Pointe Ronde Pointe Ronde

On October 26, early in the morning, Purdy’s troops reached the height of Pointe ronde, near the Canadian forward position on the north shore. The wetlands slowed their movements considerably during the night. Only Purdy’s forward troops continued on their way, letting themselves be guided to the abatis by gun shots fired from the other shore at around 10 a.m. Purdy knew he was still far from Morrison Ford.

Pointe ronde was the meeting point for Purdy’s troops, particularly the forward troops who, after having been surprised by Brugière’s picket, sent to protect the south shore, were being pursued by Canadian reinforcements made up of troops led by Jean-Baptiste Brugière and Charles Daly.

As well, these American troops endured the crossfire from both shores of the Châteauguay River, preceded by a bayonet charge at about 3 p.m. Seeing Daly intermittently through the trees, Salaberry called out his orders in French, and recommended responding in the same language so that the Americans wouldn’t understand.

Pointe Ronde Position Pointe Ronde Position

It is said that after the defeat, Purdy gathered his troops at Pointe ronde and built a floating bridge to evacuate the injured. The light infantry soldiers of Major Josiah Snelling were charged with this mission. They crossed the river to return to the encampment by the cart road, under intense fire from the Amerindians.

Today, it is easy to find Pointe ronde on the actual battlefield. It is located not far from the front line (0.6 km to the east), where the river runs along a wide curve that can be easily seen from the Rivière-Châteauguay road.

La Pointe Ronde La Pointe Ronde

Le 26 octobre, tôt le matin, les troupes de Purdy sont parvenues à la hauteur de la Pointe ronde, tout près de la position de l’avant-garde canadienne sur la rive nord. Les marécages ont ralenti considérablement leurs déplacements au cours de la nuit. Seule l’avant-garde de Purdy poursuit son chemin en se laissant guider par les coups de feu tirés, de l’autre côté vers 10 heures, à l’abattis. Purdy sait alors qu’il est encore loin du gué Morrison.

La Pointe Ronde tient lieu de rencontre pour les troupes de Purdy, surtout pour l’avant-garde qui, après avoir été surprise par le piquet de Brugière, dépêché pour protéger la rive sud, est poursuivie par ce renfort canadien composé des troupes de Jean-Baptiste Brugière et de Charles Daly.

De plus, ces troupes américaines essuient les tirs croisés provenant des deux rives de la rivière Châteauguay, précédés d’une charge à la baïonnette vers les 15 heures. Apercevant Daly à travers les arbres par intermittence, Salaberry lui crie ses ordres en français et lui recommande de répondre dans cette même langue afin que les Américains ne les comprennent pas.

À la hauteur de la Pointe Ronde À la hauteur de la Pointe Ronde

On raconte qu’après la défaite, Purdy a réuni ses troupes à la Pointe Ronde et fit construire un pont flottant pour évacuer les blessés. Les soldats d’infanterie légère du major Josiah Snelling furent chargés de cette mission. Ils traversèrent la rivière et s’en retournèrent au campement par le chemin du charroi, et ce, sous les feux intenses des Amérindiens.

Aujourd’hui, il est facile de repérer la Pointe ronde sur l’actuel champ de bataille. Elle est située non loin de la ligne de front (0,6 km vers l’est), là où la rivière longe une grande courbe que vous pouvez aisément voir depuis le chemin de la Rivière-Châteauguay.