In recent decades, archaeological interventions have been conducted under the Parks Canada umbrella to document the land use history of the sectors of the Chambly Canal in Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu and at the Fort Chambly site. Through this work, the general public has had the opportunity to discover the richness of the cultural resources along this waterway.

Work that has revealed a human presence dating back 5,000 years

Archaeological work conducted along the Richelieu River and Valley has brought to light a significant paleohistoric presence. The banks of the Richelieu were once covered with pockets of woodland and a few grassland areas that were conducive to human settlement. This context sheds light on the history of human-nature relationships. These discoveries, which date back over 5,000 years, show that the first groups of hunter-gatherers to have occupied the shores of the Richelieu had settled temporarily as early as the Laurentian Archaic period (5,500 to 4,200 years ago).

Note that, according to the Inventaire des Sites Archéologiques du Québec (ISAQ), a number of archaeological sites have been identified in the Chambly Basin area. However, three paleohistoric sites have been subject to inventories and digs. This work was conducted in the 1970s near the Fryers Rapids and continued around the Fort Sainte-Thérèse site by Parks Canada from 2008 to 2010.

Sites that tell the story of a nomadic lifestyle

seven stone-cutting flakes
Stone tools, is connected to the Brewerton phase (5,000 to 4,000 years ago) of the Laurentian Archaic period

More specifically, the first two sites were discovered in summer 1972 during an archaeological survey of the Chambly Basin area. The first site discovered, called the Many site, located west of the Chambly Canal at an altitude of 37 meters above mean sea level (MSL), contained a collection of seven stone-cutting flakes, two of which were retouched. The second site faces the Fryer Rapids on a narrow strip of land between the Chambly Canal and the Richelieu River, at an altitude of 28 meters above MSL. According to Quebec professor and researcher Normand Clermont, this Early Archaic site, which contained stone tools, is connected to the Brewerton phase (5,000 to 4,000 years ago) of the Laurentian Archaic period. The 32 m2 dig produced 168 stone tools, 2,033 cutting flakes, 65 lithic cores, two hearths, one stake imprint, and depressions left in place by Archaic occupants.

These indicators provide evidence of a temporary period of occupation during which several types of activities, including fishing, hunting, food smoking and tool making, were being conducted. This site may have been an autumnal camp where eels were dried in preparation for the difficult early winter months. The site was partially destroyed during the demolition of a house immediately following the dig in 1974.

A site of cultural exchange

The third site was discovered downriver from Fort Sainte-Thérèse. The first inventory was conducted by archaeologist Michel Gaumont in 1974. Some thirty years later, Parks Canada archaeologists resumed the work, which allowed for two paleohistoric collections including 57 representative objects to be built in 2008. These artifacts clearly demonstrate that occupants were living in this sector and using lithic materials primarily from the current states of New York and Vermont, but also from local sources. According to archaeologist Jean-Yves Pintal, the presence of a significant proportion of Mistassini quartzite suggests that these occupants’ sphere of interaction centered around the Saint-Maurice River. This shows that a number of exchanges took place between various groups along the Saint-Maurice and Richelieu rivers. As for the length of occupation, the shape of most of the points and knives gathered suggests that this sector was inhabited during three main time periods: from 5,000 to 3,500 years ago; from 3,000 to 2,500 years ago; and from the 10th to the 17th-18th centuries.

It is fascinating to be able to understand our land through archaeological discoveries. Still today, the archaeological potential of this sector as a whole remains high owing to the environmental and cultural integrity of the Chambly Canal.

André Miller – Archaeologist – Parks Canada.

 

Related links

  • Fort Sainte-Thérèse
  • Laurentian Archaic
  • Inventaire des sites archéologiques du Québec (ISAQ) (French only)

Au cours des dernières décennies, sous l’égide de Parcs Canada, des interventions archéologiques ont été effectuées afin de documenter les occupations historiques localisées dans les secteurs du canal à Chambly, de Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu et du site de fort Chambly. Ces recherches ont permis de dévoiler au grand public la richesse des ressources culturelles le long de cette voie navigable.

