Old picture of a cargo and Lasalle Crane
Old picture of Montreal Light Heat and Power Consolidated installation. Source : http://www.lessignets.com/signetsdiane/
calendrier/fev/28.htm

The LaSalle-Coke crane, built between 1914 and 1916 and located in the Borough of LaSalle in Montreal, is an offloading tower used by the gas manufacturing plant of the Montreal Light, Heat and Power Company. Nearly 50 metres in height, this massive structure is entirely made of steel fully assembled with rivets.

The crane and its various components were not only used to unload the coal that supplied the plant, but were used to raise coal to the level of an elevated railway line and also as a departure point of a conveyor for the transport of coal on the railway line to the plant. Functional until 1967, this crane is one of the last vestiges of the period of commercial shipping related to the industries of the Lachine Canal that ended in 1970 and is one of the only coal offloading cranes remaining in the world today.

The LaSalle-Coke crane is comprised of four large segments that can still be seen today: the lower tower, the upper tower, the boom and the runway.

The restoration of this historic landmark

Black and white picture of a coal plant installation and the Lachine canal
Coal Derrick of Keystone Coal Boat at Ville Lasalle and Lasalle-Coke crane around 1932. Source : Hydro-Québec archives

In October 2017, Parks Canada began treatment work on the dismantled parts. Although the LaSalle-Coke crane is a structure related to the Lachine Canal National Historic Site, the restoration of its mechanical components will be done in the workshops of the Chambly Canal NHS, since it is the only Parks Canada facility that meets the requirements of space and safety.

The treatment and complete restoration of these parts is intended to improve the state and stability of this historic structure in order to significantly increase its useful life, ensure public safety and provide Canadians with enhanced access to their cultural heritage.

Treatment of the parts of the crane

After being dismantled, the parts of the crane first had to be catalogued. An individual inventory number was thus assigned to each of them. It is critical to know how they fit together since they form part of a complete mechanical assembly. Once the inventory was completed, the physical treatment of the parts was done.

  1. The first stage of the physical treatment is to remove the deposits of oil and grease from the surfaces. This reveals the original finishes that were still present and exposes the areas that are affected by corrosion. The surfaces are treated using abrasive pads that are non-corrosive and fitted with stainless steel wire brushes.
  2. The second step is to neutralize corrosion products and work on the painted surfaces to maintain the finish.
  3. The third step is to apply a protective coating to the surfaces in order to protect them from the elements and contaminants that cause corrosion. The coating used is similar to an automobile anti-rust product. This product is used at a number of sites on industrial heritage components.

Photo Gallery

Photo d'archive d'un bateau-cargo dans le canal de Lachine
Navire Coal Derrick of Keystone devant la grue Lasalle-Coke vers 1932. Source L Archives Hydro-Québec

La grue LaSalle-Coke, construite entre 1914 et 1916 et située dans l’arrondissement LaSalle, à Montréal, est une ancienne tour de déchargement utilisée par l’usine de fabrication de gaz manufacturé de la Montreal Light and Power Company. D'une hauteur de près de 50 mètres cette imposante structure est entièrement faite d'acier, le tout assemblé avec des rivets.

La grue et ses différentes composantes servaient non seulement à décharger le charbon qui alimentait l’usine, mais accomplissaient les fonctions d’élévation du charbon au niveau d’une voie ferrée aérienne et aussi, de point de départ d’un convoyeur pour le transport du charbon sur la voie ferrée, vers l’usine. Fonctionnelle jusqu’en 1967, cette grue est l’un des derniers témoins de la période de navigation commerciale liée aux industries du canal de Lachine qui s’est terminée en 1970 et demeure aujourd’hui l’une des seules grues de déchargement de charbon qui subsistent à travers le monde.

La grue Lasalle-Coke comporte quatre grandes parties que l'on peut toujours voir aujourd'hui: la tour inférieure, la tour supérieure, la flèche et le chemin de roulement.

La restauration de ce repère historique

En octobre 2017, Parcs Canada a procédé à des travaux de traitement des pièces démantelées. Bien que la grue LaSalle-Coke soit un ouvrage lié au lieu historique national du Canal-de-Lachine, la restauration de ses composantes mécaniques sera effectuée aux ateliers du LHN du Canal-de-Chambly puisqu'il s'agit des seuls terrains de Parcs Canada répondants aux besoins d'espace et de sécurité.

Les travaux de traitement et de restauration complète de ces pièces ont pour objectif d’améliorer l’état et la stabilité de cette structure historique afin d’accroître de façon significative sa durée de vie, d’assurer la sécurité du public, et de permettre aux Canadiens et Canadiennes d’avoir un accès privilégié à leur patrimoine culturel.

Le traitement des pièces de la grue

Photo d'archive en vue aérienne d'une usine qui transforme le charbon avec un convoyeur du canal de Lachine jusqu'à l'usine.
Photo ancienne des installations de la Montreal Light Heat and Power Consolidated. Source : http://www.lessignets.com/signetsdiane/
calendrier/fev/28.htm

Après avoir été démontées, les pièces de la grue ont d’abord dû être cataloguées. Un numéro d’inventaire individuel leur a donc été attribué. Il est critique de savoir comment elles s’assemblent puisqu’elles font partie d’un ensemble mécanique complet. Une fois l’inventaire complété, on procède au traitement physique des pièces.

  1. La première étape du traitement physique est de nettoyer les surfaces des dépôts d’huile et de graisse. Cela permet de révéler les finis originaux qui sont encore présents et d’exposer les zones qui sont affectées par la corrosion. Les surfaces sont traitées à l’aide de tampons abrasifs qui sont non corrosifs et de brosses munies de poils en acier inoxydable.
  2. La seconde étape est de neutraliser les produits de corrosion et de travailler les surfaces peintes afin de conserver les finis.
  3. La troisième étape consiste à appliquer un enduit protecteur sur les surfaces afin de les protéger des éléments et des contaminants qui causent la corrosion. L’enduit utilisé est semblable à un antirouille automobile. Ce produit est utilisé dans plusieurs sites sur des composantes du patrimoine industriel.

Galerie d'images