry de Salaberry, a career officer in the British Army, was an officer very demanding of his men and imposing strict discipline. The militia troops under his command were given the same treatment. During the shooting on October 26, 1813, Salaberry was involved in the combat himself, shooting at an American officer. This decisive victory over the American troops made Salaberry a popular hero. Over time he became a mythical figure and his name is inscribed in the pantheon of Quebec military glory. Many place names, like that of Salaberry-de-Valleyfield, are witness to the fact that his exploits made a strong impression on the collective memory.

Today, it is easy to identify the front line, located 0.1 km west of the Battle of the Châteauguay National Historic Site, at Allan’s Corners. The indoor lookout at the interpretive centre allows you to see the size of the battlefield. The scale model of the battlefield shows the different positions and movements of the troops on October 26, 1813. This allows the landscapes back then to be compared with those of today. Note the obelisk, a monument erected in 1895 by the Canadian Parliament in memory of those who fought in the Battle of the Châteauguay, located close to the front line.

Les principaux affrontements du 26 octobre 1813 ont eu lieu, ici, à la ligne de feu, au cœur du champ de bataille.

L’abattis érigé sur le haut du ravin L’abattis érigé sur le haut du ravin

Le 24 octobre 1813, Charles-Michel de Salaberry ordonne à ses hommes de construire un abattis, à 3,2 km à l’avant des quatre retranchements. Imaginez une ligne défensive qui longe le ravin en croisant la route, jusqu’à la rivière Châteauguay. Dans la stratégie défensive canadienne, cet abattis, composé de branches et de fardoches, permettait de bloquer l’accès à cette route sur la rive nord. L’angle de 90 degrés de l’abattis, dont une partie longeait la rivière, augmente la protection de la rive sud.

Salaberry avait placé en avant-poste un détachement de la compagnie légère des Canadian Fencibles sous les ordres des capitaines Louis Guy et John Johnson afin de l’aviser de l’arrivée des Américains et de protéger les troupes qui construisaient l’abattis. Derrière cette structure située en haut du ravin, il déploie 22 Amérindiens dans la forêt dense, un détachement de Canadian Fencibles, 2 unités de Voltigeurs canadiens et des miliciens sédentaires de Beauharnois, pour un total de 300 hommes.

À cet endroit, derrière la ligne de feu, se trouvait un blockhaus en construction. De taille modeste et fait de rondins, il permettait d’accroître la protection des troupes.

Les Américains, au nombre de 1 000, déclenchent les tirs sur le poste-avancé canadien, le 26 octobre au matin. Plus tard dans la journée, les troupes de Hampton reprennent l’attaque vers 14 heures et demie alors que les coups de feu s’intensifient. Les Canadian Fencibles placés en avant-poste rejoignent l’abattis. À ce moment, Salaberry fait appel à tous ses hommes et leur ordonne de sonner le clairon et de crier dans les bois afin de tromper l’adversaire. Cette fine ruse permet aux Canadiens d’empêcher l’armée de Hampton de franchir l’abattis, faisant croire que les troupes canadiennes sont beaucoup plus nombreuses.

Pour suivre la bataille d’heure en heure

Les troupes du lieutenant-colonel Charles-Michel de Salaberry ont arrêté l’armée de Wade Hampton, soit 3 700 soldats réguliers en route vers Montréal.

L’obélisque, monument érigé par le Parlement canadien (1895) L’obélisque, monument érigé par le Parlement canadien (1895)

On raconte que Charles-Michel d’Irumberry de Salaberry, officier de carrière dans l’armée britannique, était un officier très exigeant envers ses hommes et leur imposait une discipline sévère. Les troupes de la milice sous son commandement étaient soumises aux mêmes exigences. Lors des coups de feu du 26 octobre 1813, Salaberry s’est lui-même porté au combat en tirant sur un officier américain. Cette victoire décisive sur les troupes américaines fit de Salaberry un héros populaire. Il est devenu au fil du temps une figure mythique et son nom est inscrit au panthéon des gloires militaires québécoises. Plusieurs toponymes, dont celui de Salaberry-de-Valleyfield, témoignent du fait que ses exploits ont fortement marqué la mémoire collective.

Aujourd’hui, il est facile de repérer sur le terrain la ligne de front située à environ 0,1 km, à l’ouest du lieu historique national de la Bataille-de-la-Châteauguay, à Allan’s Corners. Le belvédère intérieur du centre d’interprétation permet d’observer l’immensité du champ d’honneur. La maquette du champ de bataille présente les différentes positions et déplacements des troupes le 26 octobre 1813. Ceci permet de comparer les paysages d’hier et d’aujourd’hui. À remarquer, l’obélisque, monument érigé par le Parlement canadien (1895) à la mémoire des combattants de la bataille de la Châteauguay, est situé tout près de la ligne de front.