Des fouilles qui révèlent une présence humaine de plus de 5000 ans

Les fouilles archéologiques menées aux abords de la rivière Richelieu et dans la vallée ont mis en lumière une importante présence paléohistorique. Les berges du Richelieu étaient jadis recouvertes d’îlots de forêts et possédaient quelques zones de prairies propices à l’établissement humain. Un tel contexte éclaire sur l’histoire des relations entre l’être humain et la nature. Ces découvertes qui remontent à plus de 5000 ans, avant aujourd'hui (AA) attestent que les premiers groupes de chasseurs-cueilleurs à avoir occupé les rives du Richelieu se seraient établis de façon temporaire dès la période de l’Archaïque Laurentien (5500 à 4200 AA).

Notons que plusieurs sites archéologiques ont été répertoriés dans la région du bassin de Chambly selon l’Inventaire des Sites Archéologiques du Québec (ISAQ). Toutefois, trois sites paléohistoriques ont fait l’objet d’inventaires ou de fouilles. Ces ouvrages ont été menés dans les années 1970 près des rapides Fryers et ont été poursuivis aux environs du site du fort Sainte-Thérèse par Parcs Canada de 2008 à 2010.

Des sites qui racontent un mode de vie nomade

Outils en pierre trouvés lors de fouilles
Outils en pierre est apparenté à la phase Brewerton (5000 à 4000 ans AA) de l'Archaïque laurentien.

Plus spécifiquement, les deux premiers sites ont été découverts à l'été 1972 lors d'une reconnaissance archéologique de la région du bassin de Chambly. Le premier site découvert, dénommé le site Many, localisé à une altitude de 37 mètres du Niveau Marin Moyen (NMM), à l'ouest du canal de Chambly, a dévoilé une collection de sept éclats de taille de pierre, dont deux retouchés. Le deuxième site est situé face aux rapides Fryer à une altitude de 28 mètres du NMM, sur une bande de terre étroite située entre le canal de Chambly et la rivière Richelieu. Selon le professeur et chercheur québécois, Normand Clermont , ce site de l'Archaïque supérieur qui a livré des outils en pierre est apparenté à la phase Brewerton (5000 à 4000 ans AA) de l'Archaïque laurentien. La fouille de 32 m2 a en effet produit un assemblage de 168 outils en pierre, 2033 éclats de taille, 65 nucléi de matière lithique, deux foyers, une trace de piquet et des dépressions laissées en place par les occupants de l’Archaïque.

Ces divers indices nous dévoilent une occupation temporaire où plusieurs types d'activités se tenaient tels que la pêche, la chasse, le boucanage et la fabrication d'outils. Ce site pourrait correspondre à un camp d'automne où se pratiquait le séchage d'anguilles en prévision des mois difficiles du début de l'hiver. Le site a été partiellement détruit lors de la démolition d’une maison tout juste après sa fouille en 1974.

Un site témoin d’échanges culturels

Le troisième site a été découvert en aval du fort Ste-Thérèse. Le premier inventaire a été réalisé par Michel Gaumont, archéologue en 1974. Les travaux ont été repris une trentaine d’années plus tard par les archéologues de Parcs Canada, ce qui a permis de rassembler en 2008 deux collections paléohistoriques comprenant 57 objets représentatifs. Ces artefacts nous indiquent clairement que des occupants vivaient dans ce secteur et utilisaient principalement des matériaux lithiques en provenance des états actuels de New York et du Vermont mais aussi de sources locales. Selon l’archéologue Jean-Yves Pintal , la présence d’une proportion significative de quartzite de Mistassini suggère que la sphère interactive de ces gens s’ouvrait vers la rivière Saint-Maurice. En fait, cela démontre qu’il y aurait eu plusieurs échanges entre les différents groupes du côté de la rivière Saint-Maurice et la rivière Richelieu. Pour ce qui est de l’ancienneté de l’occupation, la forme de la majorité des pointes et des couteaux recueillis permet de proposer que ce secteur a été fréquenté au cours de trois principaux intervalles : de 5000 à 3500 ans AA, de 3000 à 2500 ans AA, puis du Xe au XVIIe-XVIIIe siècle de notre ère.

Il est fascinant de comprendre notre territoire à travers les découvertes archéologiques. Aujourd’hui encore, le potentiel archéologique de l’ensemble de ce secteur demeure élevé en raison de l’intégrité environnementale et culturelle du canal de Chambly.

André Miller – Archéologue – Parcs Canada.


Liens connexes