As the backbone of trade between the St. Lawrence River and Lake Champlain, the Richelieu River presents an assortment of navigation obstacles, including many turbulent rapids between Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu and Chambly. Since 1784, the dream of building a canal along the Richelieu River gave rise to an initial project originating not in Lower Canada, but in Vermont. In 1787, Governor Dorchester made Saint-Jean the border station and business gateway between Upper and Lower Canada and the United States. As similar projects followed north and south of the border, the British military viewed them all as potential threats to the colony’s defence. It wasn’t until April 1, 1818, that the Assembly of Lower Canada approved the construction of a canal from Dorchester, known today as Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, to the Chambly Basin.

The long-awaited project experienced many delays

Although merchants and politicians from the Richelieu area supported the canal, Quebec City’s merchant traders were unable to raise the £45,000 (pounds) deemed necessary for its construction. Fortunately for the Richelieu project, the valley’s political and business elite argued in its favour. In 1823, legislation was passed in Lower Canada authorizing the canal’s construction with a single notwithstanding clause, namely that the work should only begin once the Lachine Canal had opened. It wasn’t until 1829, four years after the Lachine Canal had opened, that commissioners were appointed to oversee the Chambly Canal’s construction. They included Gabriel Marchand and William Macrae from Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, René Boileau and Samuel Hatt from Chambly, and Timothée Franchère from Saint-Mathias.

Old painting of a workers close to a bridge
Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, 1839.

Deplorable working conditions

In September 1831, three Americans from Amsterdam, New York, and the Andres brothers from Chambly committed to building a 10-lock canal at a cost of £46,218 (pounds). On October 1, one hundred workers, most of whom were Irish, began excavating the canal basin using picks and shovels, working 12 hours a day. Despite the cholera epidemic that broke out in 1832, some 600 workers managed to dig two thirds of the canal’s 19.31 kilometres, as well as the lock ditches. Paid in cash, the workers were required to purchase all their daily supplies at stores owned by their bosses. Were the workers unhappy with their wages? Were they trying to organize? The bosses had the leaders arrested immediately. Despite all this, workers saw their workday shortened to 10 hours. They also kept their two meal breaks.

The canal opens to navigation in 1843

Historical photo of a serie of 3 locks
Locks 1, 2 and 3. 1943

In 1833, the canal was filled with water and vessels sailed from Dorchester to Chambly. Struggling with financial problems, the US bidders jumped ship in 1834. The Andres brothers, out of a sense of duty and for their family’s honour, attempted to re-launch the work in vain. The work stopped in 1835. It was only in 1840 that a new firm agreed to complete the entire project for £35,000 (pounds). From August 1840 until late 1842, some 800 workers were involved in building Chambly’s combined locks, wharves and bridges, and in excavating the last 1,100 feet of the route. On June 9, 1843, the first steamship crossed the nine Chambly Canal locks as it travelled from Saint-Jean to Quebec City. This was the steamer Quebec. As it passed through Chambly’s combined locks, the crew admired the new facilities built to ensure the operations of this barge canal. These operations continue to this very day.

Alain Gelly / Historian, Parks Canada

Related links

Épine dorsale du commerce entre le fleuve Saint-Laurent et le lac Champlain, la rivière Richelieu est ponctuée d’entraves à la navigation, dont les tumultueux et nombreux rapides entre Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu et Chambly. Dès 1784, le rêve de canaliser le Richelieu donne lieu à un premier projet provenant non pas du Bas-Canada, mais bien du Vermont. En 1787, le gouverneur Dorchester fait de Saint-Jean le poste de douane et la porte d’entrée du commerce entre le Haut et le Bas-Canada, et les États-Unis. Tandis que les projets en ce sens se succèdent au sud et au nord, les militaires britanniques les perçoivent tous comme une menace potentielle à la défense de la colonie. Il faut attendre le 1er avril 1818, pour que l’Assemblée du Bas-Canada donne son aval à la construction d’un canal entre Dorchester (quatrième port des Deux Canadas), aujourd’hui Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, et le bassin de Chambly.

Un projet attendu mais retardé à plusieurs reprises

peinture historique de St-Jean-sur-Richelieu
Vue de Saint-Jean. 1839.

Malgré l’appui des marchands et des politiciens du Richelieu, les marchands-négociants de Québec ne réunissent pas les 45 000 £ (livres) jugées nécessaires à sa construction. Fort heureusement pour le projet du Richelieu, l’élite politique et économique de sa vallée milite en sa faveur. En 1823, une loi du Bas-Canada autorise la construction du canal avec toutefois une clause dérogatoire, à savoir que ses travaux ne débuteront qu’une fois celui de Lachine inauguré. Or, il faut attendre 1829, soit quatre années après l’inauguration du canal de Lachine, pour que les commissaires du canal de Chambly soient nommés. Parmi ceux-ci, Gabriel Marchand et William Macrae sont de Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, René Boileau et Samuel Hatt sont de Chambly, et Timothée Franchère de Saint-Mathias.

Des ouvriers aux conditions de travail contestables

En septembre 1831, trois Américains d’Amsterdam (N.Y.) ainsi que les frères Andres de Chambly s’engagent à construire un canal de 10 écluses au coût de 46 218 £ (livres). À compter du 1er octobre, une centaine d’ouvriers, surtout Irlandais, excavent la cuvette de ce canal au pic et à la pelle, au rythme de 12 heures par jour. Malgré l’épidémie de choléra qui sévit en 1832, les quelque 600 ouvriers parviennent à creuser les deux tiers des 19,31 kilomètres du canal ainsi que des fosses d’écluses. Rémunérés en argent, les ouvriers doivent acheter les articles nécessaires à leur vie quotidienne dans les magasins de leurs patrons ; les ouvriers sont-ils mécontents de leur salaire? Tentent-ils de se coaliser? Les patrons font arrêter les meneurs sur-le-champ. Malgré tout, les travailleurs voient leur horaire diminuer à 10 heures par jour tout en conservant leurs deux pauses repas.

1843, l’ouverture du canal à la navigation

Écluses à palier
Écluses 1,2 et 3 à Chambly. 1843

En 1833, le canal est rempli d’eau et des embarcations naviguent de Dorchester jusqu’à Chambly. Aux prises avec des problèmes financiers, les soumissionnaires américains quittent le navire en 1834. De leur côté, les frères Andres, par sens du devoir et pour l’honneur de leur famille, tentent de relancer les travaux, mais en vain. En 1835, ceux-ci sont interrompus. C’est seulement en 1840 qu’une nouvelle firme s’engage à compléter le tout pour 35 000 £ (livres). Entre août 1840 et la fin de 1842, près de 800 ouvriers s’activent à construire les écluses en escalier de Chambly, des quais, des ponts ainsi qu’à excaver les 1 100 derniers pieds du tracé. Le 9 juin 1843, un premier vaisseau à vapeur emprunte les neuf écluses du canal de Chambly à partir de Saint-Jean afin de se rendre à Québec. Il s’agit du steamer Québec. Lorsqu’il empruntera les écluses combinées de Chambly, l’équipage admirera les nouvelles installations construites afin d’assurer les opérations de ce barge canal. Aujourd’hui, ces opérations se poursuivent toujours.

Alain Gelly /Historien Parcs Canada

Liens connexes