Management statement cover 

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Chief Executive Officer of Parks Canada, 2018.

Cette publication est aussi disponible en français.

Cartier-Brébeuf National Historic Site of Canada Management Statement 2018.

  • Paper: R64-105/12-1-2018E
  • 978-0-660-26503-2
  • PDF: R64-105/12-1-2018E-PDF
  • 978-0-660-26502-5

For more information about the management statement or about Cartier-Brébeuf National Historic Site of Canada

Cartier-Brébeuf National Historic Site of Canada

Mailing address:
2, D'Auteuil Street
Québec (Québec)
Canada
G1R 5C2

Telephone:
418-648-7016

Fax:
418-648-2506


Front cover image credits

Parks Canada

Foreword

The Honourable Catherine McKenna, Minister of the Environment and Minister responsible for Parks Canada

Canada’s national parks, national historic sites and national marine conservation areas belong to all Canadians and offer truly Canadian experiences.

These special places make up one of the finest and most extensive systems of protected natural and cultural heritage areas in the world.

The Government is committed to preserving our natural and cultural heritage, expanding the system of protected places and contributing to the recovery of species-at-risk. At the same time, we must continue to offer new and innovative visitor and outreach programs and activities so that more Canadians can experience Parks Canada places and learn about our environment, history and culture.

This new management statement for Cartier-Brébeuf National Historic Site of Canada supports this vision.

Management statements are developed through extensive consultation and input from various people and organizations, including Indigenous Peoples, local and regional residents, visitors and the dedicated team at Parks Canada.

National parks, national historic sites and national marine conservation areas are a priority for the Government of Canada. I would like to thank everyone who contributed to this management statement for their commitment and spirit of co-operation.

As the Minister responsible for Parks Canada, I applaud this collaborative effort and I am pleased to approve Cartier-Brébeuf National Historic Site of Canada Management Statement.

Catherine McKenna
Minister of Environment and Climate Change and Minister responsible for Parks Canada

Recommendations

Recommended by and original signed by

Daniel Watson

Chief Executive Officer, Parks Canada
Gatineau, Canada

Trevor Swerdfager

Senior Vice-President, Operations
Parks Canada

Maryse Lavigne

Field Unit Superintendent, Québec Field Unit
Parks Canada

Background

Parks Canada manages one of the world’s most beautiful and vast networks of protected historic sites. Its mandate is to protect and valorize these spaces for the enjoyment of present and future generations. This management statement describes Parks Canada’s management approach and the objectives it has set for the Cartier-Brébeuf National Historic Site.

The Cartier-Brébeuf National Historic Site is located on the north shore of the Saint-Charles River, in the Limoilou district, at the heart of a predominantly residential sector of Québec City. It was designated a site of national historic significance in 1958 by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada. The site commemorates the wintering location of Jacques Cartier and his crew in 1535–1536, near the Iroquois village of Stadacona. It was also at this location that the first Jesuit missionaries' residence was established in Québec City, in 1625–1626. The site has great symbolic value as the start of French colonization in Canada and is synonymous, for many Canadians, with Canada’s beginnings as a country.

At the Cartier-Brébeuf National Historic Site, the cultural resources that justify its designation are the site itself and its landscapes. The elements that characterize the landscape are the confluence of the Lairet and Saint-Charles Rivers and the uneven terrain on either side of the Lairet River, both reasons Cartier chose to winter there. While the landscape has changed considerably since the time of Jacques Cartier, these elements are still present.

This site has several commemorative monuments: to Cartier’s wintering, to the establishment of the first Jesuit missionaries' residence in Québec City and to the meeting of Indigenous and European cultures.

From 2007 to 2009, Parks Canada restored the Lairet River bed near where Jacques Cartier set up camp, thus recreating the natural landscape present at that era. This restoration helps better convey the site’s commemorative values, while fostering the development of an aquatic ecosystem and improving the wildlife habitat. Covering 6.8 hectares, the site allows visitors to undertake leisure and recreational activities while experiencing its underlying rich history.

