Did you know that the Lachine Canal was dug around 1825 to facilitate river transport between Montreal and Lachine? However, it also made land based travel between its north and south shores more difficult. In order to get from one shore to the other, a solution quickly emerged: road bridges and footbridges, some of which are as old as the canal that they link.

First stationary and then mobile, the road bridges over the Lachine Canal were mostly built of wood; some of the others, considered quite important, were built of hewn stone. Later, nearly all the wooden bridges were replaced with metal structures, most of them being swing bridges. During the contemporary period, more and more bicycle bridges would appear as the Lachine Canal trail was gradually developed.

Today, there are 17 footbridges along the length of the canal; 6 of them span the canal itself, while the other 11 cross parcels of land, spillways or non-navigable sections of the canal. There are also 4 road bridges, 5 railways and 7 bridges/highways that belong to Jacques Cartier and Champlain Bridges Incorporated, the City of Montreal or the Quebec Department of Transportation.

Hall and Wellington: Looking to the Future

The Hall and Wellington footbridges have been part of the canal’s landscape since 1977. They were installed as part of the major project to redevelop the Lachine Canal for recreation and tourism purposes. Originally built of metal mesh and measuring 3.05 metres wide, they enabled more than 7,000 cyclists a day to cross for over 40 years.

Imagine!

By 2018, these footbridges had reached the maximum of their utility and were no longer structurally sound. After due consideration, a decision was made to replace rather than restore them, since Parks Canada had planned the work from a long-term perspective. The lifespan of the new structures is estimated to be 75 years, whereas restoring the current structures would have extended their useful life by only 10 to 15 years.

Replacing the footbridges was necessary, but what would they look like? How could we address the challenge of replacing two identical, multi-purpose and unconventional footbridges in such a short time? With help from the designer and supervisor WSP Canada, along with general contractor Simdev Inc., the project became a reality

Link to the Hall et Wellington footbridges replacement video

Hall & Wellington footbridges replacement

Parks Canada and WSP identified innovative solutions to replace these footbridges. In this video, discover the replacing process of the Hall and Wellington footbridges. This video was produced by WPS during the footbridges conception.

Aluminium

a footbridge in a factory
Prefabricating the footbridges at the factory.

Most of the bridges that cross the Lachine Canal are built of steel. However, in recent years, we have seen a dramatic change in the variety of materials used for the various infrastructure projects along the Lachine Canal.

In order to reduce maintenance costs (aluminium requires much less maintenance than steel!) and expedite the construction process, Parks Canada chose to use aluminum as the primary material for the structure of both footbridges, based on the consultant’s recommendations and long-term benefits. This is relatively rare in Canada, although far more common in Europe and the United States.

A project with a thousand facets

Fun fact: the contractor was required to prefabricate the foundation units and footbridges as a construction technique in order to minimize down time for users. Therefore, all the components of the bridges’ structures were pre-manufactured at a factory, transported by truck and subsequently installed at the site.

A special shape was chosen to provide an architecturally appealing look. In fact, the designers reproduced the geometry of the railway and road bridges that crossed the canal in the early 19th century, harking back to the rich heritage of the industrial era. The aluminum top chord was curved to mimic the typical deflection seen on the old railway bridges. The CN Wellington Bridge near the two structures serves as an example of that structural style.

aerial view from a train bridge across a canal
The Canadian National Wellington Bridge (right) seen from the south.

Bending is not a common industry practice in bridge construction. This mechanical process of deforming an aluminum structure, along a specific radius at a specific angle, makes it possible to “fold” the material, rather than welding two separate pieces together. In fact, aluminium pony truss structures measuring 27 m x 4.5 m were made from a single piece and didn’t require any on-site assembly, a feat in itself, given the constraints imposed by this material.

What about the installation?

Driving for many hours with a 27-metre footbridge on board is possible, as long as you are careful—not to mention patient! Each bridge weighed nearly 40,000 pounds, matching the average weight of 3 African elephants, 12 beluga whales… or 703 beavers! Once they reached the site, the drivers of the tractor-trailer hauling the heavy cargo had to flaunt their skills in order to get into the right position. A crane was then used to lift the bridge and place it in the spot left vacant by the old bridge that had been previously removed. The alignment had to be perfect, which was no small task in itself! Under the watchful eye of the (engineers, the installation progressed accurately and without incident!

a truck carrying the footbridge
One of the two footbridges manufactured in Saguenay, heading to Montreal!
aerial view of a crane with the footbridge
Two workers fixing the footbridge
Installing the footbridges: an exercise in precision!

Looking to the future

Two workers shaking hands
Éric Filion-Paquette (right), a project engineer with the Quebec Waterways Unit, along with the WSP consultant, both very proud of the outcome!

The Lachine Canal National Historic Site is an exceptional showcase of history and innovation. As a collective asset and laboratory par excellence, it offers a rich, varied program of activities, capitalizing on the involvement of stakeholders, professionals and experts from diverse backgrounds. In order to maintain that level of service, the Quebec Waterways Unit staffs ith the best technicians, consultants and engineers to ensure that the infrastructure is always top notch. Thanks to them, Parks Canada can look to the future and focus on innovative, promising projects for communities.

Congratulations to the entire team responsible for replacing the Hall and Wellington footbridges at the Lachine Canal National Historic Site. We tip our (hard) hats to you!

Le saviez-vous? Le canal de Lachine a été creusé vers 1825 pour faciliter le transport fluvial entre Montréal et Lachine. Du même coup, il est venu compliquer les déplacements terrestres entre sa rive nord et sa rive sud. Pour passer d’une rive à l’autre, une solution s’est vite imposée : les ponts et passerelles, dont certains sont aussi anciens que le canal qu’ils traversent. 

D’abord fixes puis mobiles, les ponts routiers du canal de Lachine sont majoritairement construits en bois; certains autres, jugés assez importants, sont construits en pierre de taille. Plus tard, la presque totalité des ponts de bois sera remplacée par des structures métalliques, pivotantes pour la plupart. Durant la période contemporaine, les passerelles cyclables se multiplieront avec l’aménagement progressif de la piste du canal de Lachine.

Aujourd’hui, ce sont donc 17 passerelles qui ponctuent le tracé du canal sur toute sa longueur; six enjambent le canal à proprement dit, les 11 autres traversent des parcelles de terrain, le canal des déversoirs ou des sections non navigables du canal. À celles-là s’ajoutent quatre ponts routiers, cinq chemins de fer et sept ponts/autoroutes qui appartiennent à la Société des ponts Jacques-Cartier et Champlain, à la Ville de Montréal ou au Ministère des Transports du Québec.

Hall et Wellington : orientées vers le futur

Les passerelles Hall et Wellington font partie du décor du canal depuis 1977. Elles y ont été installées dans le cadre du grand projet de réaménagement du canal de Lachine à des fins récréotouristiques. Construites à l’origine en treillis métallique et d’une largeur de 3,05 mètres, elles ont assuré le passage de plus de 7 000 cyclistes chaque jour pendant plus de 40 ans.

Imaginez!

En 2018, ces passerelles ont atteint leur fin de vie utile. Après mure réflexion, leur remplacement a été préféré à leur restauration, Parcs Canada ayant planifié ces travaux dans une perspective à long terme. La durée de vie des nouvelles structures est estimée à 75 ans, alors que la restauration de la structure actuelle n’aurait prolongé sa durée de vie utile que de 10 à 15 ans.

Remplacer les passerelles, oui, mais à quoi pourraient-elles ressembler? Et surtout, comment relever le défi de remplacer deux passerelles identiques, multifonctionnelles et non conventionnelles en si peu de temps? C’est avec l’aide du concepteur et surveillant WSP Canada, de même qu’avec l’entrepreneur général Simdev inc., que le projet a pris vie.

Lien vers la vidéo Passerelles piétonnes Hall et Wellington

Remplacement des passerelles piétonnes Hall et Wellington

Parcs Canada et la firme WSP ont défini des solutions novatrices pour remplacer ces passerelles piétonnières. Découvrez le processus de remplacement des passerelles Hall et Wellington en visionnant la vidéo créée par WSP lors de la conception des passerelles.

En aluminium

passerelle en aluminium dans une usine
Préfabrication des passerelles en usine.

Les ponts qui traversent le canal de Lachine sont majoritairement construits en acier. Cependant, au cours des dernières années, nous avons assisté à une évolution spectaculaire des types de matériaux utilisés dans la réalisation des différents travaux d’infrastructures au canal de Lachine.

Ainsi, dans une perspective de réduction des coûts d’entretien (l’aluminium nécessite beaucoup moins d’entretien que l’acier!) et pour accélérer le processus de construction, Parcs Canada a choisi d’utiliser l’aluminium comme matériau principal pour la structure des deux passerelles, à la suite des recommandations du consultant et des avantages à long terme. Ceci est peu commun au Canada, mais beaucoup plus courant en Europe et aux États-Unis.

Un projet aux mille particularités

Fait intéressant, la préfabrication des unités de fondation et des passerelles a été imposée à l’entrepreneur comme technique de construction afin de réduire au maximum le temps de fermeture pour les usagers. Ainsi, toutes les composantes des structures des passerelles ont été préalablement fabriquées en usine, avant d’être transportées par camion puis installées sur le site.

photo aérienne en noir et blanc d'un pont qui traverse un canal
Le pont Wellington du Canadien National (à droite) vu du sud. Photo © David Miller, 1985

Une forme particulière a été retenue pour donner un aspect intéressant d’un point de vue architectural. En effet, les concepteurs ont conservé la géométrie des ponts ferroviaires et routiers traversant le canal du début du 19e siècle pour rappeler le riche patrimoine de l’ère industrielle. La membrure supérieure en aluminium a été courbée pour reproduire la déviation typique observée sur les vieux ponts ferroviaires. Le pont CN-Wellington à proximité des deux structures est un témoin de ce style de structure.

Le cintrage n’est pas une pratique courante dans l’industrie pour la construction de ponts. Ce procédé mécanique de déformation d’une membrure d’aluminium, suivant un rayon et un angle précis, permet de « plier » le matériau plutôt que de souder deux morceaux distincts ensemble. En effet, les structures en aluminium de 27 m x 4,5 m en treillis poney sont faites en un seul morceau et n’ont nécessité aucun assemblage sur place, ce qui est en soi un exploit étant donné les contraintes imposées par ce matériau.

Et l’installation?

Rouler plusieurs heures avec à son bord une passerelle longue de 27 mètres, c’est possible, pourvu que l’on fasse preuve de prudence… et de patience! Une fois arrivé sur le site, le conducteur de la remorque qui trainait la lourde cargaison (chaque passerelle pesant près de 40 000 livres, soit le poids moyen de 3 éléphants d’Afrique, de 12 bélugas ou de… 703 castors!) a dû nous démontrer ses talents afin de bien se positionner. Puis, une grue devait prendre la passerelle pour la déposer dans l’espace demeuré vacant par l’ancienne, préalablement retirée. L’alignement devait être parfait, ce qui n’était en soi pas une mince tâche! Sous l’œil vigilant des ingénieurs regroupés (et anxieux!), l’installation s’est déroulée avec précision, et sans incident!

passerelle sur une remorque
L’une des deux passerelles fabriquées au Saguenay, en direction de Montréal!
vue arienne d'une grue qui tiens une passerelle près du canal
2 travailleurs qui vissent une passerelle
L’installation des passerelles, un exercice de précision!

Se tourner vers le futur

Deux travailleurs qui se serre la main
Éric Filion-Paquette (à droite), ingénieur chargé de projet à l’Unité des Voies navigables au Québec, aux côtés du consultant de WSP, tous les deux bien fiers du résultat!

Le lieu historique national du Canal-de-Lachine est une vitrine exceptionnelle sur l’histoire et l’innovation. Bien collectif et laboratoire par excellence, il propose une programmation d’activités riches et variées, qui mise sur la participation d’intervenants, de professionnels et d’experts de tous horizons. Pour maintenir un tel niveau de service, l’Unité des Voies navigables au Québec s’adjoint des meilleurs techniciens, consultants et ingénieurs pour s’assurer que les infrastructures soient toujours à niveau. Grâce à eux, Parcs Canada peut regarder vers l’avenir et miser sur des projets novateurs et porteurs pour les communautés.

Bravo à toute l’équipe responsable du remplacement des passerelles Hall et Wellington au lieu historique national du Canal-de-Lachine. On vous lève notre chapeau (de construction)!