History

Since starting the operations of the Richelieu canals (Chambly canal and Saint-Ours Canal), various projects are planned to improve navigation on the Richelieu-Lake Champlain axis. It was not until the early 1930s that work to widen the Saint-Ours lock was undertaken in order to adjust its size to the systems of the St. Lawrence and New York State canals. In the Haut-Richelieu portion, construction began in 1938 on a dam/regulator at Fryer Island. However, the outbreak of World War II seemed to change priorities and all of the planned interventions were not carried out, putting a brake on this project to create a seaway on the Richelieu River. As a result, the Fryer Island dam/regulator will never be functional.

In the early 1970s, the Chambly Canal was enlarged in certain places but, once again, the overall project was never completed. In doing so, the Chambly Canal will never have reached the current dimensions of the Saint-Ours Canal and the Champlain Canal (New York State).

Quotation

“The channelling of the Richelieu is permanently dead. A supposedly fabulous project that received a huge deal of attention in news publications and that every riverside community along the Richelieu ardently desired has just received its death warrant and will remain only an unfulfilled dream.” (Journal de Chambly, 1967)

Not to be missed

Some years ago, major soil erosion problems came to light along the shore near the Fryer Dam. To alleviate this situation, specialists planted willows, a plant which has the characteristic of generating substantial root networks. This stabilized the soil and elimi- nated erosion. The principle is called “bioen- gineering. ” Take a few minutes to observe this principle, with human ingenuity placed at the service of nature.

On a lighter note

Rumours are circulating among the local population. It is said, among other things, that the canal expansion project was abandoned because of errors in calculation, which is not true. This earned one of the canal’s concrete walls the nickname “wall of shame.”

It was also said that, once the dam became operational, the town of Iberville would have been completely submerge beneath the flood tides of the Richelieu River!

Did you know?

Fryer Island is home to a wide variety of tree and plant species. Located in the midst of wetlands, the island’s perimeter is colonized by the silver maple and the red ash. The island is recognized as the most northerly spot where the blue oak, a rare and endangered species, can be found. But watch out: the island is also home to many specimens of poison ivy. You are thus urged to stay on the trails.

Histoire

Depuis la mise en opération des canaux du Richelieu (canal de Chambly et canal de Saint-Ours), divers projets sont projetés afin d’améliorer la navigation sur l’axe rivière Richelieu-lac Champlain. Il faut attendre le début des années 1930 pour que les travaux d’élargissement de l’écluse de Saint-Ours soient entrepris afin d’ajuster son gabarit aux systèmes des canaux du Saint-Laurent et de l’État de New York. Dans la portion du Haut-Richelieu, on entreprend, en 1938, la construction d’un barrage/régulateur au niveau de l’île Fryer. Toutefois, le déclenchement de la Deuxième Guerre mondiale semble modifier les priorités et l’ensemble des interventions projetées ne sont pas effectuées, mettant un frein à ce projet de création d’une voie maritime sur la rivière Richelieu. Résultat, le barrage/régulateur de l’île Fryer ne sera jamais fonctionnel.

Au début des années 1970, le canal de Chambly est agrandi à certains endroits mais, encore une fois, le projet global ne sera jamais complété. Ce faisant, le canal de Chambly n’aura jamais atteint les dimensions actuelles du canal de Saint-Ours et du canal de Champlain (État de New York).

Citation

« La canalisation du Richelieu est définitivement morte. Un projet mirifique qui a fait couler beaucoup d’encre dans les publications d’information et que toutes les localités riveraines de la rivière Richelieu souhaitaient ardemment, vient de recevoir son coup de mort et ne demeurera qu’un rêve irréalisé. » (Journal de Chambly, 1967)

À ne pas manquer

Il y a de cela quelques années, d’importants problèmes reliés à l’érosion des sols ont fait surface sur la rive près du barrage Fryer.
Pour pallier la situation, des spécialistes ont planté des saules, une plante qui a la caractéristique de générer de grands réseaux de racines. Ils ont ainsi permis la stabilisation du sol et l’élimination de l’érosion. Ce principe est appelé « génie végétal ». Prenez quelques minutes pour observer ce principe où l’ingéniosité humaine se met au service de la nature.

Fait cocasse

Plusieurs rumeurs circulent dans la population locale. On dit, entre autres, que le projet d’agrandissement du canal a été abandonné en raison d’erreur de calculs, ce qui est faux.
Cela a d’ailleurs valu à un mur de ciment du canal, le sobriquet de « mur de la honte ».

Il a aussi été dit que, une fois le barrage fonctionnel, la municipalité d’Iberville aurait été complètement immergée sous les flots de la rivière Richelieu! Ce qui est également faux. 

Saviez-vous que?

L’île Fryer est l’hôte d’une grande variété d’espèces d’arbres et de plantes. Située en plein cœur de terres humides, le pourtour de l’île Fryer est colonisé par l’érable argenté et le frêne rouge. Or, l’île est reconnue pour être l’endroit le plus septentrional où l’on retrouve du chêne bleu, une espèce rare et en voie de disparition. Toutefois, prenez garde : l’île abrite aussi de nombreux spécimens d’herbe à la puce. Il vous est donc recommandé de rester sur les sentiers.