In 2013, the site adapted its management approach to new realities. The visitor experience was reviewed and the interpretation program was modified.

Management Approach

Parks Canada intends to continue applying a management approach that focuses on conveying heritage values unique to the Cartier-Brébeuf National Historic Site. The site will continue to be a protected heritage space in which visitors can discover and learn about the commemoration themes.

Parks Canada will seek to better situate the national historic site in time and in space, by defining the different commemoration periods, and affirming its boundaries while remaining well integrated in the city’s urban park network.

The Cartier-Brébeuf National Historic Site will thus continue to be a space that invites the discovery of heritage values, the bridging of cultures, and dialogue. Relationships with Indigenous and cultural communities will be at the heart of the exchanges.

Parks Canada will continue to seize opportunities that favour the Cartier-Brébeuf National Historic Site’s conviviality and appreciation, by improving partnerships and community relations to ensure the site’s continued use and to strengthen community appropriation of it.

Management objectives

Meeting and bridging of cultures

Parks Canada works closely with partners to ensure that the national historic site remains an appreciated place in harmony with its environment:

  • Closer ties are forged with the Huron-Wendat Nation, particularly through the Nionwentsïo Office and Tourisme Wenkake, to highlight the role of First Nations in the history of the site.
  • Partnerships with communities, users and stakeholders are maintained and enriched to foster a sense of shared ownership.

Conveyance of heritage values

Parks Canada effectively conveys the site’s heritage values to facilitate the meeting of visitors and cultural resources, notably via the cultural landscapes.

  • Cartier-Brébeuf National Historic Site is integrated within Park Canada’s network of national historic sites.
  • The national historic site's heritage values integrated seamlessly in the park’s recreational activities.

Conservation and protection of the heritage site’s resources

Parks Canada protects cultural resources in heritage spaces in accordance with the Cultural Resource Management Policy and the Standards & Guidelines for the Conservation of Historic Places in Canada.

Further, Parks Canada maintains the administered good in a manner that respects the site’s heritage values.

  • The identified cultural landscapes are maintained to preserve the site’s commemorative value, while taking into account the urban canopy and green space.

Summary of the strategic environmental assessment:

In accordance with the Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals (2010), a strategic environmental assessment (SEA) was conducted on the management statement proposal for the Cartier-Brébeuf National Historic Site of Canada.

The SEA assessed the potential impacts on the natural and cultural resources and on the visitor experience objectives. It concluded that the management statement proposal for the Cartier-Brébeuf National Historic Site will have positive impacts on the cultural resources and the visitor experience. The SEA identified the potential environmental impacts on plant life and suggested means of mitigating these. The proposed management statement is not expected to have significant negative environmental impacts.

For more information:

Cartier-Brébeuf National Historic Site of Canada

Parks Canada, Québec City Field Unit
2 D’Auteuil Street
Québec QC G1R 5C2
Tel: 418-648-3381

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le directeur général de l’Agence Parcs Canada, 2018.

This publication is also available in English.

Lieu historique national du Canada Cartier-Brébeuf
Énoncé de gestion 2018.

  • Paper: R64 105/8-2018F
  • 978 0 660 23735-0
  • PDF: R64 105/8-2018F-PDF
  • 978 0 660 23734-3

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur cet énoncé de gestion ou des questions connexes :

Lieu historique national Cartier-Brébeuf

Adresse postale :
2, D'Auteuil Street
Québec (Québec)
Canada
G1R 5C2

Téléphone :
418-648-7016

Télécopieur :
418-648-2506


Source des images de la page couverture

Parcs Canada

Avant-propos

L'honorable Catherine McKenna, Ministre de l'Environnement et du Changement climatique et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada

Les parcs nationaux, les lieux historiques nationaux et les aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada appartiennent à tous les Canadiens et Canadiennes, et offrent des expériences authentiquement canadiennes.

Ces endroits spéciaux forment l'un des plus beaux et plus vastes réseaux d'aires patrimoniales naturelles et culturelles protégées au monde.

