West End of the Battlefield

An American army of about 4000 soldiers, under the command of Major General Wade Hampton, left Plattsburgh in September 1813. This column marched the length of the Richelieu River, while another under the command of General James Wilkinson followed the St. Lawrence River. They were ordered to converge on Montreal and seize it to prevent the provision of supplies to the colonies of Upper Canada.

Along the way, Wade Hampton’s troop encountered British forces at Odelltown, near Lacolle. Short of fresh water, they withdrew to the United States (Chazy) and then headed towards the Châteauguay River.

During this time, in Lower Canada, Lieutenant Colonel Charles-Michel de Salaberry, responsible for protecting the Châteauguay corridor, placed scouts in various positions to keep track of Hampton’s movements. In the afternoon of October 1, 1813, Salaberry, accompanied by Canadian and Amerindian Voltigeurs, attempted to attack Hampton’s encampment set up at Châteauguay Four Corners, in New York State. Detecting the threat of American flank companies, Salaberry retreated along the Châteauguay River:

“While retreating along the Châteauguay River, on the cart road he blocked as he went along, Salaberry noted the advantages afforded by the terrain near the present site of Allan’s Corner (Quebec) as a place to confront the American army in the event it moved northward.” (V. J. H. Suthren, The Battle of the Châteauguay, 1980)
A Canadian picket A Canadian Picket
© E. Leliepvre, 1977, Parks Canada

A Canadian picket made up of about 40 Sedentary Militia soldiers and Amerindians set themselves up near Spear’s Farm. Upon the arrival of Brigadier General George Izzard at supper time, the Canadian troops, after exchanging a few gun shots, succeeded in warning Salaberry that the Americans were coming.

It is said that the American militia, who were accompanying Hampton’s regular troops, refused to cross the border into Lower Canada. As a result, on October 21, 1813, Hampton continued his march to Montreal with an army of about 3700 men in two brigades: that of Colonel Robert Purdy and that of Izzard. With his 1000 men, Izzard took the Aux Outardes River while Purdy followed the Châteauguay with the rest of the troops on a road that was in very poor condition.

Today, the Aux Outardes River drains directly into the Châteauguay River, at the town of Ormstown. As indicated on Jebb’s map, in 1813, the mouth of the Aux Outardes River divided into two, thereby forming a small island.

Emplacement de la ferme Spear
Spear’s Farm Spot

Extrémité ouest du champ de bataille

Une armée américaine composée d’environ 4 000 soldats sous le commandement du major général Wade Hampton, quitte Plattsburgh, en septembre 1813. Cette colonne marche le long de la rivière Richelieu tandis qu’une autre placée sous le commandement du général James Wilkinson emprunte le fleuve Saint-Laurent. Elles ont reçu l’ordre de converger vers Montréal et de s’en emparer afin d’empêcher le ravitaillement des colonies du Haut-Canada.

En cours de route, la troupe de Wade Hampton se bute à des forces britanniques, à Odelltown près de Lacolle. À court d’eau fraîche, elle se replie aux États-Unis (Chazy) pour ensuite se diriger vers la rivière Châteauguay.

Pendant ce temps, au Bas-Canada, le lieutenant-colonel Charles-Michel de Salaberry, responsable de la protection du couloir de la Châteauguay, déploie des éclaireurs à différents postes afin de le tenir informé des déplacements de Hampton. Dans l’après-midi du 1er octobre 1813, Salaberry, accompagné de Voltigeurs canadiens et d’Amérindiens, tente une attaque au campement de Hampton, érigé à Chateaugay Four Corners, dans l’État de New York. Décelant la menace des compagnies de flanc américaines, Salaberry retraite le long de la rivière de la Châteauguay :

« Tout en se repliant le long de la Châteauguay, sur le chemin de charroi qu’il obstruait à mesure, Salaberry remarqua les avantages qu’offrait le terrain près du site actuel d’Allan’s Corners (Québec) comme site pour affronter l’armée américaine dans l’éventualité de son déplacement vers le nord. » (V.J.H. Suthren, La bataille de la Châteauguay, 1980)
Un piquet de garde canadien Un piquet de garde canadien
© E. Leliepvre, 1977, Parcs Canada

Un piquet canadien composé d’environ 40 miliciens sédentaires et Amérindiens est installé tout prêt de la Ferme Spear. À l’arrivée du brigadier général George Izard à l’heure du souper, les miliciens canadiens parviennent, après un échange de coups de feu, à aviser Salaberry de la présence des Américains.

On raconte que la milice américaine, qui accompagnait les troupes régulières de Hampton, refusa de traverser la frontière du Bas-Canada. Si bien que le 21 octobre 1813, Hampton continua sa marche vers Montréal avec une armée d’environ 3 700 hommes divisée en deux brigades : celle du colonel Robert Purdy et celle d’Izard. Avec ses 1 000 hommes, ce dernier emprunta la rivière aux Outardes alors que Purdy suivit la Châteauguay avec le reste des troupes sur une route en très mauvais état.

Aujourd’hui, la rivière aux Outardes se jette directement dans la rivière Châteauguay, à la hauteur du village d’Ormstown. En vous référant à la carte de Jebb, l’embouchure de la rivière aux Outardes, en 1813, se scindait en deux, formant ainsi une petite île.

Emplacement de la ferme Spear
Emplacement de la ferme Spear