American Troop Picture
American Troop Picture
© Hugh Charles McBarron, Canadian Parks Service

Upon their arrival on October 21 and 22, 1813, the American army officers chose this site for the encampment of their 3700 soldiers. This “advance position” was on cleared land near the Aux Outardes and Châteauguay rivers.

Upon arriving here, Hampton evaluated the defensive position of the Canadian troops on the ground. Guides and informants had kept him well informed, telling him the location of the abatis (felled trees interlaced to obstruct the passage of the invaders), the four defence lines of the troops in reserve, and the eventual addition of new trenches by reinforcement troops. So well that on October 25, Hampton already knew that he would try to encircle these positions.

The departure of Purdy’s troops for the south shore of the Châteauguay River took place not far from the encampment, travelling via a ford. The cart road, on the north shore, enabled him to quickly reach the first defensive line of the British forces.

The Battle of the Châteauguay took place on October 26, 1813, between 10 a.m. and 3 p.m. Major General Wade Hampton’s American troops stayed on the banks of the Châteauguay for seven days. After their defeat, they decamped to recross the border on October 30 and returned to their winter quarters at Four Corners. Salaberry and his men had foiled the intent of seizing Montréal.

It is said that Hampton’s troops left many items behind.

“The Americans abandoned muskets, drums, haversacks, provisions, etc., scattered along Purdy’s route. Later, Salaberry counted 150 muskets and 6 drums.” (V. J. H. Suthren, The Battle of the Châteauguay, 1980).

Battle of the ChâteauguayAn American drum and an American rifle found along the Châteauguay River can now be seen in the museum room at the Battle of the Châteauguay National Historic Site.

Today, the site of the American encampment is private property that in early June each year, hosts the Ormstown Fair (since 1914), an agricultural exhibition highlighting rural life. This property is located at the entrance to the town of Ormstown in beautiful surroundings where the architecture of many of the homes reflect a Loyalist influence. The area encompassing the Ormstown fairgrounds represents only a small part of the actual space covered by the American encampment in 1813.

American Encampment Spot
Overview of the American Encampment Spot

Troupe américaine
Illustration d'une troupe américaine
© Hugh Charles McBarron, Service canadien des parcs

À leur arrivée, les 21 et 22 octobre 1813, les officiers de l’armée américaine choisissent cet emplacement pour installer le campement de leurs 3 700 soldats. Cette « position avancée » se trouvait sur un terrain débroussaillé situé à proximité des rivières aux Outardes et Châteauguay.

C’est ici que Hampton évalue dès son arrivée la position défensive des troupes canadiennes sur le terrain. Des guides et des informateurs le tiennent bien informé, lui précisant l’emplacement de l’abattis, des quatre lignes de défense des troupes en réserve et de l’ajout éventuel de nouveaux retranchements par les troupes en renfort. Si bien que le 25 octobre, Hampton sait déjà qu’il tentera une manœuvre d’encerclement sur ces positions.

Le départ des troupes de Purdy pour rejoindre la rive sud de la rivière Châteauguay s’effectue non loin du campement, par le biais d’un passage à gué. Le chemin de charroi, situé sur la rive nord, lui permet d’accéder rapidement à la première ligne défensive des forces britanniques.

La bataille de la Châteauguay se déroule le 26 octobre 1813, entre 10 heures et 15 heures. Les troupes américaines du major général Wade Hampton vont séjourner sept jours sur les berges de la Châteauguay. Après leur défaite, ils lèvent le camp pour ensuite retraverser la frontière le 30 octobre et rejoindre leurs quartiers d’hiver à Four Corners. L’objectif de s’emparer de Montréal a été déjoué par Salaberry et ses hommes.

On raconte que les troupes de Hampton ont laissé derrière eux de nombreux objets.

« Les Américains auraient abandonné mousquets, tambour, havre sacs, provisions, etc., éparpillés sur la route de Purdy. Plus tard, Salaberry compta 150 mousquets et 6 tambours. »
(V.J.H. Suthren, La bataille de la Châteauguay, 1980)

Il est d’ailleurs possible de voir dans la salle du musée du lieu historique national de la Bataille-de-la-Châteauguay, un tambour et un fusil américains trouvés le long de la rivière Châteauguay.

Aujourd’hui, le site du campement américain est une propriété privée qui accueille chaque année, au début du mois de juin, la Foire d’Ormstown (depuis 1914), lieu d’expositions agricoles et de mise en valeur du milieu rural. Cette propriété se situe à l’entrée du village d’Ormstown dans un paysage enchanteur où l’architecture de plusieurs maisons témoigne de l’influence loyaliste. Les limites du terrain d’Expo Ormstown ne représentent qu’une partie de la superficie réelle du campement américain, en 1813.

Emplacement du campement américain
Aperçu de l'emplacement du campement américain