Le gouvernement s'est engagé à protéger notre patrimoine naturel et culturel, à élargir le réseau des aires protégées et à contribuer au rétablissement des espèces en péril. Nous devons en même temps continuer d’offrir de nouveaux programmes et activités innovateurs axés sur les visiteurs et la sensibilisation pour permettre à davantage de Canadiens et de Canadiennes de découvrir les sites de Parcs Canada et d’apprendre au sujet de notre histoire, environnement et culture.

Ce nouvel énoncé de gestion du lieu historique national Cartier-Brébeuf vient appuyer cette vision.

Les énoncés de gestion sont élaborés dans le cadre de consultations et de contributions exhaustives de personnes et d'organismes divers, dont les peuples autochtones, des résidents locaux et régionaux, des visiteurs et l'équipe dévouée œuvrant à Parcs Canada.

Les parcs nationaux, les lieux historiques nationaux et les aires marines nationales de conservation sont une priorité pour le gouvernement du Canada. J'aimerais remercier tous ceux qui ont contribué à cet énoncé pour leur engagement et leur esprit de collaboration.

À titre de ministre responsable de Parcs Canada, j'applaudis cet effort concerté, et je suis heureuse d'approuver l’énoncé de gestion du lieu historique national du Canada Cartier-Brébeuf.

Catherine McKenna
Ministre de l'Environnement et du Changement climatique et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada

Recommandations

Recommandé par :

Daniel Watson

Directeur général de l’Agence
Parcs Canada

Trevor Swerdfager

Vice-président principal, Opérations
Parcs Canada

Maryse Lavigne

Directrice, Unité de gestion de Québec
Parcs Canada

Contexte

Parcs Canada gère l’un des réseaux de lieux historiques protégés parmi les plus beaux et les plus vastes du monde. Son mandat consiste à protéger et à mettre en valeur ces lieux pour que puissent en profiter les générations d’aujourd’hui et de demain. Le présent énoncé de gestion décrit l’approche de gestion de Parcs Canada ainsi que les objectifs à atteindre pour le lieu historique national Cartier-Brébeuf.

Situé sur la rive nord de la rivière Saint-Charles, dans le quartier Limoilou, au cœur d'un secteur à prédominance résidentielle de la Ville de Québec, le lieu historique national Cartier-Brébeuf a été reconnu d’importance historique nationale par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada en 1958. Il commémore l'hivernage de Jacques Cartier et de ses compagnons en 1535-1536, à proximité du village iroquoien de Stadaconé. Il témoigne aussi de l'établissement, en 1625-1626, de la première résidence des missionnaires Jésuites à Québec. Le lieu conserve une grande valeur symbolique comme étant témoin du début de la colonisation française au Canada et est synonyme, pour de nombreux Canadiens, des débuts du Canada.

Au lieu historique national Cartier-Brébeuf, les ressources culturelles qui justifient sa désignation sont le lieu proprement dit et les paysages. Les éléments qui caractérisent le paysage sont le point de rencontre des rivières Lairet et Saint-Charles et la dénivellation inégale qui existe de part et d’autre de la rivière Lairet, témoins du choix de Cartier pour son hivernage. Bien que le paysage ait été fortement altéré depuis l’époque de Jacques Cartier, ces éléments sont toujours présents sur le site.

Ce site comprend plusieurs monuments commémoratifs qui rappellent l'hivernage de Cartier, l'établissement de la première résidence des Jésuites à Québec ainsi que la rencontre des cultures autochtone et européenne.

De 2007 à 2009, Parcs Canada a redonné son lit d’origine à la rivière Lairet, près de laquelle Jacques Cartier s’est installé, reconstituant ainsi le paysage naturel de son époque. Cette naturalisation contribue à mieux transmettre les valeurs commémoratives du lieu en plus de favoriser le développement d’un écosystème aquatique et d’améliorer l’habitat faunique. Occupant une superficie de 6,8 hectares, ce lieu historique offre un environnement propice aux loisirs et à la détente, auquel se subordonne un volet historique.

En 2013, le site a adapté son mode de gestion en considérant de nouvelles réalités. Ainsi, l’expérience de visite a été revue et le programme d’interprétation a été modifié.

Approche de gestion :

L’intention de Parcs Canada est de poursuivre l’approche de gestion consistant à transmettre les valeurs patrimoniales propres au lieu historique national Cartier-Brébeuf. Le site continuera à être un espace patrimonial protégé permettant la découverte et l’apprentissage des thèmes de commémoration.

Parcs Canada cherchera à situer davantage le lieu historique national dans le temps, en définissant les différentes périodes de commémoration, et à mieux le situer dans l’espace en affirmant ses délimitations tout en demeurant bien intégré au réseau des parcs urbains de la ville.

Le lieu historique national Cartier-Brébeuf continuera ainsi d’être un lieu favorisant la découverte des valeurs patrimoniales, le rapprochement des cultures et le dialogue. À cet effet, les relations avec les communautés autochtones et les communautés culturelles seront au cœur des échanges.

Parcs Canada continuera à saisir les opportunités qui favoriseront l’appréciation et la convivialité du lieu en bonifiant les partenariats et les relations communautaires afin d’assurer la pérennité des usages et de renforcer l’appropriation du site.

Objectifs de gestion :

Rapprochement et rencontre des cultures

Parcs Canada travaille en collaboration pour que le lieu historique national demeure un endroit apprécié et intégré dans son milieu.

  • Des liens plus étroits sont développés avec la Nation huronne-wendat, notamment par l’entremise du bureau du Nionwentsïo et de Tourisme Wendake, afin de mettre en valeur le rôle des Premières Nations dans l’histoire du site.
  • Les partenariats sont maintenus et enrichis avec les communautés, les usagers et les intervenants privilégiés afin de favoriser l’appropriation du lieu.

Communication des valeurs patrimoniales

Parcs Canada communique efficacement les valeurs patrimoniales afin de faciliter la rencontre entre le visiteur et les ressources culturelles, notamment par les paysages culturels.

  • L’appartenance du lieu historique national Cartier-Brébeuf au réseau des lieux historiques nationaux de Parcs Canada est affirmée.
  • Les valeurs patrimoniales du lieu historique national sont présentées en les intégrant à la vocation récréative du parc.

Conservation et protection des ressources du lieu patrimonial

Parcs Canada protège les ressources culturelles situées dans les lieux patrimoniaux, conformément à la Politique sur la gestion des ressources culturelles et aux Normes et lignes directrices pour la conservation des lieux patrimoniaux au Canada.

De plus, Parcs Canada entretient le bien administré de manière à respecter les valeurs patrimoniales du lieu.

  • Les paysages culturels identifiés sont entretenus afin de conserver la valeur commémorative du lieu, tout en tenant compte de la canopée urbaine et de l’espace vert.

Résumé de l’évaluation environnementale stratégique :

Conformément à la Directive du Cabinet sur l’évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes (2010), une évaluation environnementale stratégique (ÉES) a été menée sur la proposition de l’énoncé de gestion du lieu historique national Cartier-Brébeuf.

L'ÉES a évalué les effets potentiels sur les ressources naturelles, culturelles et sur les objectifs d'expérience des visiteurs. L'évaluation environnementale stratégique a conclu que la proposition de l’énoncé de gestion du lieu historique national Cartier-Brébeuf aurait des effets positifs sur les ressources culturelles et les expériences des visiteurs. L'évaluation environnementale stratégique a permis de recenser des effets environnementaux possibles sur la végétation et suggère des moyens pour atténuer ces effets. La proposition de l’énoncé de gestion du lieu historique national Cartier-Brébeuf ne devrait pas contribuer à d'importants effets environnementaux négatifs.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :

Lieu historique national Cartier-Brébeuf

Parcs Canada, Unité de gestion de Québec
2 D’Auteuil Street
Québec QC G1R 5C2
Tél: 418-648-3381