Introduction

The management statement for the Cartier-Brébeuf National Historic site is currently being developed. As part of the process, Parks Canada gave the public and local stakeholders the opportunity to share their opinions on the proposed management approach and objectives for the site for the next 10 years. The public consultations took place over six weeks, from April 23 to June 1, 2018.

This document describes the consultation process and presents a summary of the opinions expressed by the citizens, local stakeholders and regional representatives who were consulted.

Objectives

The objectives of the consultations were to:

  • Make known the proposed management approach and objectives for the first draft of the management statement.
  • Collect opinions and comments from the public and partners to help Parks Canada improve and modify the proposed management statement.
  • Foster a climate of trust and mutual respect via a constructive process that takes various points of view into consideration.
  • Build productive, lasting relationships between Parks Canada and the various partners associated with the process.
  • Promote the seamless integration of the national historic site into its environment.

Consultation process

The national historic site planning team developed a public consultation document that addressed the following points:

  • The site’s historical importance;
  • The site’s activities and operations;
  • The main achievements since the 2007 management plan came into effect;
  • The primary issues;
  • The vision for the site;
  • The proposed management approach for the next 10 years, including the management objectives and the targets to be achieved.

This document was posted in English and in French on the historic site’s website. The public was invited to read it and share comments and suggestions by June 1, 2018, via an online survey. A comments sheet was available online throughout the consultation period. In all, 19 comment sheets were filled out and the survey was opened by 158 people.

The consultations were also announced on the Facebook page of the Fortifications of Québec National Historic Site on April 23, May 14 and May 28, 2018. The posts reached 3,798 people, received 66 “likes” and was shared 8 times. The link to the historic site’s webpage to consult the document was clicked 26 times. The post was also shared on the Facebooks pages of the Lairet and Vieux-Limoilou district councils. The www.monlimoilou.com website also shared the consultation and summarized the document’s main points in an article published May 14, 2018.

An ad was placed in the local newspapers (regional weeklies published by Transcontinental and the Chronicle-Telegraph weekly newspaper).

A link to the online consultation was added to Consulting Canadians site.

On April 27, 2018, personalized emails mentioning the possibility of scheduling individual meetings were sent to elected officials and targeted regional partners. A reminder email was send on May 23 to invite the concerned individuals to share their comments.

The following organizations called a meeting with Parks Canada or sent their comments by email: the Lairet and Vieux-Limoilou district councils, the Société historique de Limoilou, the Centre communautaire Jean Guy Drolet, the office of Member of the National Assembly André Drolet and the Ville de Québec. Other organizations expressed interest in discussing the site’s future, but were unable to do so during the consultation period. Meetings are now being scheduled.

Summary of the main comments received during the consultations

Encourage contact and connection between cultures

In general, the respondents reacted positively to Parks Canada’s intention to encourage contact and connection with local, multicultural and Indigenous communities. Community centres and immigrant welcoming organizations in Québec City said that establishing partnerships with them would be a good way of achieving this goal.

Establishing partnerships with Community centres and immigrant welcoming organizations in Québec City would be a good way of achieving this goal.

Several respondents said it would be interesting to create spaces to encourage these connections. Some ideas would be to set up recreational equipment like self-serve barbecue grills, offer watercraft rentals, build a bandstand and so forth. Offering urban campsites like those along the Lachine Canal was also suggested as a means of increasing the onsite activities.

Several people mentioned that they didn’t know the interpretation building was open during the peak season.

“The interpretation centre is so uninviting that I’ve never been tempted to go in. It seems like it’s not in use. Its architecture is neither historical nor current. It would be good if the work opened the building up to the community.”
Online participant

Having a multi-use room that opens up onto the park and is available to the public for rentals was mentioned several times.

The participants also suggested taking advantage of National Indigenous Peoples Day (June 21) to commemorate and call attention to the connections between the Europeans and the Indigenous peoples. It was suggested to use this day to launch the site’s open season. As another way to focus on Indigenous history, it was suggested to work directly with Tourisme Wendake to enrich the activity offering:

“It would be quite interesting to have a site that’s co-managed with Tourisme Wendake.”
Online participant

Several commenters noted the importance of creating new connections with the Huron-Wendat community.

