Fostering the cohabitation of flora and fauna species: monarch and milkweed

Milkweed plant and a butterfly

On the banks of the Chambly Canal, visitors may notice a tall plant that looks like a weed: milkweed. Like other plants along the canal path, they were purposely introduced by Parks Canada as part of an eco plan to foster the cohabitation of species of flora and fauna. 


Milkweed is a plant with fragrant pink, orange and sometimes red blossoms. Its nectar attracts many types of insects and pollinators such as bees, wasps, butterflies and hummingbirds. At various stages, a number of different insects feed exclusively on milkweed. This is the case with the monarch caterpillar, which is why the monarch butterfly’s survival is closely tied to milkweed.

By planting milkweed along the banks of the Chambly Canal, Parks Canada hopes to help save the monarch butterfly. The Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) currently considers the monarch as endangered and the Species at Risk Act (SARA) lists it as being under special protection.

Favoriser la cohabitation d’espèces de la faune et de la flore : l’exemple du monarque et de l’asclépiade.

Papillon monarque sur fleur asclépiade.

Sur les berges du canal de Chambly, les visiteurs peuvent remarquer cette grande herbe/plante aux allures de mauvaise herbe : l’asclépiade. Comme d’autres plantes en bordures de la piste du canal, elles sont ensemencées volontairement par Parcs Canada dans le cadre d’un plan écologique, favorisant la cohabitation d’espèce de la faune et la flore. 

L’asclépiade est une plante aux fleurs odorantes, roses, oranges, parfois rouges. Le nectar de ses fleurs attire de nombreux insectes et animaux pollinisateurs comme les abeilles, les guêpes, les papillons et les colibris. À un stade ou un autre, plusieurs insectes se nourrissent exclusivement des asclépiades. C’est le cas de la chenille du monarque et c’est pour cette raison que la survie du papillon monarque est intimement liée aux asclépiades.

En privilégiant l’asclépiade le long des berges du canal de Chambly, Parcs Canada espère contribuer à la sauvegarde du monarque. En effet, le monarque est actuellement désigné en voie de disparition par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) et aussi de préoccupante en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP).