When you think about the plants and animals in the Lachine Canal, chances are these tiny creatures are not the first ones that come to mind. However, there are plenty of them, and they are essential to the ecology of aquatic environments. Most of them are microscopic, but they number in the hundreds of millions and form what are better known as benthos and plankton.

On September 4 and 5, 12 teams of biology students at the CEGEP Collégial international Sainte-Anne participated in a project on the shores of Lake Saint-Louis, taking turns sampling these tiny molluscs, crustaceans and other microorganisms in the Lachine Canal. A second sampling session will take place in November to compare the physical and chemical parameters and the composition of the benthic and planktonic fauna and flora.

So what do benthic and planktonic organisms look like under a microscope lens? The students very kindly sent us their samples teeming with tiny creatures living in a world that is completely invisible to us most of the time.

Copepod, ©CiSA

Copepods

These are tiny crustaceans belonging to the copepod family. They are the most abundant multicelled organisms on the planet! Copepods are found in all marine and freshwater environments.

There are a number of copepod families. Some of them are pelagic (they live in the water column) and form one of the main components of zooplankton, while others are benthic and live on the sea bottom or buried in sediments. There are also some parasitic copepods (they live on host organisms). Either way, these organisms play an important role in maintaining the ecological balance of aquatic ecosystems. A number of animals feed on them and they help limit the spread of seaweed and bacteria.

Ostracods

Ostracod, @C. Seymani-CiSA

Aquarium lovers are familiar with these tiny crustaceans that resemble microscopic mussels. They are called ostracods, and they can be found in most aquatic environments. They belong to one of the most widespread families of crustaceans on the planet!
Since these tiny creatures date back to the Ordovician period, if not the Cambrian (+/- 500 million years ago), they are used in paleontology as an indicator of the environment that existed back then. Today, they also serve as bioindicators in environmental analyses of watercourses. Not bad for an animal that is only 0.5 to 3 mm in size!

Diatoms

Diatom, ©CiSA

This is a diatom. Diatoms are single-celled microalgae that are present in all aquatic environments. Like copepods, diatoms can be pelagic (plankton) or benthic (benthos).

At first glance, diatoms don’t look very impressive. However, what if we told you that these microalgae alone produce one quarter of the oxygen we breathe on Earth? They also play a critical role in the functioning of marine ecosystems, because they form the base of the food webs of a number of species. That should earn them a bit more respect!

Water mites or Hydrachnidiae

Water mites are tiny arachnids also known as Hydrachnidiae. They are abundant in freshwater bodies.

Water mite, ©K. Roy - CiSA

Water mite larvae are parasites that attack invertebrates and the larvae of other insects and aquatic crustaceans. They latch onto the larvae of dragonflies, diving beetles, water bugs and other types of insects. This parasitism appears to play an important role in regulating the populations of various aquatic organisms and insects.

The size of planktonic and benthic populations varies depending with water quality. This makes them an excellent tool for monitoring ecosystem health. It is reassuring to know that they are so plentiful in the Lachine Canal.

Many thanks to the biology students at Collégial international Sainte-Anne for sharing these captivating finds with us.

Quand on pense à la faune et à la flore du canal, il y a de fortes chances que ces petites bêtes ne soient pas les premières à nous venir en tête. Pourtant elles sont légion et sont essentielles à l’écologie des milieux aquatiques. La plupart sont microscopiques mais se comptent par centaines de millions pour former ce que nous connaissons mieux sous le nom de benthos et de plancton.

Les 4 et 5 septembre derniers, 12 équipes d’étudiants du cours de biologie au Collégial international Sainte-Anne se sont relayées dans les eaux du canal de Lachine dans le cadre d’un projet consistant en l’échantillonnage de ces petits mollusques, crustacés et autres micro-organismes aux abords du lac Saint-Louis. Un deuxième relevé aura lieu en novembre pour comparer les paramètres physico-chimiques ainsi que la composition de la faune et la flore benthique et planctonique.

Alors, à quoi ressemble du benthos et du plancton sous la lentille du microscope? Les étudiants nous ont gentiment envoyé le fruit de leurs échantillons grouillant de petits êtres qui évoluent dans un monde qui nous est, la plupart du temps, complètement invisible.

Le copépode

Copépode, ©CiSA

Voici un petit crustacé appartenant à la famile des copépodes. Ce sont les organismes multicellulaires les plus abondants de la planète! Les copécodes se retrouvent dans tous les milieux aquatiques, qu’ils soient marins ou d’eau douce.

Il existe de nombreuses familles de copépodes. Certaines sont pelagiques (il vivent dans la colonne d’eau) et forment l’une des principales composantes du zooplancton, d’autres, se retrouvant sur les fonds ou à l’intérieur même de sédiments, sont des copépodes benthiques. Il existe aussi des copépodes parasites (ils tirent profit d’organismes hôtes) . Quoi qu’il en soit, cet organisme joue un rôle important dans l’équilibre écologique des écosystèmes. Plusieurs animaux s’en nourrissent et il limite la propagation des algues et des bactéries.

L’ostracode

Ostracode, @C. Seymani-CiSA

Les aquariophiles connaissent bien ce petit crustacé qui ressemble à une moule microscopique. Il s’agit de l’ostracode, que l’on retrouve dans la plupart des milieux aquatiques et qui forme la famille de crustacés la plus répandue sur la planète!
Comme ces petites bêtes remontent à l’Ordovicien voire même au Cambrien (+/- 500 millions d’années), on les utilise en paléontologie comme indicateur de l’état de l’environnement dans lequel ils évoluaient à cette époque. Ils peuvent également servir aujourd’hui comme bio-indicateurs dans le cas d’analyses environnementales des cours d’eau. Pas mal pour un animal mesurant entre 0,5 à 3 mm!

La diatomée

Diatomée, ©CiSA

Ceci est une diatomée. Il s’agit d’une micro-algue unicellulaire présente dans tous les milieux aquatiques. Tout comme les copépodes, les diatomées existent sous forme pélagique (plancton) et benthique (benthos).

À première vue, les diatomées ne paient pas de mine. Pourtant, si on vous dit que ces micro-algues produisent à elles seules un quart de l'oxygène que nous respirons sur Terre et, qu’en plus, elles jouent un rôle primordial dans la vie des écosystèmes marins, puisqu'elles sont à la base des réseaux alimentaires de nombreuses espèces… Là, on a tendance à leur accorder un peu plus de respect!

La mite d’eau ou hydrachnidia

La mite d’eau est en fait une petite arachnide qu’on appelle également hydrachnidia. On la retrouve en abondance en eau douce.

Mite d’eau, ©K. Roy - CiSA

Les larves de la mite d’eau sont des parasites qui s’attaquent aux invertébrés et à d’autres larves d’insectes ou de crustacés aquatiques. Elles s’accrochent aux larves de toute sorte d’insectes, comme celles des libellules, des dytiques et des punaises d’eau. Il semblerait que ce parasitisme joue un rôle important dans la régulation des populations de divers organismes aquatiques et d’insectes.

Les populations planctoniques et benthiques fluctuent en fonction de la qualité des eaux. Elles sont donc, en ce sens, d’excellents d’outils d’observation de la santé d’un écosystème et c’est rassurant de les savoir en grand nombre dans le Canal-de-Lachine.

Merci aux étudiants du cours de biologie au Collégial international Sainte-Anne d’avoir partagé avec nous ces trouvailles captivantes.