Communicate heritage values

In the wake of the federal government’s Truth and Reconciliation Commission, several respondents said they would like to see the name of the historic site changed. “Stadaconé,” the name attributed to the Iroquoian settlement located in the Limoilou district of Québec City, was mentioned several times. The current name “Cartier-Brébeuf” is seen as a reference to colonialism (“Cartier is tainted by his aggressive colonialist character”) and evangelization, judged to be “from another era.”

“It is high time and critical to redefine the site’s commemoration statements given that there isn’t any archeological proof that Cartier was at the site. The historical site should be much more dedicated to the Indigenous presence in the area. I support the conservation of this location as a protected space, but Parks Canada’s custodianship should be more in the background.”
Online participant

The following ideas were raised to better highlight the park’s commemorative vocation:

  • Create a New France garden.
  • Reintegrate a ship like the Grande Hermine to bring to life the commemoration themes and to reaffirm the importance shipbuilding on the St-Charles River had at a certain point in history.
  • Reinstate an Indigenous long house to remind visitors of the pre-colonial occupants of the land and the discussions that took place when Cartier spent the winter there.
  • Increase the choice of activities outside the interpretation centre with costumed historical figures, and equip staff to present certain objects to visitors at the site.
  • Add distinct urban furniture within the boundaries of the historic site.
  • Enhance the permanent signage at the historical site and the temporary signs used for events and activities.
  • Update the dated interpretation modules and stations.

Other suggestions focused on the idea of taking advantage of the creativity of the local Limoilou residents, to not only strengthen their sense of ownership of the site, but also to give the site its own unique flavour “like the Alice in Wonderland sculpture in Central Park in New York that people can touch, use, photograph and call their own.” The work could be utilitarian for visitors, but it should refer to the site’s past, particularly to the local post-commemoration history. Temporary works were also mentioned. Some organizations (particularly the Société historique de Limoilou) expressed interest in working with Parks Canada to improve the activities and services offered.

For some, the historical site is synonymous with early Canada and the French presence in North America, and these themes should be better highlighted. For others, the ambiguity of the exact location of where Cartier and his companions wintered would require re-evaluating the site’s historical significance.

While most of the comments recognized the site’s heritage significance, others stressed the importance of it as a green space located in one of the most populated neighbourhoods in the city.

Wi-Fi access was mentioned as an interesting addition that could improve visitors’ experience at the site.

Conserve and protect the site’s resources

Caring for the vegetation to maintain and strengthen the cultural landscape was seen as commendable, but it should not take precedence over the site’s recreational use. However, the threats to certain tree species, particularly from the emerald ash borer, Dutch elm disease and Diplodia tip blight (pines), was of concern to participants. Respondents felt that Parks Canada should develop an action plan to “proactively” replant trees to maintain the urban canopy and this green space, which are essential in the city environment.

Building better bike-path connections was mentioned frequently during our discussions. Besides encouraging active means of transportation and a better link to the neighbourhood, these “official” bike-friendly paths would, for some, help counter the shortcuts and “pirate” trails defacing the site. Others felt that cyclists should be made aware that these sections are shared, mainly to require them to slow down.

The parking lot is believed to be too large for local use, considering the site’s operational changes. For some respondents, the lot’s size also adds to the feeling that the park is an island with an “impermeable barrier” between the street and the park. However, given the lack of parking in the neighbourhood, especially during snow removal, local residents would appreciate (free) access to a parking lot. The idea to create a space for bike parking was mentioned several times.

While the site’s commemorative integrity is recognized in Parks Canada’s mission, it is also important to consider its environmental integrity, which is also part of the mission:

“I would like the environmental and species protection aspect to be more explicit.”
Online participant

Conclusion

The consultation process was a positive endeavour. It allowed Parks Canada to improve its management approach for this national historic site and its work with the stakeholders. Overall, the participants were in favour of the approach and supported the management objectives proposed by Parks Canada.

The management plan will be finalized by the end of 2018.

Lastly, Parks Canada would like to thank all the participants for sharing their ideas and their vision for the future of this national historic site.

Introduction

L’énoncé de gestion du lieu historique national Cartier-Brébeuf est en cours d’élaboration. Pour cette occasion, l’Agence Parcs Canada a offert au public et aux intervenants du milieu la possibilité de donner leur avis sur l’approche et les objectifs de gestion proposés pour le site au cours des dix prochaines années. Cette consultation publique s’est tenue du 23 avril au 1er juin 2018 (6 semaines).

Le présent document décrit le déroulement de cette consultation et présente un résumé des opinions exprimées par les citoyens, les intervenants du milieu et les représentants régionaux consultés.

Objectifs

La consultation avait plusieurs objectifs :

  • Faire connaître l’approche et les objectifs de gestion qui sont proposés pour l’ébauche de l’énoncé de gestion.
  • Recueillir les points de vue et les commentaires du public et des partenaires afin de permettre à Parcs Canada d’améliorer et d’ajuster l’énoncé de gestion proposé.
  • Favoriser un climat de confiance et de respect mutuel par le suivi d’une démarche constructive valorisant les différents points de vue.
  • Créer des rapports fructueux et durables entre Parcs Canada et les différents partenaires associés au processus.
  • Favoriser l’intégration harmonieuse du lieu historique national à son milieu.

Processus de consultation

L’équipe de planification du lieu historique national a élaboré un « bulletin de consultation publique » qui couvrait les points suivants :

  • l’importance historique du lieu;
  • le fonctionnement du lieu;
  • les principales réalisations depuis l’entrée en vigueur du plan directeur de 2007;
  • les principaux enjeux;
  • la vision pour le lieu;
  • l’approche de gestion proposée pour les dix prochaines années, y compris les objectifs de gestion et les cibles à atteindre.

Ce document, publié en français et en anglais, a été mis en ligne sur le site Web du lieu historique. Le public a été invité à en prendre connaissance et à formuler des commentaires et des suggestions en répondant à un sondage en ligne accessible jusqu’au 1er juin 2018. Pour ce faire, une fiche de commentaires était accessible en ligne pendant la période de consultation. Au total, ce sont 19 fiches de commentaires qui ont été remplies, alors que le sondage a été ouvert par 158 personnes.

La promotion de cette consultation a également été faite sur le compte Facebook du lieu historique national des Fortifications-de-Québec le 23 avril ainsi que les 14 et 28 mai 2018. Elle a touché 3 798 personnes, obtenu 66 mentions « J’aime » et généré 8 partages et 26 clics sur le lien renvoyant à la page Web du lieu historique pour consulter le document. La publication a également été relayée sur les pages Facebook des conseils de quartier de Lairet et du Vieux-Limoilou. De plus, le site www.monlimoilou.com a partagé la consultation et résumé les grandes lignes du document d’orientation dans un article paru le 14 mai 2018.

Une publicité a aussi été diffusée dans les journaux locaux (hebdomadaires régionaux du groupe Transcontinental et hebdomadaire Chronicle Telegraph).

Un lien vers la consultation en ligne a été ajouté sur le site Consultation auprès des Canadiens.

Le 27 avril 2018, des courriels personnalisés, dans lesquels on mentionnait la possibilité d’organiser des rencontres individuelles, ont également été envoyés aux élus ainsi qu’aux partenaires régionaux ciblés. Un courriel de rappel, envoyé le 23 mai 2018, invitait les parties concernées à faire part de leurs commentaires.

Les organismes suivants ont sollicité une rencontre avec Parcs Canada ou ont envoyé leurs commentaires par courriel : les conseils de quartier de Lairet et du Vieux-Limoilou, la Société historique de Limoilou, le Centre communautaire Jean-Guy Drolet, le bureau du député provincial André Drolet et la Ville de Québec. D’autres organismes ont fait part de leur intérêt à participer à la discussion et à échanger sur l’avenir du lieu, mais n’ont pu le faire à l’intérieur de la période de consultation. Des rencontres sont en cours de planification.

Résumé des principaux commentaires reçus lors des consultations

Rapprochement et rencontre des cultures

En général, les répondants voient d’un bon œil l’intention de Parcs Canada de favoriser les rencontres et les rapprochements avec les communautés locales, multiculturelles et autochtones. Des partenariats avec les centres communautaires et les organismes d’accueil des nouveaux arrivants de la Ville de Québec seraient, selon eux, de bons moyens d’y parvenir.

Plusieurs mentionnent qu’il serait intéressant d’aménager des espaces facilitant ces rencontres; on pourrait installer de l’équipement récréatif tel que des barbecues en libre-service, proposer la location d’embarcations nautiques, aménager un kiosque à musique permanent, etc. Une activité ou une offre de camping urbain semblable à celle proposée en bordure du canal Lachine a également été mentionnée pour bonifier l’animation in situ.

En ce qui a trait au bâtiment d’accueil, plusieurs personnes ont dit apprendre que ce dernier était ouvert pendant la haute saison.

« Le pavillon d'interprétation est tellement austère que je n'ai jamais osé y entrer. On dirait que l'immeuble est fermé. Par ailleurs, son traitement architectural n'est ni patrimonial, ni actuel. Il serait bien de profiter de travaux pour l'ouvrir sur la communauté. »
Participant en ligne

L’aménagement d’une salle polyvalente, ouverte sur le parc et accessible au public pour des locations, a été mentionné à quelques reprises.

Les participants ont également proposé que l’on profite de la Journée nationale des Autochtones (21 juin) pour commémorer et rappeler les liens entre les Européens et les Autochtones. Cette journée a été suggérée pour lancer la saison opérationnelle. Toujours dans la foulée de mettre en valeur l’histoire autochtone, il a été suggéré de travailler directement avec Tourisme Wendake pour bonifier l’animation :

« Un site cogéré avec Tourisme Wendake serait une avenue très intéressante. »
Participant en ligne

Plusieurs interventions mentionnent l’importance d’établir de nouveaux liens avec la communauté huronne-wendat.

Communication des valeurs patrimoniales

Plusieurs répondants ont exprimé leur désir, dans la foulée de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation orchestrée par le gouvernement fédéral, de voir le nom du lieu historique être modifié. Le nom de Stadaconé, attribué au village iroquoien situé à l’emplacement du quartier Limoilou dans l’actuelle ville de Québec, a été mentionné à quelques reprises. Le nom du lieu « Cartier-Brébeuf » est perçu comme faisant référence au colonialisme (« la figure de Cartier est très teintée de son caractère colonialiste agressif ») et à l’évangélisation, jugée « d’un autre temps ».

« Il est plus que temps et essentiel de redéfinir les énoncés de commémoration du lieu, considérant qu'aucune preuve archéologique ne vient attester la présence de Cartier sur le site. Le site devrait être beaucoup plus consacré à la présence autochtone de la région. Je suis pour la préservation de cet espace protégé, mais la tutelle de Parcs Canada devrait être moins présente. »
Participant en ligne

Afin de mettre davantage de l’avant la vocation commémorative du parc, les idées suivantes ont été soulignées :

  • Aménager un jardin de la Nouvelle-France.
  • Réintégrer un navire tel que la Grande Hermine pour faciliter les liens avec les thèmes de commémoration et rappeler l’importance de la construction navale sur la rivière St-Charles à une certaine époque.
  • Réintégrer une maison longue amérindienne pour rappeler l’occupation du territoire avant la colonisation ainsi que les échanges intervenus au moment de l’hivernage de Cartier.
  • Augmenter l’animation à l’extérieur du centre d’interprétation, notamment avec des personnages en costumes d’époque, et pourvoir le personnel d’équipements permettant la présentation d’objets aux utilisateurs du site.
  • Intégrer un mobilier urbain distinct à l’intérieur des limites du lieu historique.
  • Renforcer la signalisation du lieu historique, de même que l’affichage ponctuel lié aux événements et aux activités offertes.
  • Rafraîchir les modules et stations d’interprétation jugés vieillissants.

D’autres interventions ont été orientées sur l’idée de mettre à profit l’esprit créatif des habitants du quartier Limoilou pour non seulement renforcer l’appropriation du lieu, mais aussi donner au site une image d’appel propre « à l’image de l’œuvre d’Alice aux pays des merveilles intégrée à Central Park, à New York, que les gens peuvent toucher, utiliser, photographier et s’approprier ». Cette œuvre pourrait avoir un caractère utilitaire pour les usagers, mais devrait également faire référence au passé du lieu, particulièrement à l’histoire locale post-commémoration. Des œuvres et aménagements éphémères ont été évoqués. D’ailleurs, des organismes (notamment la Société historique de Limoilou) ont exprimé leur intérêt à travailler en collaboration avec Parcs Canada pour bonifier l’offre de services et l’animation.

Pour certains, le lieu historique est synonyme des débuts du Canada et de la présence française en Amérique, et ces thèmes devraient être davantage affirmés. Pour d’autres, l’ambiguïté quant à l’emplacement exact de l’hivernage de Cartier et de ses compagnons exigerait une réévaluation de la portée historique du lieu.

Si la plupart des commentaires reconnaissent l’importance patrimoniale du lieu, d’autres soulignent l’importance de cet espace vert au sein d’un des quartiers les plus denses de la ville.

L’accès à un réseau Wi-Fi a été mentionné comme un ajout intéressant pouvant contribuer à l’expérience de visite.

Conservation et protection des ressources du lieu patrimonial

L’entretien de la végétation afin de maintenir et de renforcer les paysages culturels est perçu comme une intention louable, mais il ne devrait pas s’effectuer au détriment de l’usage récréatif. Toutefois, les menaces qui pèsent sur certaines espèces arborescentes, notamment l’agrile du frêne, la maladie hollandaise de l’orme et la brûlure des rameaux Diplodia (pins), suscitent des préoccupations chez les participants. Ils jugent nécessaire que Parcs Canada élabore un plan d’action pour planifier un reboisement « proactif » afin de maintenir cette canopée urbaine et cet espace vert, jugés essentiels dans le contexte urbain.

L’aménagement de meilleurs liens cyclables est fréquemment évoqué au cours des entretiens. En plus de favoriser les déplacements actifs et une meilleure connexion avec le quartier, ces liens cyclables « officiels » contribueraient, pour certains, à lutter contre les nombreuses lignes de désir et nombreux sentiers « pirates » qui défigurent le lieu. Pour d’autres, il serait important de sensibiliser les cyclistes au partage des usages dans cette section du parc linéaire, principalement en exigeant une réduction de la vitesse.

Le stationnement est jugé trop volumineux pour l’usage local, considérant les changements opérationnels du lieu historique. L’ampleur du stationnement, pour certains, contribue également à enclaver le parc en faisant office de « barrière imperméable » entre la rue et l’espace vert. Par contre, en raison de la problématique du stationnement dans le quartier, notamment lors des opérations de déneigement, les résidents du quartier souhaiteraient avoir accès (gratuitement) au stationnement lors de ces périodes. L’idée d’aménager un espace de stationnement réservé aux vélos a été mentionnée à quelques reprises.

Bien que l’intégrité commémorative soit reconnue au cœur du mandat de Parcs Canada dans ce lieu historique, il importe de considérer l’intégrité écologique, également partie prenante du mandat de l’Agence :

«J'aurais aimé que l'aspect protection des espèces et de l'environnement soit plus explicite. »
Participant en ligne

Conclusion

L’exercice de consultation s’est avéré positif. Il permettra à Parcs Canada de bonifier son approche de gestion pour ce lieu historique national ainsi que son travail avec les intervenants. Dans l’ensemble, les participants aux consultations se sont prononcés en faveur de cette approche et ont appuyé les objectifs de gestion proposés par Parcs Canada.

Le plan directeur sera finalisé d’ici la fin de l’année 2018.

Enfin, Parcs Canada tient à remercier tous les participants pour avoir soumis leurs idées et leur vision concernant l’avenir de ce lieu historique national.