A short history of the Federal Wharf

The Federal Wharf is located downstream from Lock No. 1 at the Chambly Canal National Historic Site. Immersed in the Chambly Basin, this pier is an integral part of the Chambly Canal’s infrastructure. The wharf was likely built when the second phase of canal construction began in 1841. At the time, only part of the current wharf was in place. The wharf was extended in 1875 and again in 1879.

The downstream pier has been closed and off limits to the public for more than a decade. Every two or three years, the water level of the Chambly Basin rises so high that it completely submerges the wharf, making it impossible to install the lay-to wharves for recreational boaters. The wharf's asphalt coating deteriorated substantially with repeated exposure to high waters and its condition prior to the rehabilitation prevented safe use of the structure on a permanent basis.

Rehabilitation of the Federal Wharf

The Federal Wharf (also known as the downstream pier or the Chambly Jetty) at the Chambly Canal National Historic Site is being rehabilitated primarily to ensure the safety of users and maintain the pleasure-boating activities associated with the canal.

The restoration work planned for the fall of 2018 and throughout 2019 includes the installation of a new apron and the construction of a curtain wall with steel sheet plating and a cope wall. This work will also facilitate the installation of lay-to wharves and various facilities before the start of the boating season.

The project to rehabilitate the Federal Wharf represents an investment of close to $10 million in the Chambly Canal infrastructure that is intended to improve the experience of the more than 200,000 people who use it every year. It will also give current and future generations an opportunity to enjoy this historic site for many years to come.


Work in progress and impacts

December 2018

The work to rehabilitate the Federal Wharf began in the fall of 2018. The future pier will be raised minimally and steel sheet plating will be installed on the northern, eastern and western sides. In addition, a concrete cope wall will be built, the steel sheet plating will be filled with concrete on its facade, and a structural slab will be laid. The use of durable materials such as concrete will give the structure a minimum service life of 50 years. The pier will be close in size to the previous one.

It will then be possible to install the lay-to wharves before the boating season every year. Quality urban furniture is part of the design: luminaires with decorative aluminum details as well as LED lighting, benches with and without back supports, guardrails of galvanized steel pipes, waste and recycling bins, bike racks, planters and Adirondack chairs are among the elements that will provide added value for the project. A stamped inlaid commemorative logo for the Chambly Canal will be installed at the end of the pier.

Fences around equipment traffic and storage areas have been installed near Locks Nos. 1, 2 and 3 as well as in the Parc des Ateliers along Bourgogne Avenue in Chambly. For everyone’s safety, these areas will be off limits to the public until the work is completed in May 2020.

Communications

Photo d'archive du canal de Chambly

Une petite histoire du quai fédéral

Le quai fédéral est situé en aval de l’écluse no 1 du lieu historique national du Canal-de-Chambly. Baignant dans le bassin de Chambly, cette jetée fait partie intégrante des infrastructures du canal de Chambly. La mise en place du quai fut possiblement entreprise dès le début de la deuxième phase de construction du canal de Chambly, en 1841. À cette époque, seulement une partie du quai actuel avait été mise en place. Le prolongement du quai fut effectué en 1875 et en 1879.

La jetée aval est fermée et interdite au public depuis plus de 10 ans. Chaque deux ou trois ans, lors d’importantes crues, le niveau d’eau du bassin de Chambly devient si élevé qu’il devient impossible d’installer les quais d’attente des plaisanciers, la jetée étant complètement submergée. Son revêtement d’asphalte n’a pas résisté au passage répété de l’eau, et l’état du quai avant les travaux ne permettait plus une utilisation sécuritaire permanente de la structure.

Réhabilitation du quai fédéral

L’objectif principal de la réhabilitation du quai fédéral (aussi connu sous le nom de jetée aval ou jetée de Chambly) du lieu historique national du Canal-de-Chambly vise à assurer la sécurité des usagers et le maintien des activités de plaisance qui sont associées à la vie du canal.

Les travaux de réhabilitation prévus à l’automne 2018 et durant toute l’année 2019 comprennent notamment la mise en place d’un nouveau tablier ainsi que la construction d’un mur-rideau de palplanches d’acier et d’un mur de couronnement. Aussi, ces interventions faciliteront l’installation de quais d’attente et de divers aménagements avant le début de la saison de navigation.

Le projet de réhabilitation du quai fédéral représente un investissement de près de 10 millions de dollars dans l’infrastructure du canal de Chambly afin d’améliorer l’expérience vécue par plus de 200 000 personnes qui le fréquentent chaque année, en plus de permettre aux générations actuelles et futures de profiter encore longtemps de ce site chargé d’histoire.


Travaux en cours et impacts

Décembre 2018

La réfection du quai fédéral est en cours depuis l’automne 2018. La future jetée présentera les caractéristiques suivantes : un rehaussement minimal, l’installation de palplanches sur les faces nord, est et ouest, un couronnement en béton, un remplissage de béton en façade des palplanches de même qu’une dalle structurale. L’utilisation de matériaux durables, comme le béton, lui assurera une durée de vie minimale de 50 ans. Les dimensions de la jetée demeureront sensiblement les mêmes.

Les quais d’attente pourront dorénavant être installés avant le début de la saison de navigation, et ce, chaque année. Du mobilier urbain de qualité fait partie du concept : des luminaires présentant des éléments décoratifs en aluminium de même qu’un module d’éclairage de type DEL, des bancs avec et sans dossier, des garde-corps faits de tuyaux d’acier galvanisé, des corbeilles à rebuts et à recyclage, des supports à vélo, des bacs de plantation de même que des chaises Adirondack sont au nombre des éléments venant ajouter une plus-value au projet. L’estampage d’un logo commémoratif du canal de Chambly est également prévu à l’extrémité de la jetée.

Des clôtures délimitant les zones de circulation de la machinerie et d’entreposage de matériel ont été déployées à proximité des écluses nos 1, 2 et 3 de même que dans le parc des Ateliers, en bordure de l’avenue Bourgogne à Chambly. Pour la sécurité de tous, ces portions de terrain seront interdites d’accès au grand public jusqu’à la fin des travaux prévue en mai 2020.

Communications