The Route verte offers stunning scenery of the Chambly Canal and the Richelieu River The Route Verte offers stunning scenery of the Chambly Canal and the Richelieu River

From mid-April to mid-November

The Chambly Canal offers 20 kilometres of exceptional scenery for bike lovers. Linking the cities of Chambly and Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, the canal-side path is part of the province-wide Route Verte 1. Rest areas are provided where operational locks can be observed.

A path follows the banks of the historic canal connecting Chambly to Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu. Ride for more than 20 km through an enchanting setting. Though unpaved, the path is separated from car traffic along 16 of its 20 kilometres.

Interpretative panels located alongside the path tell the story of this navigable waterway that was so essential to 19th century commercial development. Stop in Old Chambly or Old St-Jean to admire the architecture of heritage houses that have survived the ravages of time.

Still got energy to burn? Continue your ride into the sunset. You can do a 110 km loop along the Montérégiade, the Route des Champs and the Chambly Canal cycle paths. This network is part of the province-wide Route Verte 1 and the Trans Canada Trail. It's up to you to choose your path.

La Route verte offre des paysages saisissants sur le canal de Chambly et la rivière Richelieu La Route verte offre des paysages saisissants sur le canal de Chambly et la rivière Richelieu

De la mi-avril à la mi-novembre

La piste aménagée sur les berges du canal historique relie Chambly à Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu. Roulez sur une distance de 20 km dans un décor enchanteur. Couverte en partie de poussière de roche, la piste est à l'écart de la circulation automobile sur seize de ses vingt kilomètres.

Des panneaux d’interprétation installés le long de la piste vous raconteront l’histoire de cette voie navigable essentielle au développement commercial du 19e siècle. Arrêtez-vous dans le Vieux-Chambly ou dans le Vieux-Saint-Jean pour admirer l’architecture de maisons ancestrales qui ont survécu aux outrages du temps.

Vous avez des ailes aux mollets? Poursuivez votre randonnée dans le soleil couchant. Il est possible de faire une boucle de 110 km en empruntant les pistes cyclables la Montérégiade, la Route des Champs et celle du canal de Chambly. Ce réseau fait partie de la Route verte 1 et du sentier Transcanadien. À vous de déterminer votre parcours.