Come enjoy winter at the Chambly Canal national historic site!

With the cold season now here, it’s time to enjoy the great outdoors! This winter, Parks Canada welcomes a local public skating rink at the parc des Ateliers (1840 Bourgogne Av., Chambly).

Parks Canada is pleased to be working with the Municipality of Chambly, who will manage, maintain and supervise the skating rink. The rink will be open to the public as soon as weather permits. A warm-up trailer will be installed near the ice to keep the skaters warm and a parking area will also be available just a stone’s throw of the skating rink.

Parks Canada is making major investments in the Chambly Canal National Historic Site in order to rehabilitate several infrastructure elements of this historic waterway, including retaining walls, locks and walkways. To that end, Parks Canada must lower the water level in the Chambly Canal to allow access to work crews. As a result, sufficient water levels to accommodate skating rinks cannot be guaranteed on the canal this year.

In order for everyone to enjoy the site safely, Parks Canada would like to remind the public that:

  • Out of respect for the environment, as well as for safety reasons, off-road vehicle users must avoid driving a snowmobile or all-terrain vehicle on the ice, path or banks of the Chambly Canal, and are asked to remain on the marked trails reserved for this purpose.
  • People must refrain from cutting and collecting wood, including dead wood, along the Chambly Canal. Dead wood left on the ground plays an important role in a forest’s life cycle by providing the soil with rich essential nutrients as the wood decomposes.

Snowshoeing and cross-country skiing

a man snowshoeing on the Chambly canal

 

Subject to weather conditions

From November 15 to April 15, although the path along the canal remains accessible, it is neither maintained nor supervised. The local public is invited to enjoy the Chambly Canal National Historic Site during winter. The canal is the perfect place for walking, snowshoeing and cross-country skiing or for simply taking a few moments to stop and admire the pure whiteness of the landscape to experience a bit of magic. Come visit!

Profitez des joies de l’hiver au Lieu historique national du Canal–de-Chambly!

La saison froide est maintenant bien installée; c’est le temps de sortir s’amuser au grand air! Cet hiver, Parcs Canada accueillera une patinoire qui sera située au parc des Ateliers (1840, avenue Bourgogne, à Chambly).

L’Agence Parcs Canada est ravie de collaborer avec la municipalité de Chambly, laquelle sera en charge de la gestion, de l’entretien et de la surveillance de la patinoire. La surface glacée sera ouverte au public dès que la température le permettra. Une roulotte sera installée à proximité afin de permettre aux patineurs de se réchauffer. Un stationnement payant sera également disponible à quelques pas.

Parcs Canada investit massivement au lieu historique national du Canal-de-Chambly pour réhabiliter plusieurs éléments d’infrastructures, dont des murs de soutènement, des écluses et des passerelles. Pour réaliser ces travaux, Parcs Canada doit abaisser le niveau de l’eau du canal afin de permettre aux travailleurs d’accéder aux structures. Ainsi, cette année, l’Agence n’est pas en mesure de garantir un niveau d’eau suffisant dans le canal de Chambly pour y accueillir des patinoires.

Afin que tous puissent profiter du lieu en toute sécurité, Parcs Canada souhaite rappeler à la population que :

  • Pour le respect de l’environnement et pour des raisons de sécurité, les amateurs de véhicules hors route doivent éviter de circuler en motoneige ou en véhicule tout-terrain sur la glace, la piste ou les berges du canal et sont priés d’utiliser les sentiers balisés réservés à cet effet.
  • Les gens doivent s’abstenir de couper et de récolter du bois le long du canal de Chambly, même s’il est mort. Le bois qui se trouve au sol joue un rôle important dans le cycle de vie de la forêt en offrant des éléments nutritifs essentiels au sol lors de sa décomposition.

Raquette et ski de fond

Homme en raquette sur la canal de Chambly

 

Selon les conditions météorologiques

Du 15 novembre au 15 avril, bien qu’elle demeure accessible, la piste en bordure du canal n’est ni entretenue ni surveillée. La population est invitée à venir profiter du canal de Chambly cet hiver pour y faire de la marche, de la raquette ou du ski de fond, ou pour simplement s’y arrêter quelques instants pour admirer la blancheur des lieux et ainsi vivre un moment magique. C’est un rendez-vous!